We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly staff puts this one over the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #63 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“The friendly staff puts this one over the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Having travelled in Europe before, I know hotels are a gamble. The pictures don't tell the whole story and there's always something I wish I'd known before I booked. The Hotel Colomba is no exception - you can't tell from the literature or website how clean, comfortable, and convenient it is. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted warmly, checked in, and shown to Room 8; two singles with a view of a small courtyard.

The room had a wardrobe, television with SKY tv, a desk, luggage stand (big enough for two carry-on suitcases), two nightstands and a stocked mini-fridge. The bathroom was HUGE by European standards, but I think we got a handicap-accessible room. The beds were a little firm for my friend's taste, but I was completely comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean every day and perfectly maintained; the owner's husband Michael even replaced our broken shower head before we remembered to report it!

The remote-controlled AC was a cool comfort after a day of shopping and sight seeing, for which we were perfectly located. The leather market is around the corner, the Piazza Duomo down the street to the right and little shops and restaurants everywhere.

But the best part of the stay is by far the proprietor and her husband; they are so warm, friendly and personable that they made a good stay into a great one. Rosanna greeted us every morning with a genuine smile and a coffee to order, and was happy to recommend restaurants and give advice on what to see. I don't think I've ever felt so at home away from home!

If you plan to visit Florence, you can't go wrong with Hotel Colomba. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axisgrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    342
    79
    19
    5
See reviews for
333
478
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

The Hotel Colomba is a real gem...a wonderful experience for me, my husband and our two children (both in their early 20's). We felt at home right away, thanks to proprietors Rosanna and husband Michael and their friendly staff. Any time we needed advice or special service, they were there to help us. Breakfast was excellent (lots of choices...from muesli to hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, prosciutto, cheese, pastries, yogurt, and delicious cappuccino or other coffee made to order). The hotel is centrally located so it's easy to walk to all the main attractions of Florence (the Uffizi, the Accademia, the Duomo and lots more). There are so many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. And, it's only a short walk from the train station. Our rooms were large, comfortable and clean, and air-conditioned.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveler061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

I was very pleased with Hotel Colomba. I wasn't sure how it would be from the pictures I saw posted. These pictures do not do the rooms justice. We had a great size room with a double bed and a twin. A full bath, safe, and a/c. My husband was really excited that they had SKY tv so we could watch some American tv during our stay. The owners couldn't have been any nicer. They were so helpful and even let us store our bags before our train. The location was great. Really close to Duomo and the Academia. Not to mention the best gelato shop just a block away!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I had to laugh when I read the last review--it was my experience exactly! My first impression of Florence driving in from the airport and pulling up to the hotel was that I had never seen a shabbier, dirtier, more graffiti ridden place in my life. It was with a heavy heart and the thought, "Oh my gosh what have I gotten into?" that I climbed the stairs up to the Hotel Colomba. But the gracious, helpful hosts and the spotlessly clean room and bathroom saved the day! I loved this place, the great location, the generous breakfasts but especially the warm and helpful hosts. We had tickets for the Academia the next day and when we called to confirm our tour the tour company didn't have our reservation! Our hostess took the matter in hand at once, talked to the company, faxed them copies of our vouchers and had the whole thing straightened out in 5 minutes! She also called our B&B hostess in the Cinque Terre and made sure there would be someone to meet us when we arrived at our next destination. The people here were so friendly and nice, and I loved the accomodations so much--it really went a long way in giving me a more positive experience in Florence. But the graffiti--even the walls of the Academia where the David resides is covered with it. But again, I have nothing but warm memories of our stay at the Hotel Colomba, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Florence--just a lovely experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Let's get the negative first impressions out of the way first! The hotel is located on a busy, dirty street and the entrance is dingy and grimy: you take a small elevator up several flights to Colomba, where we got out to see a stained carpet and fluorescent lighting. The heart sinks.

However--once we got in, the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Yes, it is simply furnished and has a bit of a hostel/dormitory feel, but I never stayed in a hostel with private bath, TV, and free internet. The owners were charming and extremely helpful with questions and all sorts of odds and ends. Breakfast was substantial. It's a very short walk to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and other sights and museums. We had a pleasant stay.

If you drive, as we did, there are a couple of garages nearby. We opted for valet service, which made life much easier.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WeRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale, arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

My sister and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Colomba. The hotel was within walking distance of the main train station, although it was a bit of a hike. The location was excellent, near the Duomo, markets and all the main sights. I can't say enough about how accomodating, friendly and gracious the owner and her staff were. One of the women who worked there was even kind enough to empty out a box of supplies so that I could use it to bring home my purchases. The rooms were clean and spacious; the air conditioning worked well and free use of a computer with internet was provided. Breakfast was wonderful and included cereal, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, meat, cheese, pastries, juice and coffee. The only negative was a small shower with limited water pressure, but this is a mere quibble. Overall value was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

you couldnt ask for nicer, geneorous or more helpful hosts. I injured my ankle, the son was sent out to buy cream and bandages and she wouldnt let me pay a cent. The location is perfect, the views are amazing including il duomo.

Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank margstar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#73 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing