We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #78 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a great hotel, right in the centre of Florence and very handy for absolutely everything,. The thing that makes this hotel really special though are the people who run it. They can't do enough for you and are really friendly - they speak fantastic English too!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 515Mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Colomba in Florence with our two kids ages 14 and 12, the Quad rooms are very large and comfortable, the staff is very friendly and the location is great! Free Wi-Fi and the best breakfast we had during our visit to Italy this summer!
The lobby and hotel is located on the 2nd. floor of the building.
We highly recommend it and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here for only one night just to explore the city before I headed off to Greece. I walked my suitcase here from the Florence SMN Station. However, I do not recommend the walk for people with heavy suitcases as the cobblestone streets and narrow sidewalks could be rather difficult. The walk took me about twenty minutes. If you want to walk, I suggest going to the tourist office across the street from the train station and picking up a map. Exit on the right when you depart from the trains and you will see the office literally across the street.

Front desk was quick and friendly. Filled me in on the need-to-knows. The room was very large and clean. There was cable television. Internet was a bit choppy but it was free and wireless. The bathroom was a bit tight but it served its purpose. I saw the restaurant but didn't dine
inside. Place reminded me of a B & B since the service seemed more personal. Overall didn't really spend a lot of time here as I only had one day.

Hotel was very close to a lot museums and galleries. I found the Academia Gallery and the David along with the Medici Museum only a couple of blocks away. The Duomo and the river maybe twenty minutes the other way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhucDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel during our 3 night stay in Florence on our Honeymoon through Italy on the recommendation of our Frommer's guide book. The room was spacious, very clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint was the bathroom was VERY small. I had to stand outside the shower to shave my legs, and my husband jut barely fit in! It got the job done though, and did not put a damper on our stay. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was good. The thing this hotel really has going for it is the location. Just a few minutes walk from the Duomo, and pretty much anything else you could want to see in Florence. We got a nice discount for booking the hotel far in advance, so the value couldn't be beat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Spent three nights recently here. Great location for exploring Florence. The room next to the breakfast area is of decent size. The bathroom is tiny. Not small, but tiny. The smallest I have seen in any hotel room. There was a bidet in the shower stall literally. Which you constantly brush against while showering. And the hot water level was fluctuating in the morning.

The AC was decent. One night my AC did not work so they provided me another room for the night, which I thought was the right gesture.
The breakfast spread was very simple. Mostly cold cuts and some cereals. The coffee was good as is the case in most places in Italy. There is a great Turkish place in the same building downstairs which is great for a night cap after coming back to the hotel.

I used the place to crash at night after a busy day of sightseeing. And for that it is great.

It's a simple,well managed B&B in a great location. Although not the only option in that area.

Room Tip: Insist on a bigger bathroom if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pragueresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Columba for a week from 16 to 23 May, 2012. We used Florence as a base from which to visit towns in the region. We used a combination of web sites and guides to make our choice and were very glad that we did.

This was the first of 5 hotels we stayed in during a month trip to various towns in Italy and we rated it the highest of all the hotels. The reasons are:
1. Service. Rosanna and Sabina go beyond the call of duty here. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we received great advice on things to do as well as commentary on all things Italian. They are ably assisted by Rosanna's family in this respect. We never tasted coffee again in Italy that was as good as that supplied at breakfast.
2. Location. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Florence and 10 minutes from the railway station as well as being close (5 to 15 minutes) from most other museums etc and restaurants. (Taxi's not required)
3. Cleanliness and efficiency. The room was always spotless and all the services worked well
4. Disturbance: The room was quiet and aircon is installed
5. Value. Compared to other prices this is great value in Florence. Look at the rating on the trip advisor web site for confirmation -rating 21 out of 459!

Pippa and Nick

Room Tip: For a longer stay Rosanna recommends a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel is located in an excellent location, with very friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay in Florence and would definitely stay at this hotel again. The room was very nice and quiet. Overall, it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! See you soon, hotel Colomba Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#89 of 411 in Florence
438 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#59 of 411 in Florence
902 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 411 in Florence
601 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
519 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £50 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing