We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and economical”
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #60 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and economical”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Good location, close to numerous sites of interest and central to town, also near the train station. Very friendly staff, always cheerful and happy to help. Rooms very reasonable, nothing flash or fancy but above the 3* hotel rating and excellent for the price. Breakfast 7-10am included and also a free drink in the evening with simple nibbles. Very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 209 which is one of the larger ones, at the end of a corridor (presumably therefore q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear JF564, thanks a lot for sharing your positive experience with Tripadvisor's public, it is very important to us! We always look forward to improve our services and keep working hard to reach our goals.
Wishing you an Happy 2014,

Best regard,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    426
    105
    54
    12
See reviews for
205
491
99
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Florence. We stayed here for 6 nights for a conference. The people is very nice, they change towels and clean room everyday. We stay in the room # 209 which is BIG and quite. Location very convenient to restaurant and main attractions. They can print any documents for you. You only need to send them an email, and they will print and bring it to your room. I can never expect more. You got more than you paid for!

Room Tip: Room number 209 is BIG
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Bowen Z, thank you for sharing you experience, the only comment that fits at the moment is ...WOW!! These reviews are a great reward for us, really!

Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Situated on a tiny pedestrian side street only 5 minutes by foot from the train station, and surrounded by restarants and small shops, the Globus Hotel is very conveniently located. It is by no means impressive in terms of it's physical size (lobby or dining room), though our room was comfortably large. What was most exceptional was the unusal warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness of the staff. During the 3 days we stayed at the Globus, Nicolas, Sarah and Luca made us feel right at home and cheerfully attended every request or question we had, almost as though we were cherished guests in their own personal home. For this alone, I am happy the recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear dianar_10, thank for your review, we believe that human factor in hotel business is really important, probably as important as cleanliness and functionality. And it is even more important when an hotel doesn't have have big spaces because of the very central location in an historical side of on old city. The good reviews our staff constantly receive makes us very proud of them.
Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were very fortunate to find this hotel. It is five minutes from train station, and close of many major attractions. The room was nice and clean. The staff were simply wonderful, very helpful in helping us find locations and restaurants. Breakfast room very good, again with friendly staff. Only issue was finding hotel as it is on a street that only allows pedestrians (not unusual in Europe), and we had rental car and could not get to hotel to drop off luggage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Casperkid,

We would like to thank you very much for your stay and for your words of appreciation. We are very glad that our staff and services were to your liking and that you had good time in Florence overall.

You are also right about our street – it’s almost exclusively pedestrian, which has its charm of course. Fortunately there are two garages very close to our place where you can leave your car, then it’s only a minute walk to reach us.

We’re looking forward to your next visit, please take care!

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms we stayed in were small but provided our essentials. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had difficulty with wifi connectivity having a weak signal to no signal at times. The rooms were clean, windows were double glazed to block out any outside noise and provided a bar fridge and a safe. Breakfast was nice, served until 10am- however on our last day there was only couple slices of bread and boiled eggs left when we sat down at 935am.
What I liked most about the hotel besides the location was the customer service. I personally don't think customer service is a priority in the parts of Europe I've been to compared to home in Australia, but I must say the service here was great! Everyone spoke English well and was accommodating. In particular a young Italian lady who helped us with our stolen luggage from the train. She was very polite and always smiling. Thank you.
I would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phuc I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Everyone here was so kind & helpful. We had to extend our stay in Florence by one night because our luggage was lost and it was to be delivered the next day - our current hotel was booked. Our first hotel was a Marriott, and they were not helpful or friendly. We had to find a hotel on our own and do all the luggage "business" ourselves. When we arrived at HG we were greeted so friendly, i immediately felt so much better about our decision. (I have completely forgot the gentlemans name) The man at the desk was extremely helpful in organizing our trip to the airport, even offered to call himself and talk to the luggage desk... we unfortunately cannot speak Italian... it was just such a delight staying there because of how nice the people there were. we arrived early, our room wasn't ready but he "sped up" the cleaning and we got in within the hour. breakfast was very yummy.. one of the best coffee's we had in Italy to be honest. its in a great location.. walking distance to train station and other great sites. I think staying here helped ease our anxiety about our luggage (we had to spend so much more $$ because it was lost). The room was a good size, but had a very bad smell to it. however, I felt Florence in general smelled because of the rain. we didn't mind too much because we were only there for one night. maybe if we were there longer, we may have complained about the smell. having said that, i would definitely stay here if I was to come to Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Phanatics,

thank you very much for your kind and complete review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, our staff, our location and our coffee. We are very happy toy choose Hotel Globus for your extra day n Florence! Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent short walk from the station and only a short distance from the cathedral within walking distance of all the major attractions. The staff are friendly and fall over themselves to be helpful. Our room was small and from taking to other guests during the free happy hour a lot of the rooms are on the small side, that said it was immaculately clean and well appointed. If you intend spending a lot of time in your room this is not the hotel for you but if you intend to 'walk' florence and want somewhere clean, comfortable, friendly and above all convenient you will find Globus hard to beat, would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Rob W, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We are very proud to hear that you appreciated our location, services and happy hour, about the size of the room, yes, our economy rooms are on the smallest side, but we do have also Standard Rooms and Superior rooms in particular that have plenty of space for guest who wish to spend more time in their room. We really hope to have a chance to welcome you in Florence again some time.
Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
486 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#66 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Property: Hotel Globus
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#104 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing