We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be an acceptable place to sleep...if you could get any.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domus Florentiae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Ranked #193 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would be an acceptable place to sleep...if you could get any.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel during our honeymoon.

We were initially excited when shown our room. It is a bit dated, but in a regal and charming way. It was a superior room with a view...directly above the flags over the front door.

The first night, I realized this wasn't so desirable. The bed was average...fine, nothing too terrible but not terribly comfortable either. The pillows were awful. Laying there you could hear everything. Conversations in the street, in the hall, in the next room, construction, traffic, suitcases rolling by...it was awful.

Breakfast was good, not spectacular but a good way to start a day of walking and exploring. The woman who ran it was...efficient to a fault. She was very brusque, tended to hover (made me feel like I shouldn't be eating) and when I stood to refill my glass of juice I turned around to find she had cleared away my full cup of coffee an half finished plate!!!

The shower looked intriguing. It was a multi jet affair that seemed like it might have been a bit of heaven. I never had a chance to find out. Our water barely warmed past frigid. The desk clerk was lovely and tried to help. He restarted something and messed around, testing the water in the Hall bathroom. The best I could say for the water in our room was that it was warmer...it was still to cold to use. I o regard someone at breakfast talking about how great their shower was so this must only have been an issue in our room.

The internet connection was sporadic and unreliable. Not a huge deal, but inconvenient for my husband's online courses.

None of these issues would be deal breakers by themselves (maybe the water) but taken together they made for a very disappointing stay. I was even more disappointed based on the great reviews this hotel had.

Location was great...good base for exploring Florence and convenient to the train station and Duomo.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katieblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    142
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
73
173
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is located very near to the Central Railway Station and only a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella church (and its square). The room we stayed in was really cozy and clean. We could open our window and see the cathedral, which is a nice view.
Every morning breakfast was served by a nice staff, on a varanda located at the back at the hotel. Nice cappucino there :)

Room Tip: You should choose a room that has the view from the square and the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap for our short stay in Florence... We chose this hotel. After 3 nights we couldn't wait to leave! The beds, the pillows - horribly uncomfortable. But the worst thing about our stay was the horrible smell which when we first got there was an overwhelming bleach smell, later we discovered this was only an attempt to disguise the putrid and pungent aroma of what we could only describe as being of RAW sewerage. The hotel owner advised this is a common problem in downtown Florence. Really???
We visited other restaurants, cafés and hotels in the area of which none had the same tang!!!
Spend a few more $$$ and stay somewhere else!
Ps: we had room 110

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hucky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo C, Proprietario at Domus Florentiae Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Google Translation
Che dire? non abbiamo parole per replicare a una recensione così

Secondo il mio avviso è lo scotto che una struttura come la nostra potenziale 4 stelle, a causa di un mercato che gioca al ribasso, è costretta a vendere una camera che costerebbe oltre Euro 200,00 a notte a euro 50,00.

Un errore di noi albergatori probabilmente.
La ringraziamo comunque del Suo soggiorno e Le auguriamo di trovare nel Suo prossimo viaggio un albergo a 5 stelle con la tariffa di 2 cosi che non possa piu lamentarsi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights on a recent trip to Florence. We could not have been more pleased with the facility, the people, the convenient location, or our overall trip (and that is coming from an American!). This hotel should be rated higher than it is in the TripAdvisor ratings.

The location is wonderful for exploring Florence and we had read that room 108 had a great view in an earlier review. We asked for that room and got it and this is a great room for two - I'll upload a night time view from the room so you can see just how nice it was.

The staff in particular was wonderful - anything we had a question about was answered immediately and it was always good advice. Have them make you a reservation at Trattoria Sostanza (Il Troia) - Via Porcellana, 25 - very nearby and the food is wonderful - but you DO need a reservation and it's cash only. We had Gelato several places but THE place to go is Gelateria dei Neri- via dei Neri, 22 - trust me you will throw rocks at all the others if you go to this place.

If you want to eat with the locals try Trattoria Mario - Via Rosina, 2 - no credit cards accepted and it's VERY busy but once again trust me it's worth the visit. If you are over by the Pitti Palace try Gusta Pizza - Via Maggio, 4 - go early, only six tables. If you want a good, filling, inexpensive meal when you are near the Duomo try Self Service Leonardo - Via de' Pecori, 35 - it's on the second floor, a bit hard to find, self service with sit down but you just can't beat it for the price and quality (and quantity) of food.

I would strongly suggest you walk around the corner to the tourist office across from the train station and get the Firenze card. It gets you in 72 museums and other spots for 72 hours and comes with a free transit pass that gets you around easily if you don't want to walk. While getting the card be SURE to tour the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella which you can get to directly from the tourist office. Factually we found it more interesting and historically rich than many of the more famous sites in Florence (but you should also see them while you are there).

If I have one complaint (and it would be a VERY SMALL one) it has to do with the breakfast. Although the attentive staff provides wonderful wake up specialty coffees the four mornings we were there the breakfast was the identical items all four mornings - a little variety would have been welcome. But there was ample selections so it really wasn't a problem.

Although it was our first time in Florence if we ever go back we will certainly stay at this lovely, comfortable, welcoming hotel again.

Room Tip: See my photo and comments on room 108 - there are others with the same view of the plaza - get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ld S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located about 100 metres from the Central Railway station, however not easily located as it is not well signed. But after leaving train station follow the side wall of the church across the road Santa Maria Novella towards the square look out for the flags on the wall about 30 metres along the walkway, it is there. We had trouble because we were looking for a road but it is not a road it is a walkway to the square beyond. Hotel room was very clean but small with a large bathroom. It is within easy walking distance of all places of interest and there are lots of restaurants,cafes and coffee shops Breakfast was simple but adequate with the bonus of fresh cappuccinos or caffe lattes on offer . WIFI was excellent.
Desk staff were very helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights, 1st night no hot water. After much persuasion they finally believed us & fixed it, I suspect they think we did something to cause this (we didn't,t)
Next morning, no electricity or WATER ! Electricity finally restored sometime in morning, common areas of hotel ran on generator, but not the rooms. We went out for day & water had been finally restored. No apology, no reduction in tariff.
Bath under shower leaked considerably, sealant around bath has broken allowing water to course through & flood floor. No point in complaining, they think that,s all we do, just put up with it.
Hotel looks as though they have tried to convert an old building with installing period pieces, marble floor tiles, plaster architraves etc. some areas look OK, the others it just hasn't,t worked.
Having said this, the hotel is in a very convenient location, couple hundred metres to station, next door to Santa Maria Novella cathedral, couple of hundred metres to supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Note: This is written from an American perspective

# of nights stayed: 2
Decor: Old fashioned, from another time
Bathroom: Hand held shower with an attachment, great shampoo & body wash, good water pressure
Bed: Comfortable 4 out of 5
Internet: Free!!!
Breakfast: Included & beautiful terrace to enjoy it on. Great service for coffee or tea
Positives: Friendly & accommodated to switching us to a double bed our 2nd night
Note:
>can be easily missed fr the street, 2 flights of stairs up
>German outlets, they will let you borrow an adaptor
Extras: Great location close to train station & walking distance to all of Florence sights in 20 min
>Great view of the square from your window
Worth the price? Yes
Reccomend it? Yes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#113 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#106 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Florentiae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Florentiae Hotel

Property: Domus Florentiae Hotel
Address: Via Degli Avelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
#98 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#158 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Florentiae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Domus Florentiae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Florentiae
Domus Florentiae Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing