We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs, dirty duvet covers, dirty walls, no lighting- please advise”
Review of Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Panama
Ranked #246 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My family and I spent five nights at hotel panama a few days ago. While the manager was extremely helpful and kind to help us book tours and determine what sites to see, we found it very difficult to enjoy our stay due to the amount of insect bites that continue to appear on our bodies. We were placed in a ground floor room with terrible lighting, stained duvet covers and dirty walls (block splashes of goo everywhere). In addition, there were Mosquitos everywhere especially in the sheets of the large bed, all along the ceiling and in the bathroom. While there was a mosquito repellent machine it clearly did not work very well as the four of us received no sleep due to the constant bed bug bites. Every morning we woke to new bites on our body, and dead Mosquitos in the sheets. We asked the manager about this and he assured us the machine would solve the issue but what do you know, it DIDN'T WORK. In addition, the shower head was brown, moldy and rusty and the water that came out at first was a bit muddy looking. While breakfast was decent the woman who served it was extremely rude and grumpy. Not only did she always start breakfast late and shut it down early despite us still sitting in the booth, she rudely accused us of eating too much food! How ridiculous. Do not stay here, it ruined Florence for my family and I.

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor and make sure you bring calamine lotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in June. All of the staff were very friendly and certainly made us feel welcome. Our room was on the ground floor (downstairs from the reception). Free wifi, though at times slow was appreciated. We were initially uncertain about the room as it appeared to be right next to the breakfast area, and as breakfast was served from 7 we were concerned about noise. However double doors between the room and the breakfast area, plus a very sound proof room ensured that we both slept soundly until it was time to get up!

Very heavy duty curtains kept the room nice and dark and the air con worked perfectly (great news since Florence had a heatwave whilst we were there with temps hitting 39 degrees). Bedroom was clean and had a tv, mini bar, and an easy to use safe. Our room was a good size, with a comfy chair, a desk and chair and a really good sized bathroom. Plug sockets were 3 prong, reception leant us an adaptor for our stay. Breakfast had a help yourself range of cold meats, cheese, toast, rolls, cereals etc, and coffee tea and cold drinks, with a nice al fresco dining area in a quite courtyard.

When we arrived the lady at reception recommended a couple of places near by to eat, as it was quite late, Il Clarinetto was a great recommendation and we had a lovely meal. On departing the staff ordered us a taxi (which took less than 5 mins to arrive!). The only thing which was unexpected (and this could have been our own fault for not noticing) is that any payment needing to be made at the end of your stay (e.g. tourist tax, mini bar etc) must be paid in cash.

The hotel is probably around a 20 min stroll to the Duomo. This didn't bother us at all as we enjoyed the walk.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel :)

Perhaps my overall view of the hotel was slightly prejudiced since I got engaged whilst in Florence, and therefore floated around in happiness for quite a while :P

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces into the courtyard away from the road :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in the hotel in June for two nights. the hotel is at a very decent location, just 10 min walk from city center. The hotel staff was helpful in planning our visits to all the tourist attractions. The rooms were very small and not very clean also. The bathroom was very tiny. The breakfast was also not up to the mark. The bread and fruits were stale and toaster was not working. I think the hotel rooms need renovation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdude20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently (May) stayed at the Hotel Panama for three days. We would echo all of the complimentary comments made in previous posts. This hotel is very well-run, and the staff is excellent: they were so helpful with our planning to sites, had information on what museums were going to be free, offered recommendations for both restaurants and planning where to go when, transportation, etc. The breakfast was fine, with good coffee (husband is a stickler for that!). At other hotels we had had stayed in up to that point in our trip, the staff was either MIA or made you feel like they were doing you a large favor to respond to requests, and had their hands out at all times. We cannot say enough about the staff. My husband left an item there, and staff coordinated its return. They take pride in what they do, and do it well. It was nice to come to a quiet, clean and comfortable room with all the amenities you would need after a busy day in the heart of Florence. Yes - it is a ten minute walk (or so) to city center, but the bus is right out the door, and that space is what allows for a relaxing beginning and end to your day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really good hotel - Very good value for money.
Hotel really went out of their way with our extra requests - INCREDIBLY friendly receptionists - printed off our boarding pass for us, excellent wifi connection, let us use their PC, brought extra cutlery to our room upon request. Helpful on suggestions on for dinner too.
In terms of location - a short walk into the city centre but you could catch a bus (No. 13 or C1 - both from the street the hotel is on).
The walk in is fine but after a long day of site seeing, the walk back feels much longer!
Away from the tourist hustle and bustle though, if you prefer that.
Would definitely stay here again - provides comfort and efficiency for a good price - which I think if you went a bit more central you would have to compromise on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Small and nice hotel. The rooms are large and well- taken. The boss Igino is an experienced man of the field and makes any effort to make you well feeling. In few minutes you we'll be in center.Free wifi internet service, free bycicle use ( very useful to go around). Also nice the inside garden for the breakfast. One defect? Probably the lack of restaurant close the hotel. But this is not. Mr. Igino's fault...Good price , considering that we are at Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#184 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#239 of 410 in Florence
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Meridiana
#273 of 410 in Florence
384 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#179 of 410 in Florence
437 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#244 of 410 in Florence
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Address: Via Venti Settembre 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £33 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing