We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #21 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a fantastic discovery for me. First, imagine stepping out the door of your boutique hotel and onto a cobblestone street, staring right up at Santa Maria del Fiore, the towering Renaissance cathedral that is the defining feature of this magnificent city of Florence. Second, imagine a beautiful, quiet, clean, stylish, classy boutique hotel that caters to you individually. The Palazzo Niccolini has become one of my all-time favorite places to stay. This hotel is more like a bed and breakfast, but with the classiness of a Ritz! Absolutely sparkling clean, quiet (thanks to double windows), and well run. Every night expect to find a lovely poem on your pillow; every morning there is a healthy and delicious, fresh breakfast to start your day of touring. Centrally located so most attractions are a 5 minute walk away. I cannot say enough great things about this place! I cannt wait to return! I won't stay anywhere else in Florence. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    38
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
228
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I travel often to Florence from New York and Hollywood for both work and pleasure. The Palazzo Niccolini is utterly fantastic, charming, original, historic, lovely. The staff is fabulous and friendly. If you want an authentic, intimate Florentine stay in town, you can't do better than the Palazzo Niccolini and the location is superb. Stay here if you can, it is superb. And the beds are heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-Goldstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Although a very cool location, we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while visiting my daughter in Florence and was disappointed with our stay. Knowing we would be staying in a 500 year old palace we expected some things but there was a horrible smell every night that almost caused us to try to find another place to stay, even though we had prepaid our visit. The history of the place is awesome, but they need to work on guest services. The woman who was at the desk most days was very aloof and unhelpful. Never a friendly greeting, we almost felt like we were bothering her by being there. The woman who did the cleaning and the kitchen was lovely and friendly but I would say customer service needs some attention.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niccolini, Proprietario at Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I am very sad you were disappointed with your stay.
We had an issue on which our plumber had to investigate for some time before he could find the cause of it. The problem we had that week was, indeed, unusually strong and, even if everything is now fortunately solved, I am extremely sorry you had to put up with it during your stay.
I am also very sorry about your comment on our guest service. We always, really put it as a priority to serve guests at our best. We usually succeed and previous reviews are there to provide good evidence of it.
I hope we’ll have another chance to have you as our guest and hopefully to make you change your mind about our services, treating you as wonderfully as we can.
Again, I’m sorry if you didn’t find what you were expecting from us and I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Best wishes,
Ginevra Niccolini di Camugliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
around
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

20 ft high ceilings with frescos, Windows overlooking the Duomo. Large bathroom and bedroom. Antiques. Charming breakfast room. Great service. Special treat if you want to feel like you are experiencing Florence in another era (but modern comforts).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with frescos. We had room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarudaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is a beautiful palace just steps from the Duomo. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. Breakfast had many delicious choices and we loved the tea at night. Our only criticism was that it is so majestic that we felt a bit unworthy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this palazzo in Florence for five nights in October 2013. The inn is lovely and cozy. Our suite was furnished with many antiques evocative of the inn's age and history. The rooms were immaculately clean. The bed and bed linens were inviting and comfortable. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and speak excellent English, which is very helpful as they were able to recommend restaurants as well as resolve several rental car issues with our car rental agency. The location is incredible---you walk out the door, turn left, and there is the Duomo. Every museum or sight that you will want to visit is within walking distance of this palazzo. The breakfasts were delicious. The dining room hostess is warm and friendly. We highly recommend this palazzo. Unless you are familiar with driving in Florence, we recommend that you take a taxi to this inn and not drive there as it is in the heart of the pedestrian area and requires special permission from the police for access.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoasteratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

On our arrival in florence we were advised by our hotel that they had a plumbing issue with our room. We were taken to Palazzo Niccolini which is located right near the Duomo thinking that we had been taken advantage of. What a fantastic surprise, a beautifully elegant hotel and we are very grateful to have been able to stay there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very substantial. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritaincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
974 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,488 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 411 in Florence
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Property: Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing