We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #73 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice clean friendly hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very nice, clean and family lead hotel in the heart of the center. The location is absolutely perfect, only 5 min walk from the cathedral. The rooms are simple, but very clean and with very comfortable beds. The hotel is extremely quiet. The family who owns the hotel is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is rich and delicious. We were there for two nights and were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yviroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    354
    84
    19
    5
See reviews for
340
491
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very enjoyable five day stay at Hotel Colomba. Hotel is situated very close to all the main landmarks, museums and galleries of Florence. Staff at the hotel are extremely pleasant and make you feel at home as soon as you walk in. Unlike most hotel rooms on city centres, our room at Hotel Colomba was very large and spacious. Although furniture and style are quite dated, all amenities are found in the room - including a mini bar, satellite TV,etc. The room was also one of the cleanest rooms I've ever been in when travelling abroad with lovely white linen and equally white towels.

Breakfast was basic yet always very fresh. It included cereals, fruits, ham, cheeses,yoghurt, pastries, juices and lovely unlimited capuccinos!

Staff was extremely helpful when I encountered a small problem with my luggage and recommended a specific shop where I could purchase what I required.

Together with my wife we highly recommend staying at Hotel Colomba when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room not too close to the reception area since occasionally it may get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I really would like to thank for a wonderful time that we spent at Firenze – and it was also because we stayed at Hotel Colomba. The staff was excellent – very nice and helpful. We mainly appreciate the personal approach which we prefer more than being “a number” in a big hotel.. The breakfast was great and they do very good coffee. We could recommend this hotel to everybody who prefer the home atmosphere more than a “luxury mirrors”. Rooms were clean, and the hotel is only 5 minutes from Duomo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd floor. Very quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namasnbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and staff of this hotel. The location was excellent. Breakfast was a help-yourself buffet that was full of delicious produce.

Our room was clean but mediocre, which is why I have not rated it excellent. It was value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victor_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Colomba, and very much enjoyed our stay there. Great value for money, convenient location to tourist sites, staff friendliness and helpfulness - all were top notch. The kind staff helped us to book a day trip to Siena and San Gimignano (including lunch at a Tuscan winery), and that was a lovely relaxing way to spend a day. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, coffee was great, and the bed was comfortable. Thanks for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I wanted to bring my husband to this hotel as my mother and I had a great time here in 2012 for 5 nights. We stayed for one night this past weekend for the Taste festival. The staff were friendly and welcoming as ever. We were given a triple room with a king bed which was comfortable and large. We had a balcony as well looking over an inner courtyard, which was nice and had a cute lemon tree on it. It was a bit chilly to sit outside for long so we didn't use it much. Don't by thrown off by the strange location, the hotel is one floor of an old palace, above the Leonardo DaVinci museum and cafe.

This hotel is small but affordable and the location can't be beat. We paid 80 euros for one night, only 1.5 blocks from the Duomo and San Lorenzo Market. One of my favourite things about Florence is how walkable the downtown is, and this hotel is right downtown. It is also 2 blocks from the Accademia where David is kept. The rooms are large for Italian standards and have large showers, which is really nice when you're tall like us, or like to reach to wash your feet or shave your legs (not always an easy task in Italian showers). The mini bar is cheap and stocked, so you can have water, beer, or a soft drink when you arrive and are thirsty.

We arrived with our car and were happy to hear that the garage staff actually come take your car for you. We paid 23 euros for 24 hours for our small car, which is affordable in Florence. The drive to the hotel isn't easy if you're new to Italian driving, we are old hats at this point so it felt easy to us. It is within the traffic limited zone but the garage puts your name on a list so you are allowed to drive to enter and leave. If you have a good map or GPS you'll do fine.

The breakfast is tasty and includes fresh pastries, hard boiled eggs, jams, cheese, meats, cereals, yogurt, and fruit. Oh, and fresh brewed coffee and tea. This is usual for Italy and is very filling. The staff speak English and apparently a lot of other languages as well. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, the staff are charming and it is perfect to explore Florence from. I strongly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianInItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I recently spent 3 mights at Hotel Colomba. It was the perfect base to explore Florence, located very centrally just north of the Duomo. The staff are really friendly and were ready to help with anything we needed. They provided us a map and highlighted the location of the hotel to the various sites and also called a restaurant for us to make a reservation. Breakfast was good with lots of choice - continental selection of breads, ham, cheese and pastries, as well as cereals, yoghurt and fruit. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and all the usual toiletries which is handy if travelling hand-luggage only. The hotel was very clean and exactly what we needed to crash after a long day wandering around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125ChristinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#81 of 422 in Florence
362 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#78 of 422 in Florence
572 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing