We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book it, you'll be glad you did”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #108 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just book it, you'll be glad you did”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Right in the heart of town, there's this nice little place, two blocks from Uffizzi and easy walking distance to everything you'll want to see. Great to be able to pop back to the room mid-day, because it's right there.
Jessica and Anna are so nice and incredibly helpful in guiding your time in Florence. When we arrived they had already written all over a map of Florence where the good restaurants are (and believe them! non-touristy, great food - Quattro Leone especially) and also grocery stores, sights, etc. They were also incredibly helpful before, during, and even when we were walking out the door with helping plan bus from Siena, bus to Lucca, train to Venice, you name it. They also phoned to confirm bus schedules, to book restaurant reservations, day-trip tours, etc.
Our room was very nice and clean and modern bathroom, big shower. looks down on the market below, with a view of THE tower right from the bed! It was NOT noisy in the morning - maybe if you have jet lag and are already awake, then you'll hear it and it'll annoy you, but with the inside and outside window shutters to close, it's not loud.
Yes, when you walk in the building downstairs, it smells - pretty bad. and you need to walk up a flight of stairs, and then the elevator is comically small. So what!! You're staying in Florence for crazy cheap.
Yes, there's wifi, although it wasn't strong enough to use in the room, so I'd hang out in the lounge area to check in. But it's free, unlike other places we stayed in Italy.
Go for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobnones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    64
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
132
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was an excellent find, a hidden little gem right in the centre of all the action. This is not a hotel but more of an apartment stay. There is a reception office and the staff are super friendly. It was so nice to come across such helpful staff in a country not really known for having great service (from my experience anyway). The rooms are big especially for European standards and the bathroom was clean and modern. You couldn't ask for a better location. One minor downfall was that the bed was a little hard.
They have a breakfast room where you can help yourself to tea and coffee and toast, biscuits etc all day and night. FREE wifi !! And the price is fantastic!!! I happily recommend this place and wish them all the success as they truly deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alacazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Relais Cavalcanti in June 2010.
We had an excellent experience at the hotel/home. The location is absolutely perfect and they have done a very good job of making the rooms, bathrooms and common areas very comfortable. This was also one of the most economical choices we found in the center of Florence.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was easy to find with the directions they provided. We had a very clean room. We couldn't hear the noise down below with the double paned windows. We were there when the final Fifa game was on and the street below was packed with soccer fans watching the game from the bar below. Could hardly hear them. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. I asked for a softer pillow and she got me one right away. Breakfast is sufficient, you have to buy your own milk and keep it in your room but you can make toast, coffee, tea etc in the breakfast room. We met and chatted with some very nice people there from all over the world. The location is right in the heart of Florence so everything is just minutes away. Internet cafe and laundry aren't far either. We woud highly recommend this bed and breakfast and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontariofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We couldn't fault this accomodation.

Francesca and her team are extremely customer focused and friendly. Our room was very large and simply gorgeous with period furniture included.

Excellent breakfast selection (self serve) - just remember to provide your own milk!

Excellent location for touring, shopping & eating. About a 10-15min walk from the railway station - get a taxi if you have to pull big bags.

Francesca put us onto a fantastic bicycle tour (run by Scotsmen!) of the Tuscany countryside starting at a 12th century castle with wine & olive oil tasting, a bike ride, lunch at another location, followed by another ride then finishing at the start - this was a hightlight of our 6wk trip and we would not have been aware of it had it not been for Francesca.

One commente was that the free wifi would not reach our room - but we could sit in the very comfortable sitting room across from reception to get connected (or anywhere else)

If your'e disabled then you won't want to walk up one flight of steps to the lift, but for the rest of the population this isn't a drawback.

Out of 6 weeks travelling Italy, Paris & the UK, this was the best accomodation and most enjoyable experience :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The Relais Cavalcanti is a perfectly simple, extremely clean room in possibly the best location in all of Florence. Anna is a very gracious hostess that was very helpful in getting the most out of our short trip. The hotel is very nicely decorated; it is clear that the owners love their space and want to make it feel like home. The common areas are great for a quick breakfast or late night snack, or just a place to hang out. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I settled on the Relais Cavalcanti after much research on various websites and after staying there in a triple room (with wife and daughter) for six nights, am very satisfied with my choice. The pensione is very well situated, in close proximity to all the major attractions and walking distance from the SMN Station. The rooms are spacious and nicely done up and come with a fridge. An innovative feature about the place is that each room is named after a major Renaissance artist, ours was 'Michelangelo'!
Though breakfast is not provided, there is a common dining room with a supply of cakes, pastries, bread, butter, jam, coffee, tea, soft drinks. There is also a microwave and electric kettle. One can always pick up those fluffy croissants at nearby bakeries and heat them up for a quick bite. You also get to meet a lot of interesting people in the dining room - I will always remember a Spanish couple - the Sanchezes - who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary! Despite their limited English and our Nil Spanish, we could communicate perfectly.
Some of the earlier reviews had complained about the corridor smell - its not sewage, but cooking gas. Looks like a faint leak in the piped gas system. The double windows cut off all noise and the beds were very comfortable - after each days extensive walking, one sleeps before the head hits the pillow. The room is cleaned and towels, soaps replaced every day.
On the whole, an ideal place to stay in for the budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamatashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#117 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#40 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#25 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#86 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Uffizi
Porcellino Gallery
Porcellino Gallery
#213 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Uffizi
Residenza Castelli
Residenza Castelli
#119 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Property: Relais Cavalcanti
Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing