We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some Money Spent on It”
Review of Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Panama
Ranked #247 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this expecting more than what we got based on the star rating from trip advisor and the amount we paid. The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the main attractions. We had a room facing the back carpark with a balcony which was nice. We had one big bedroom and a small sitting area that our boys slept in, in a fold out chair. The bed was a very thin, rickety mattress which I would not recommend for an adult to sleep on though our boys seemed to sleep ok. It was very hot but we were told the a/c isn't allowed to be used until June. The breakfast was basic, yoghurt, few slices of meat and cheese and some bread. There were a few broken things in the room that needed fixing and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in places. This place may have once been lovely but its beauty has definitely faded. I would hope there are better places out there for the money we spent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I am generally not very fussy when it comes to lodging while travelling. But when all of the following happened at the same time and place, I am really compelled to write this negative review:
1. Noisy air conditioner.
2. Noisy environment. Every night I could hear cars driving past the hotel, and inconsiderate guests allowing the door to slam shut. The latter of course was not the hotel's fault, but it also reflects the poor soundproofing and partition of the rooms.
2. Certain area of the room had ants crawling and mosquitoes were present in spite of a repellent.
3. Unstable WiFi.
4. Room and washroom were dimly lit. I couldn't put most of my toiletries on the washroom sink because it was slanted downward and they would fall into the sink. Some parts of the washroom would be flooded after taking a shower even though the shower cubicle was closed. I felt bad for the cleaning lady actually.
5. Breakfast: Toaster was not working, I had to toast the bread twice, and even so, the middle part of the bread was completely soft. And I thought the use of plastic cups was not very environmental friendly.

When I had wanted to inform the hotel staff of my dissatisfaction, before I could even finish item number one above, I was talked down like I was an idiot who did not know how to switch off the air conditioner. Perhaps the young chap had a rough day. The other staffs, however, were very friendly, especially Mr. Eigino Rossi.

So, in short, I was not expecting a Ritz Carlton quality and treatment, but if I do return to Florence, I would opt for another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yiklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for two nights recently May 2014. This hotel is centrally located and it is on the second floor. You need to use a small elevator to get your luggage up to the reception. We were given a room on the back, which was very quiet but too many mosquito's as we had the window open slightly for air overnight. We were biten alive. The room - well it was clean and the bathroom appeared to have been recently redone and new. Our room size was one of the smallest rooms we have ever seen. It was max. 10'x10' across with a large wardrobe, bar fridge, tv and a small table along the bed. The art work was very tacky looking and the soap dish in the bathroom was a plastic pop/soda bottle cut down to hold the soap? I am telling the truth! There was a shelf above the bar fridge which held the flat screen TV. The shelf legs were used coke cans. We accidently knocked it, and the can crushed sending the tv almost to the floor. We removed the shelf and just placed the TV on top of the bar fridge instead... The chandelier or light fixture over the bed was a prize too, It was made of plastic soda can holders all fuzzed together around a light bulb with plastic pieces hanging? OMG...for this money? mmmm? On other points the buffet was fine for breakfast. We were leaving early for a tour our first morning and the staff gave us a take out bag for breakfast which we appreciated. The hotel is centrally located and easy walking distance to town. The staff was very friendly and for two busy days, this was fine...maybe they will change out the soap dish and light fixture and shelving by then? LOL

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neighbour_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The bed was very poor. Moldy bed cover & too old blanket. And they never turned on the heating system while the temp went down under 10 degree Celsius at night (on May).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChoiKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in early April and found the hotel very pleasant and ideally situated to explore the sights of Florence.
The owner was extremely helpful and gave us lots of useful information on local attractions.
Would certainly stay again when we next visit this beautiful city

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice little hotel, just 15-20 minutes walk from the city center. The building in old and atmospheric. Friendly staff, quiet room, mine was in top floor and window to the yard side. Bathroom was wonder of space but worked well. Bikes free to borrow.
Breakfast wasn't wide-ranging, but enough for to start the day. It's not healthy to eat too much :-)).
Defenetly worth the price!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remarqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I wound up here based on being able to use some points to book a couple of nights. I was looking to go very inexpensively, and my single room was definitely basic, a little bit tired, with a very small en suite bathroom, but nothing to complain about. The free wi-fi was great, breakfast was fine. It is about a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Florence-- something to be aware of, but a pleasant, safe walk in any case. The staff all spoke English and were very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful. There are some negative reviews here, and I was bitten alive one night by mosquitos, but hard to say whether that was an isolated incident or not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
373 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#244 of 409 in Florence
312 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#164 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#236 of 409 in Florence
229 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
#286 of 409 in Florence
54 reviews
Careggi
#195 of 409 in Florence
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Address: Via Venti Settembre 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £33 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing