We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine hospitality in the centre of Florence”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #78 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel Colomba is a small family run hotel in the centre of Florence with spacious rooms, great breakfasts and genuine hospitality. Rosanna was very welcoming and was able to accommodate an extra guest in our party at short notice. The hotel is close to shopping, markets, the Duomo, galleries. It will be our first choice for accommodation next time we are in Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assunta_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is all about the service and location. The family who runs it is lovely. They are so accommodating and helpful. The rooms were spacious. There was air conditioning and the rooms were clean. We are a family of four (with two small kids 3 and 6). We were very comfortable in one room with one king bed and one twin bed.

The hotel is located in a great location - walking distance to the town center. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Prior to arriving in Florence, I reached out to the hotel for advice, suggestions and recommendations. Without any delay, RosaAnna was quick to respond, with great English (always helps) and helped my husband and I on having a wonderful 4 days in Florence. In addition, my husband secretly worked with Rosanna in obtaining some champagne and flowers to be awaiting for me when I arrived in the room (as it was my 30th birthday). It was super sweet and they both did a great job.

The hotel is located literally 5 minute walk to the duomo and the main shopping/attractions. We also had Rosanna help us finding a laundromat which was quick and easy. She recommended eating at trattoria San Lorenzo which was the best meal we had in Florence.

The room was huge. We had teeny rooms all cities prior but this one was big. No frills, just bed, desk, closet and a nice bathroom to get what you need to do done. The housekeeping was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a selection of pastries, coffees and cappuccinos, fruit, yogurt, cereal and eggs. All we needed to get ready for the day. Overall I recommend going to Florence and staying at hotel colomba. Ciao Rosanna from San Diego!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Apascucci3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Don't look for something else. If you come to Florence by train or bus, then go for COLOMBA. It is a 15 min walk or 5 min by taxi. First you discover this is a palace with a hotel at first floor and another hotel at the second floor. But there is a tiny elevator. This is not suitable for car trips, anyway your car is useless in florence. It has ~12 rooms, spacious enough, very clean. Breakfast is not rich but good. Silent rooms, so you could sleep well. Major thing is location, 5 min walk to the dome, you could say you are in the heart of Florence. Very good prices. Very helpful staff. TRY IT.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Colomba's owner is Australian-Italian, and she uses her perfect English to the advantage of her English-speaking guests. There was some uncertainty about the actual entrance to the hotel from the street--it shares an entry with another hotel and an art exhibit. But take the tiny elevator up one level, and you will be deposited at the reception desk. Others have commented on the desirability of the courtyard rooms, and the two couples we were with had those. However, we quite enjoyed our room directly across from the reception desk, and facing the street. Indeed, we did hear the traffic noise, but that's only because we elected to have an open window to enjoy the city sounds. The sounds of a horse-drawn carriage were a treat! Clean room, fabulous waffle-weave, absorbent towels, and a spacious room were some favorite details. Breakfast was grand--so many choices! Staff helpful, and the owner sent us to an excellent quiet restaurant that offered an exquisite seafood meal. For all these reasons, and also because of the excellent location near The Duomo and The Acadamie, we would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just returned from our holiday in Italy. We stayed at the Hotel Colomba and loved it. The people there were warm and welcoming. They helped us get museum reservations as well as being helpful with suggestions for restaurants and directions when we needed them.
The hotel is well situated. We were able to walk everywhere.Our room was comfortable, clean and the bathroom was well laid out. Thanks everyone for helping to make this vacation so memorable!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in October and it is a great location for walking to the Duomo, Accademia and the market area. The staff is great and offered map with out asking and marking all the sites in walking distance of hotel. The receptionist notice that my husband was having trouble with a swollen knee and placed us in a room near the lift to avoid extra steps. Iced bag was provided at night . Such helpful and friendly staff makes this hotel a must when visiting Florence.
Breakfast is plentiful with meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, cereal, hard cooked eggs, danishes and great cappuccino's. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joy76Naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#87 of 410 in Florence
427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 410 in Florence
892 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 410 in Florence
1,060 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £46 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing