We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of the Trip - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #16 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed at the Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo for three days in mid-June. This is a small hotel that is located right in the center of Florence, on Via dei Servi, and immediately adjacent to al Duomo. Simply put, it was a highlight of my 10-day trip to Italy. I stayed in room 7 on the third floor. As you enter the room, there is a small staircase that leads up to into the sitting room. It has high ceilings, accented with exposed beams. There are huge windows on three sides of the room which afford a view of Florence and the countryside beyond. The most dramatic aspect of the view is al Duomo; you’re so close looms dramatically over the room (see pictures). The space is rounded out by a bedroom and bath off the main room. The bedroom is good size with a large amount of storage. The bathroom was fairly small, but worked perfectly for me. Finally, and surprisingly, on a raised area in the sitting room (accessed via another small staircase) there is a circular jacuzzi tub! So, at night, you can raise all of your shades (motorized, via remote), and sit in the tub drinking wine and gazing at the illuminated dome! Amazing!

The staff of the hotel is outstanding. Every morning at breakfast, there was a very sweet lady who made sure that everyone had what they needed. She also made outstanding cappuccinos. In addition, every morning, I checked my intended destination(s) with the front desk staff. They are outstanding! And, a bonus of the location was that everything was a short walk away. The only time I needed a taxi in Florence was to head to the (nearby) airport.

I cannot recommend Palazzo Niccolini highly enough!

Room Tip: Room 7 is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were thrilled with the beautiful accommodations, friendly service and perfect location. Although it is situated close to the Duomo, there is little evidence of noise or traffic. We highly recommend this lovely Palazzo.
We had an apartment which was very convenient for business meetings. In addition, a family would be very comfortable in this space.

Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerhill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We arrived into Florence by car (one of our favourite cities in the world). Parked in a parking station outside of town and caught the little bus into our accommodation. A short walk down cobble stoned streets was necessary, but we all managed even with the luggage – kids included. We booked a taxi for the return journey through reception. Location – OMG! You could not get any closer to the centre of Florence unless you were sleeping in the Duomo itself! Felt very safe and secure here. Help was on hand to get luggage up the stairs. Reception was not on the ground floor. There was a small lift which we did not use. I think we had room 10. A double with a bathroom, plus a twin with another bathroom and another small double with another bathroom, a small lounge included also, could not have asked for more. Beautifully decorated!! Felt very much like you would expect Italy to feel. Gorgeous breakfast room (felt like we were in a palace), lovely breakfast included. Think the Niccolini has it’s own restaurant which unfortunately we did not dine in. But once you exit the building through the archway, turn left to head to the Duomo and on the corner is a fantastic restaurant serving yummy meals for great prices with entertaining staff :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Hard to reach once you enter Florence, but once you reach there you will not want to leave! The hotel is right in the city center, just off one of the streets leading to the Duomo. An excellent place to stay & visit the historical center.

The hotel itself is small but palatial. The rooms are large & have historic settings, with frescos & vintage furniture. Each room is differently decorated, but all of them like palace rooms from the past.

There is parking available on the property, although not too many spots. There are parking garages nearby so thats not a big deal. You are right in the city historical center so nothing is far away. There is plenty to see, shop & eat, all at walking distance. Price may seem high, but thats the price you pay to stay in a palace in the heart of Florence!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masifk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for three nights at Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The breakfast was wonderful and served in a beautiful palatial room. Our room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. The staff was so kind and always very helpful with anything that we asked of them. They were able to help us with tickets for the Uffizi and the Accademia as well as many other things. When you leave the hotel, you immediately see the beautiful Duomo. Restaurants, museums and shops were close by, all within walking distance. We would stay here again in a minute. I am so glad that we chose the Palazzo Niccloini al Duomo for our stay, and had the opportunity to experience this charming and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This lovely hotel is magnificent. We felt like we were staying in a beautiful palace. It is centrally located and within walking distance of the train station. The staff tried to accommodate our every need. The breakfast was delicious and was served in a lovely parlor. There was a computer for the use of the guests as well as internet access in all of the rooms. It was certainly a very positive experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeGirl2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed three nights recently at the Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo in Florence. It is located directly behind the Duomo in an old palace, and it is accessed on a side street named Via Dei Servi. The owner and staff were wonderful, and they upgraded us from a room to an apartment that had three rooms. The breakfast service comes with the rent, and the folks at the counter will help with anything you need. Give them 48 hours notice for just about any attraction, and they will likely be able to arrange it for you. A highlight for us was a trip that the hotel arranged with a private driver and guide, who took us out into the country to visit Villa Corsini, where we enjoyed a four course 'home cooked' meal, tastings and tour. The staff also helped with restaurant suggestions, and we were happily surprised. The bed was extraordinary too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
545 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 410 in Florence
1,003 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 410 in Florence
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £155 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing