We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the 'Agony and Ecstasy' Trail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #97 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the 'Agony and Ecstasy' Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I settled on the Relais Cavalcanti after much research on various websites and after staying there in a triple room (with wife and daughter) for six nights, am very satisfied with my choice. The pensione is very well situated, in close proximity to all the major attractions and walking distance from the SMN Station. The rooms are spacious and nicely done up and come with a fridge. An innovative feature about the place is that each room is named after a major Renaissance artist, ours was 'Michelangelo'!
Though breakfast is not provided, there is a common dining room with a supply of cakes, pastries, bread, butter, jam, coffee, tea, soft drinks. There is also a microwave and electric kettle. One can always pick up those fluffy croissants at nearby bakeries and heat them up for a quick bite. You also get to meet a lot of interesting people in the dining room - I will always remember a Spanish couple - the Sanchezes - who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary! Despite their limited English and our Nil Spanish, we could communicate perfectly.
Some of the earlier reviews had complained about the corridor smell - its not sewage, but cooking gas. Looks like a faint leak in the piped gas system. The double windows cut off all noise and the beds were very comfortable - after each days extensive walking, one sleeps before the head hits the pillow. The room is cleaned and towels, soaps replaced every day.
On the whole, an ideal place to stay in for the budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamatashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    63
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
131
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were very please with our room at this B&B. The staff was very helpful when needed. The room and bath were spotless, and we enjoyed it 100%. We booked through Sleep In Italy and also I would like to add that they were very helpful in this booking and for an apartment in Rome. The location of Relais Cavalcanti was very good. There is a pub on the bottom floor, the the double pane windows completely blocked any noise from there. The only thing to be aware of is the early morning noise from the vendors setting up in the market. It didn't bother us because we had early itineraries the days we were there. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barb0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were three couples travelling together and everyone loved the stay at Relais Cavalcanti. The location was great and Ana was fabulous! Her highlighted map of the area was beyond what we got anywhere else. Her suggestions of places to eat were also great. I take ear plugs on holidays so sleep is never a problem but no one in our group complained about noise. The wine bar just outside the door was lots of fun to have a night cap before going to bed. A great clean place to stay. Thanks Ana!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at Relais Cavalcanti for 3 nights. The location is perfect, steps from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi. Most everything is in close walking distance. We could easily go out for a bit then come back for a quick rest. Ana was very friendly and accommodating. She provided us with a map with highlighted areas and recommended restaurants. Most of the restaurants we enjoyed in Florence were their recommendations. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. We had a large window we could open for fresh air and listen to the life of Florence. When closed, most sound was drowned out. We really liked this place, but there were a few negatives. The biggest was that the stairwell leading up to the inn smelled of sewage. It was terrible. We could not get wireless internet in the room most of the time, though it was better in the public areas. Ana was very friendly, but the lady who watched the desk in the evening was not terribly friendly nor helpful. There is a market nearby and the vendors do take out their rackety carts every morning and evening. It was very difficult to catch an evening nap. Though the Irish Pub downstairs was crowded until the wee-hours on Friday and Saturday, the noise did not bother us and we enjoyed the time we spent at the pub. The wine bar next to the pub is WONDERFUL. Great food, service, and reasonably priced!!! This was a nice place, but I think we would look elsewhere if staying in Florence again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genkijules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

This location was safe, beautiful, the staff went above and beyond being helpful and it's right in the center of florence. Our hostess gave us a map, highlighted great, affordable restraunts for lunch and dinner and made us at home. Such an awesome experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norse202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

First and foremost, Ana (who owns and runs the place) is a wonderful host and provided us with invaluable tips on where to eat, what to visit, and when to go. She helped make reservations for us at the museums and was more than happy to oblige my finicky request for more pillows. She speaks fluent english and was a most gracious host. I strongly advise you to follow her recommendations for restaurants.

The rooms were immaculate and had plenty of space. The bathrooms were spacious as well. The view was beautiful and the location perfect. The common area had a little kitchen with plenty of goodies for you to eat and drink (all included with your room). It was quite helpful to take a little packaged cake snack along for the day in case we got hungry.

There was only major complaint and a few tiny little ones. First, the major one: The bed was a rock. I dreaded turning in for the night, knowing the damage it would wreak on my back. It was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on.

The minor complaints were that the shower wouldn't drain. We had a 4 inch pool of water around our feet. Also, the shower would lose all hot water at least once a minute for 10-15 seconds. These weren't dealbreakers, but slightly annoying.

The building was very old and smelled old. The hotel attempted to remedy this by using air fresheners and potpourri, but we are a bit allergic to these scents, so it wasn't that pleasant.

Also, whether it's early in the morning or late at night, you will hear everyone else on the floor's doors open or shut, as there wasn't much insulation in the hallway.

One final complaint was that even though you are at the end of a road leading to a little alleyway, it wasn't as quiet as you'd hope. For starters, there is an Irish pub downstairs that had loud talking and noise until at least 2 AM. One night, they had techno music blasting and we could feel the bass 4 floors up. Also, all of the street vendors pull their carts through this alleyway in the morning and evening as they come and go from the markets. You can hear the wheels on the cobblestone streets reverberating up the buildings right into your room.

Finally, there was free internet, but you had to be in the main lobby to get any signal.

Overall, the complaints were something we could tolerate to stay in such a beautiful and friendly place (the only two that were intolerable was the club downstairs and the bed). To her credit, Ana did talk to the bar about the noise and it was quieter the following night.

You could do alot worse, honestly, so read my review with somewhat of a disclaimer. If the bed was softer, I'd give this place 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grlantrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

This place is a little difficult to find, so do pay attention to the directions. But once you've setup camp here most attractions are very easy to get to. The place did feel like we were in a 16th century building that had been renovated a few years ago - thanks to the the type of doors, style of staircase/lift, etc. But the rooms themselves are well furnished and we found the place charming.

Relais is located in a really good part of town ... a slight detour to the "other side" of town confirmed that we had made the right choice neighborhood wise. The Galleria dell Academia (housing David) is a 15-20 min. walk while the Uffizi Gallery is 5 min. We enjoyed walking arround this neighborhood and all the attractions nearby. The nearby Piazza Repulica had a great atmosphere in the evenings.

The kitchen at Relais was convenient to us as well. But don't expect a sumptious breakfast or 5-star treatment. We didn't since we were out the most day and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Would recommend this whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vizzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#207 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#38 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#115 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#82 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Uffizi
Porcellino Gallery
Porcellino Gallery
#203 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Property: Relais Cavalcanti
Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing