We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...not much more”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #74 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location...not much more”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly located 2 blocks from the duomo, David, and market, however, I struggle to call it a hotel. It is located on the second floor of a building and our quad room was literally across from the front desk. The room was a decent size and clean, but the amenities were minimal and the air conditioning struggled to keep the room comfortable during our unseasonably warm stay (95+ degrees). The bathroom was also very small with little place to store toiletries. The breakfast was only OK although the made-to-order coffee was good. Roseanne was very nice. Overall, we were disappointed in this 3-star "hotel." It just didn't compare to the 3-star hotel we stayed in while in Rome which offered so much more -- a rooftop terrace, great air conditioning, dark, quiet rooms with coffee service, large bathroom, great breakfast, very pleasant and helpful staff, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMom201108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    359
    86
    20
    5
See reviews for
344
496
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for exploring old Florence, an easy fifteen minute walk from the train station. The hotel is family-owned, friendly, and very well run. We arrived quite early, but they had a place for us to leave our bags, which we waiting for us in our room when we returned to the hotel. Our room was quiet, relatively spacious, and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet was very well organized, plentiful, and calm, probably reflecting the attitude of the remarkable woman who keeps it all together. Everyone who worked there was helpful and friendly. WiFi was a little unpredictable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MinersDaughter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a great time staying in Florence and it was helped by the lovely staff of Hotel Colomba. Very helpful with advice and finding great places. The hotel is very comfortable and private rooms with great beds. I look forward to staying there again when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Love the rooms with a view of the courtyards and rooftops of Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnioDiMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at the hotel and found it very convenient for all major sites. The hotel owner, Roseanne, was very helpful and welcoming and all the staff were very pleasant and friendly. I am always slightly concerned when abroad as continental breakfasts often include sweet pastries and plenty of carbohydrate food. However, there was ample choice of cereal, fruit and boiled egg which made me feel quite replenished. My husband was very impressed with the cappuccino and felt it was the best he had ever tasted. Our room was large and spacious - the only down side was the size of the ensuite, primarily the doorway which made entry difficult. The hotel was very clean and the lift was very welcome after a long day walking. We particularly liked the addition of a fridge in our room which was great for keeping drinks cold. (If we had been more organised we could have bought cold meats to make sandwiches for lunch and kept in said fridge). We would go back again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 which was quiet. But the doorway to the ensuite is narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandJulie_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel Colomba is perfectly situated just a couple of blocks from the Duomo and a short walk to every other major site in Florence. The breakfast was satisfying, consisting of hard-boiled eggs, cereal, rolls, cheese, juices, and made-to-order coffee. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. They helped us plan our routes to various sites and even helped us book an afternoon tour in the Chianti region. Great location, service, and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here due the ratings, which I disagree with now. The lady who runs it is wonderful, Rosanne. She is quite helpful and charming. However during our stay the man who I assume is her husband was usually in what is considered the dining room with his friends and we felt as if we were imposing. Hence the B&B comment. We felt we could not order a coffee which was available during the day as we would be interrupting. The location is excellent, the breakfast is ok. The coffee is superb. The room was fine, however we could not figure out the TV nor could the afore mentioned gentleman in the evening. It should be known before you stay there that the owners use the kitchen as a home kitchen and serve their own meals during the day in the hotel dining room. Their prerogative as they own it but not what I was expecting in a "hotel". Awkward. We also smelled smoke as it appears smoking is allowed, perhaps by visitors or staff, despite the No Smoking sign by the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downundernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel during a 9 day tour of Italy. It is a basic, nice hotel with excellent and friendly customer service. It is 2 blocks away from the Duomo and 2 blocks from The David which makes it a perfect spot in Florence.

The breakfast was basic with bagels, boiled eggs, juices, and various cheeses. The staff will make you coffee or cappuccino and they are very attentive.

If you like quaint and pleasant service, this will be a good place for you. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#81 of 411 in Florence
376 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#78 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing