We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #79 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the main train station and one has to walk as there are no direct buses till here. However the hotel is very well located from the main tourist attractions (accademia is a 2 min walk and uffizzi and dummo are abt 10 mins). The lady at the front desk was very helpful and helped us to our rooms.
The rooms were neat and clean but the bathroom was on the smaller side. I did have some difficulty getting in the shower area.
They have a very good breakfast selection (croissants, muffins, cold cuts, juices, cheese etc) and it was the best B&B breakfast that we had on our entire trip in Italy. overall the hotel is nothing fancy but has all the basic necessities. Would recommend it to people who are on a budget trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

It seems the other recent reviewers have left little for me to say. My wife and I, along with one son and daughter-in-law, had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Colomba in early August. We agree on everything: service, location, accommodations and Value.

Just to show how convenient the location is, the Accademia (David) entrance is 250 steps away from the hotel entrance. The Duomo is a little further, but not by much.

The hotel staff was very helpful recommending restaurants and helped with arranging a tour out into Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OccasionalJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My family and I spent three nights at Hotel Colomba. We traveled with our children ages 12 and 9 and stayed in a room spacious enough for the entire family. I would consider the following to be the top 3 qualities of this hotel. (1) The owner and the staff made us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel. It was fully booked, but the staff always had time to answer our questions and make us feel welcome. (2) The location - all the major tourist spots are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. (3) The breakfast prepared by the hotel was excellent and a fantastic way to start each day. After our stay, I can understand why Hotel Colomba has so many repeat guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TpaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had an excellent experience, thanks to the warm and responsive family owners. The extensive positive reviews on TripAdvisors convinced us to choose this hotel. Everything worked out as expected, the room was a pretty decent size for a mid-budget hotel room in Europe, we did not feel cramped. The AC worked so well that I had to put on socks at night during my stay as my feet tend to get cold first. The shower had good pressure and nice hot water. I was a bit concerned when I saw the large but thin towels but they were quite absorbent and worked out fine. The breakfast was basic but enough to get you on your way, and served with a smile. The room was properly cleaned each day, the Internet worked well though slow for downloading large files. The owners were very helpful with directions and sightseeing tips. Overall, a very positive experience and you can't beat the central location within 5mins walk of key locations like the Duomo and Academia and 10-15mins walk from Florence's main Santa Maria Novella train station. Did I mention also close to numerous restaurants, cafes and the San Lorenzo market...

Room Tip: Our room faced the interior courtyard, so we had no issue with street noise. Although I must say th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Colomba recently. We were greeted with warmth and hospitality, and felt truly welcome for the entirety of our stay. The owners went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a good size bathroom. Breakfast (included) was delicious--we looked forward to it each morning. The hotel is in an ideal location for sight-seeing. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Florence!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We traveled to Florence in the last week of July 2012. We were 3 (2 Adults, 1 teenagers) and stayed at Hotel Colomba for four nights. The experience was fantastic and we loved this hotel! Family run with nice and esquiste service, especially Michele who will accommodate your every request. Very central location, near Uffizi and Domo, spotlessly clean, excellent technology, but most of all, you feel right at home and sleep well. Would definitely stay at Hote Colomba again when next in Florence.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our 4-days holiday in Florence was absolutely unforgettable, mostly due to the Hotel Colomba and its entire staff!

A family run hotel in the heart of Forence, where you are always welcome with a smile.

We were provided a large, clean and quite room with a large bed and two single for our daughters.

They especially enjoyed the free wi fi since the moment we arrived!

Breakfast was delicious, plenty of cheese, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs and absolutely the BEST cappucino we had during our trip in Italy.

I loved it! I do agree with many other reviews saying that what makes this little hotel really special are the people who run it. They can't do enough for you, and speak great English too!!! I absolutely recommend Hotel Colomba and would stay here again !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your word, we will happy to see you again! Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#87 of 411 in Florence
438 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#59 of 411 in Florence
903 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#70 of 411 in Florence
601 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
520 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing