We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Domus Florentiae Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Ranked #198 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Australia.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Domus Florentiae Hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights, 1st night no hot water. After much persuasion they finally believed us & fixed it, I suspect they think we did something to cause this (we didn't,t)
Next morning, no electricity or WATER ! Electricity finally restored sometime in morning, common areas of hotel ran on generator, but not the rooms. We went out for day & water had been finally restored. No apology, no reduction in tariff.
Bath under shower leaked considerably, sealant around bath has broken allowing water to course through & flood floor. No point in complaining, they think that,s all we do, just put up with it.
Hotel looks as though they have tried to convert an old building with installing period pieces, marble floor tiles, plaster architraves etc. some areas look OK, the others it just hasn't,t worked.
Having said this, the hotel is in a very convenient location, couple hundred metres to station, next door to Santa Maria Novella cathedral, couple of hundred metres to supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    142
    55
    21
    16
See reviews for
73
177
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Note: This is written from an American perspective

# of nights stayed: 2
Decor: Old fashioned, from another time
Bathroom: Hand held shower with an attachment, great shampoo & body wash, good water pressure
Bed: Comfortable 4 out of 5
Internet: Free!!!
Breakfast: Included & beautiful terrace to enjoy it on. Great service for coffee or tea
Positives: Friendly & accommodated to switching us to a double bed our 2nd night
Note:
>can be easily missed fr the street, 2 flights of stairs up
>German outlets, they will let you borrow an adaptor
Extras: Great location close to train station & walking distance to all of Florence sights in 20 min
>Great view of the square from your window
Worth the price? Yes
Reccomend it? Yes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is located extremely close to the train station and TI and within reasonable walking distance of excellent eateries and all of the major Florence attractions. It is in the square of the beautiful Santa Maria Novella church as well as restaurants and a delicious gelateria. The room was spacious and clean. Our view of the square was entertaining although the hustle and bustle outside continued well into the night. Our shower had a drainage problem (already mentioned by another customer) but it did not flood and didn't keep us from using the shower. Breakfast enjoyed out on the rooftop terrace was delicious, especially the croissants and made to order cappuccinos. All of the hotel staff members were warm, welcoming and very helpful. Alban made reservations for the Uffizi and Accademia after we emailed a request prior to our vacation. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor (2nd floor) to avoid too many stairs. Views facing the piazza are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanV818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We checked into the hotel at noon and our room was ready, it was a short 500 mtr walk from the SMN train station. Upon check in the receptionist helped us book our museum ticked to see the statue of David, and gave many recomendations on what to see and do. We were recomended 2 fantastic restaurants by the night staff, both of which were our best dishes on our entire 6 week trip. One of the restaurants was Giglio Rosso which was just around the corner, you have to try the wild boar papradelle pasta- best ever. Our room was large, clean, had WIFI and opened up to the Santa Maria Novella square. the breakfast on offer was full of suggestions and was a pleasant morning on the terrace. We would definately recommend the hotel

Room Tip: We got a great deal online and booked the delux room, two single beds to make up the king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location between the train station and ponte vechio ! The entrance doesn't look very nice but you have to get a lift that takes you up o e floor to the reception , over all the room was average,could do with replacing the mattress ! But we were only there for one night .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Florence. The location was incredible and the rooms were so adorable! The breakfast was huge and varied, totally went above and beyond the traditional Italian breakfast. The best part was, though, how clean the hotel was. My rooms dn bathroom was spotless. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again te next time I am in Florence.

I don't understand the negative reviews here, perhaps these people are Americans who are more used to studying at the Hilton. And the management NEEDS a copy of identification to report to the police. It's how they keep a large city like Florence safe for tourists. You will find that in most European hotels.

Bottom line, stay here! It's comfortable, affordable, central in location, quiet, adorable, SUPER clean, the management is extremely helpful and friendly. I LOVED my stay here. Oh, and there's great wifi and a/c for an American like myself ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_vattana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

First of all, this place is unfriendly. We checked in late in the evening, and the staff member working the desk asked us to leave our passports there while he showed us to our room (no one else was watching the desk). When we politely indicated that we would like to stay with our passports, and that we will be happy to wait while he enters our information, we were met with a bit of rudeness and attitude. Not pleasant.

The room was okay. The cover of the bed was visibly dirty. The toilet had some issues with flushing.

"Breakfast". Pretty bad. Twice, I had dirty utensils given to me, with visible particles of food on them. The choices are mostly cheap breads, cheap ham (very processed and not very fresh-tasting), and some packaged triangles of "cheese". No eggs, not even hard-boiled. They had yogurt but it wasn't very fresh.

Also, they advertise an elevator in the hotel. It only goes from the ground floor to the first floor (check-in desk). If your room is upstairs, you have to carry your things up a fairly large set of slippery marble steps.

The location is okay. Close to Santa Maria Novella station which made it easy to leave this place quickly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMRworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo C, Proprietario at Domus Florentiae Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

La ringraziamo per aver scelto il nostro albergo.

Siamo molto dispiaciuti che non l abbia apprezzato.
Purtroppo la registrazione del passaporto e obbligatoria per disposizione della Polizia.
Non possiamo tuttavia accettare le Sue note sulla pulizia, sulla freschezza degli yogurt ecc.

Le altre recensioni fortunatamente indicano un altro albergo. Quello vero, dove dal proprietario all'ultimo dipendente tutti si impegnano per rendere il soggiorno dell'ospite unico e da ricordare.

Tutto per noi e piu facile vista la unicita e la bellezza del nostro albergo.

Mi dispiace ancora e spero che quello che ha scritto sia solo frutto di un risentimento che non riesco onestamente a capire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#106 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#124 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Florentiae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Florentiae Hotel

Property: Domus Florentiae Hotel
Address: Via Degli Avelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#158 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Florentiae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Florentiae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Florentiae
Domus Florentiae Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing