We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, beautiful B&B”
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #107 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very central, beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the triple room (Michaelangelo) which is MASSIVE with a double and a single bed and about six feet between them. Very good triple glazing on the windows keeps out almost all the noise from the pub below - we didn't have a problem at all. Air conditioning is very effective at cooling the room down. Bathroom small but with a double shower and kept very clean. Our shower was draining very slowly on day one but we told the staff and it was fixed immediately. There are prepackaged croissants, cakes etc in the dining room - as they say they do not provide a fresh breakfast but it is enough to get you started, and nice to have a drink and a snack in the afternoons. The location is superb, you can walk everywhere! Overall we were very happy with our choice and would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank italia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    66
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
135
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This B&B is very centrally located and with easy walk to most of the Florence attractions. It is very clean and modern internally, with a lift after a few steps up from the street. The advice and help given was marvellous and greatly enhances our two and a half days of stay in Florence. The breakfast room is well equipped, accessible all day, and has a sunny position. We would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We and our friend both had good rooms with different aspects so we assume they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101MichaelGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Cavalcanti is a centuries old building where the individual rooms are rented to guests. Good thing is the brand name stores like Gucci and Benetton, and attractions like Duomo and Uffizi gallery are only few minutes away. Florence is a walking town anyway. However, if someone is not traveling featherweight or has health issues, there is a long steep staircase to tackle to get to the first floor elevator. There were more steps, all steep, to access our room once out on 3rd floor. Moreover, you will need to contact the staff well in advance of your time of arrival. They are friendly but not on duty early mornings or late evenings. One good thing is they have a self service kitchen open all day with snacks, coffee and fruits. Other hotels should follow the service model, as it is less costly and more convenient to guests. I would recommend this historic building for stay to people traveling light and missing their gym!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I spent the first week of May at RC. What a great B&B and great location in Florence! We had a superior room facing the clock tower and right behind the leather market. Our room was right next to the kitchen area and we thought we might have some noise issues. No such problem, never heard a thing.

The room was just as advertised. A bit on the small size, but no problems at all. Great bathroom area. Having the kitchen area open for most of the day with the cookies, juice, rolls, coffee, etc. was great. I made myself coffee every morning. There was also a small frig in our room to keep water cold.

The best part of RC was central location. As we discovered, Florence is a great walking town. You will be very close to all the major attractions and tours. It does not appear that way on Google Maps, but it is. In addition to all the attractions (Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, Central Market, etc.) there is great shopping and great restaurants all around.

Upon arrival, we checked in and got a map of the area and locations of suggested restaurants and even the Covad grocery store (think cheap water, limoncello, toiletries, etc.)

Three tips: 1. Across the Ponte Vecchio bridge (which is just blocks from RC), is Mailo pastries and coffee. You will run right into it as you cross the bridge. Best pastries of our entire trip. Even if you have to pay the seating fee, go! (Gelato is average). Coffee is awesome. We got out and walked before everyone was up and stopped at Maioli for cafe and treats. Get out early to walk the city before everyone wakes up e.g. 7 am.

2. You must walk/taxi to Piazza Michelangelo to see and overview of Florence. We went there at sunset. There is a great place to sit out and eat and get the best views and pics. You must go!

3. There are taxi stands at Piazza Republica. Just a few blocks and you can catch a taxi to Piazza Michelangelo or the train station.

Two minor issues, for us. 1.. Beds were comfy, but firm. 2. We had no A/C in early May. They did not turn on until May 15th. But, would stay there again!

Walks of Italy tour of Uffici and I just drive tours are just blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in two different rooms and would definitely return. Both rooms were very comfortable and stylishly decorated. The first in the annex was slightly cheaper but was very quiet and had a lovely small bathroom with a window, the second in the main part had a better view and was very close to the dining room. Both parts had sitting rooms if required. The location is extremely central and the dining room facilities very good. On a couple of occasions we just popped back to make ourselves a cup of tea and I enjoyed meeting fellow guests at breakfast.
The staff were all very helpful and Anna particularly helpful and friendly recommending a good restaurant on our last night and tickets for the Uffizi before we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is the only good thing about this place, and the internet worked fine.

Apart from that, I just cannot understand how anyone could post the reviews I've read on this place, it's simply nothing like the reviews. This basic B&B is not a hotel, as they purport to be. It's just a floor in a vintage apartment building. It is not the quality that their internet presence suggests. From an unmarked door in between two bars, there's one flight of concrete steps up to a tiny lift; from there there's another old creaky door into this place, with a tiny office that's manned intermittently during the day by a couple of pleasant Japanese girls, who don't seem to be able to do anything without phoning "the boss".

Our experience was horrendous with all night noise from the kitchen/day room right next door. External noise from the adjacent markets further exacerbated the problem. After complaining about the noise of partying guests, management posted a sign saying 'keep quiet after 9.00pm - well that'll fix it !!! Not !!! I was offered an opportunity to move to another (smaller, lesser) room after two days, but in talking to the existing guest they warned me of all night noise from the Irish Pub below!

Shower pressure and temperature varied wildly - and dangerously. The water supply in this dilapidated old building is obviously pressurised by pump which supplied a burst of cold water every 60 seconds or so, then the pressure died away and the water got hotter and hotter until the next burst of cold. When I spoke to management about this I was told I was the only person to ever complain of this !! Yeah right!

The "selected antiques" are scruffy old bits of mismatched furniture, with not a collectible in sight! Not at all like the PR spin.

If you were paying E60-80 per night you'd probably accept it, but at E200+ it's very poor value.

It is however in an ideal central location in Florence.

Room Tip: Avoid the room adjacent to the kitchen at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RELAIS_CAVALCANTI, Proprietario at Relais Cavalcanti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
This bad review comes 9 years after the only other one posted on 2005. Meanwhile, thousands of guests have stayed with us, leaving most of good comments and photos posted on tripadvisor, booking and expedia. We would like to thank you all!

We were expecting your negative review, even though we couldn’t recognize you at the beginning because on “tripadvisor” it looks like you are living in London, UK, while your address, telephone numbers and passport come from a different country, actually from a different continent. Also you wrote that you paid +200,00 euro per night but you paid pretty less: 140,00 euro per night for your double room during Easter week.

Our place is not a Hotel but it's a cozy private home and we never pretend to be a Hotel. It’s written very clearly into our own website, into your voucher, into booking or expedia, into tripadvisor.com where we are listed among the B&B/Guest Houses. Probably you haven’t read any of the reviews which you cannot believe.

When you checked into your room you didn’t complained about the building, the stairs, the elevator, the furniture, the reception, the place. Everything was fine and you looked very happy.

After your first night your behavior changed in a very “strange” way. You started shouting about the noise in the breakfast room, the other guests, the water and shower, which you broke without saying ”I am sorry”. We repaired it with a new one on the same day but without charging you anything for your damage.

We were fully booked and no one of the other guests have complained about the same issues and when we opened the water it was coming out hot and with a good pressure.

As soon as we received this e-mail from you:

“It is fair to say I am very disappointed with Relais Cavalcanti. From reviews on both TripAdvisor and Booking.Com, my expectations were a lot higher.
This property falls well short of the expectations of a B&B currently scoring 9.2 on Bookings scale; and 94% on TripAdvisor.
The spin that you've provided to paint a grandiose picture of what is a significantly lesser offering I find misleading; and I guess that, along with my night from hell with revelers clumping along the corridor and carousing in the kitchen next door till very late, plus the shower pressure and temperature that is, quite frankly dangerous, caused me to be pretty damn unhappy this morning.
And I'll go down to the Duomo and ask God for a good Good Friday Nights sleep!”

we have offered you to cancel your reservation with NO PENALTY and free of charge even though you booked 4 nights but you said “No, thanks”.

We have offered you to move to another room, same level and standard, since you reserved one of our best “Superior” rooms already but you wrote “NO, I want to stay in my room 4 nights” and ” I've just spoken to Aiko, and thanked her for a good nights sleep! I'm hoping the party-people from Thursday night have left and/or the sign works! Thank you all."

We always try to do our best to solve all the difficult situations but we couldn’t accept you paying your double superior room 60,00 euro per night on the Easter day as you would liked.

You are a “top contributor” and on tripadvisor it looks like you travelled 72% of the world with 1840 towns visited in 52 countries. Congratulations! Certainly you know very well how Guest Houses or Hotels are scared by the chance to get of a very bad review just like the one you posted. We apologize we are not scared.

We have been doing a good job for more than 12 years and we know very well we cannot be liked from everybody but we are aware of the high quality of our standards that you haven’t appreciated.

Sorry we do not offer unreasonable discount or free stay to avoid a negative review.
Now you know it.
Anna & Francesca, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and we would have stayed for more if we could!

Florence is such an amazing city and Relais Cavalcanti is located in the very heart of it.

The room was so beautiful and comfortable!!!! The bathroom completely renewed.

The kitchen that is shared with all the guests is wonderful and full of delicious food to have for breakfast. It is open almost all day long so guests can have coffee, tea, etc. It is also a lovely place to have a chat with other guests and meet lovely people.

Anna is so warm and helpful! Junko received us upon our arrival with kindness and gently gave us a map and all the necessary explanations.

I hope we can be back soon to Florence and Relais Cavalcanti!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amadeus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 412 in Florence
168 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#82 of 412 in Florence
790 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#179 of 412 in Florence
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#40 of 649 in Florence
175 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#145 of 649 in Florence
211 reviews
Uffizi
Porcellino Gallery
Porcellino Gallery
#205 of 649 in Florence
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Property: Relais Cavalcanti
Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing