We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #71 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We only stayed here 1 night but it was great for our family of 4 . It is located directly above one of the Leonardo da Vinci Museums which was fun to visit with the kids. The lift is tiny but very helpful to get suitcases to the hotel located on the 2nd floor. The rooms were quite spacious, clean and quiet and the location was fantastic being only a 10 min walk from the train station, 5-7 mins for the Duomo and 15 mins from the Uffizi. The hotel organised reservations for the Uffizi for us and were very helpful with details of restaurants, best places for gelato and local laundrette. Breakfast was great -buffet with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, boiled eggs, rolls, meat and cheeses, juices and delicious cappuccinos or lattes. A great stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    354
    84
    20
    5
See reviews for
341
491
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful, offering lots of help and advice plus good choice of teas! Great position close to centre of Florence near bars and restaurants. Some work taking place next door but no noise heard. Massive rooms! Hotel is on 2nd floor, but lift available. Thanks for great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewalrus711
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to return to Florence this summer and were happy we booked Hotel Colomba for our stay this time. On the surface, the hotel might seem dated and lacking a bit of curb appeal. However, our stay was fantastic and the service, attention and assistance given to us by the staff was first rate - beginning with a friendly greeting and continuing throughout our 7 night stay, we enjoyed calling this place home. Granted, it was a bit strange at first to get to our room as it was on what seemed to be the owners floor but it was a large, comfortable room with a nice view, stocked refrigerator and typical bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping - of course all the walking you do in and around Florence helps that out too.

Part of what makes this place so appealing is that it is 5 min walk from Accademia, 10 min walk from the duomo and baptistry, as well as less than 5 minutes to the Mercado Centrale (you MUST go here and enjoy fresh local food and beverage - seafood is incredible.) and San Lorenzo markets. My wife and I walked everywhere and at all hours of the day and night and never had an issue or felt unsafe. The door may be shut after hours but a quick buzz of the call button gets you in as there is always someone managing the desk.

Breakfast was pretty simple - great cappuccino's or latte's upon request, fruit, breads, meats and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereal and danishes. Exactly what you need to get started.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the4walrus711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookhaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although we were in Florence for only 1 night (which was not long enough), our stay at Hotel Colomba was a very good experience. When we arrived we needed to see a pharmacist. Sabina was on duty and gave us suggestions as to what to ask for and directions to a nearby pharmacy where she knew they spoke English. She also answered questions about our previously bought train tickets and went online to get further information.

The hotel is centrally located, and it was easy to walk to all of the attractions we had on our list. The breakfast selections were good as well. There are also many restaurants in the area.

There is so much to see in Florence that we hope a return trip will be in our future, and we certainly plan to return to Hotel Colomba.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250lovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September. It is ideally located just outside the centre but only a short walk to the Duomo and the the other major attractions. Plus there were many good restaurants close by as well. The hotel seemed a little outdated when we first arrived but any fears we had were put to rest. Our room was clean, comfortable and fairly spacious, although the view from our window overlooking an inner courtyard wasn't too glamourous.
The most enjoyable thing about staying in this hotel though was our hosts, Michele and his wife Rosanna, an expat Australian, and the other staff member Sabina. Rosanna was fantastic and she made us feel like we were staying with an old friend back in Australia. They were all extremely helpful especially when I hurt my knee, by supplying ice packs and doctors contact details. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We sent a group of 25+1 people to this hotel in early October 2013 for 3 nights. We started contact with hotel from March and have sent out hundreds of emails from checking all the details to buying museum tickets or restaurants reservation etc. Some are hotel’s issue but some are not. Surprisingly, hotel staff Sabina is so helpful!! She is my angel helping me solving all kinds of questions. We successfully bought Uffize tickets and ate Bistecca alla Fiorentina (famous huge steak) and enjoy other good restaurants. It’s all because Sabina’s help!!

We got thank you email from the organizer of this group. She is very happy with Hotel Colombas’ services!! (Everybody should!!) They feel at home and the owner just like 'family' , very friendly and hard working! Great location and nice coffee too. If 100 is the best score, she gives Hotel Colomba '101'.

Me either, I rate the hotel 6 star for everything they have done!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaipeiGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, ME
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We loved this hotel, it was right in between the Statue of David, the Duomo and the markets, 5 or 10 minutes walk to everything. The hotel room was bigger than most we had in Italy, and the price was very good. It is on the second floor, and I have seen some people complain about the steps up and the old elevator, but really, this is a 500-year old building, and you have to expect to do some walking and climbing to see authentic Italy. Breakfast was simple but fine. Sabina was very helpful, marking up a map with all of the local highlights on our arrival so we didn't have to hunt much, and giving us tips on how to get tickets to some of the museums that can be hard to get into. There were always staff there when we returned and departed, and we felt very safe there. We would stay there again if/when we go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#81 of 422 in Florence
363 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
487 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#76 of 422 in Florence
572 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing