We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #21 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great location, rooms, staff, breakfast cappuccino - truly luxurious and a treat! Serena and hotel owner offered great recommendations for restaurants, and were very accommodating in making the reservations.

Room Tip: We had a room will the walls covered in frescos - very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    38
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
228
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I would not consider staying anywhere else now I have been to Palazzo Niccolini!! Amazing place.

I grabbed a handful of business cards in expectation that I would recommend this place to everyone visiting.

A complimentary upgrade on arrival started things on a great footing.

There were no tasteless modern furnishings - all the decor oozed a subtle, worn, aristocratic sophistication. I even loved the mint-green bathroom...1950s...

The location ended-up being ideal - we had no prior experience. Very central for both art/cultural and for food/entertainment.

Charming staff and the hostess (very helpful). This really is staying in someone's private palace, and therefore the recommedations are really to be trusted.

Wonderful. I cannot wait to return...

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can...wholly justifiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Niccolini for two nights in January 2013 & had a wonderful time. Since the hotel was not fully booked we were offered several perks that you may not be offered in high season (room upgrade with a choice of room, possibility for late check out) but the "standards" were still great. The rooms are just as nice as the photographs - clean, well appointed and full of Florentine charm. The staff was very polite & helpful - we booked tours through them. The location is just as described: right off the piazza duomo. We are "expert" travellers in Italy (my husband is Italian & I lived in Italy for many years) and after seeing many hotels there we can whole heartily recommend Palazzo Niccolini as a great local find & cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spometti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Palazzo Niccolini was perfect in every aspect. We were treated as if the palazzo was our home which is such a truly unique experience. We would definitely return and stay at the Palazzo Niccolini upon future visits to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I chose this "hotel" based on previous reviews. Given that we love arts and at this hotel it's possible to stay in a room painted with 18th-century frescoes it was not a hard choice. Upfront they were very helpful with arranging a visit to the Vasari Corridor (very recommendable tour: but it a) lasts 3 hours and b) you need to like arts otherwise it's not so interesting i guess) and reservations in restaurants.
Everything at the hotel was top, the staff is very helpful, discrete. The premises can't be topped. Breakfast (in december mostly on our own) in a frescoed hall. Very good buffet with fruits, cereals, cakes, cheese, breads etc.
When we'll go to Florence again we will only stay at this hotel again.
Everything can be reached on foot (Piazza della Signoria/Uffizi is 10 minutes, Accademia 10, Palazzo Pitti 20), we never stepped a foot on a bus...

Room Tip: Rooms are generally on the 2nd floor. The street is only accessable for taxis so very quiet. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andre_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Wonderful, wonderful location. Old World Charm; staff friendly; this was a splurge and well worth every penny. Breakfast was wonderful - we were late one morning and staff held food for us. Wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiosamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I'm not sure if the reviewer before me didn't have the right expectations but we stayed in the same room and really enjoyed it. True, this is not a classic hotel, but if want that there are plenty of those around...if you're looking, however, for a luxurious experience and an authentic Florentine palazzo then this is it.

The room, #9, is spectacular...great views, and yes, limited furniture, but this is not your family room or den back home. As they say, when in Florence....the breakfast while extra for hot items is very good. The young lady who prepares it is extremely professional and very helpful. We arrived very late, thanks to Alitalia- don't fly them, awful airline- but I digress. The staff greeted us cheerfully and got us into our room. I had an injured ankle, again thanks Alitalia, and needed ice and a wheelchair...the staff got both for me without any question.

The location is a bit noisy especially on a weekend night, but we had the windows open, so if you closed them up, you could easily sleep late. We actually did eat in the room several times without any issue. They even served our breakfast to us in the room and brought it up on a silver platter!

All in all a very nice stay...I would have given 5 stars but I think the price was a little high for the experience..I.e., the value. ( room was around $500 a night ).

PS..we'd highly recco tour guide Paola Migliorini ...she was awesome and made the trip extra special...and she saw our room and commented, " now this is Florence!" www.florencetour.com

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
974 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,489 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 411 in Florence
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Property: Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing