We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Palace In Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #10 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Palace In Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Florence was treasured in the Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo Hotel. Our room was upgraded to a gorgeous opulent suite. The rooms were oversized with high vaulted ceilings, elegantly decorated with antiques, and marbled bathroom floors. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Florence-steps from the Florence Cathedral. The hotel was built in the 15th century & has been remodeled into a luxury hotel with all the modern capabilities. The owners who run it provide phenomenal service with a personal approach. The staff contributes an added bonus to the extraordinary experience. I highly recommend staying at this beautiful palace!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
216
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Many good hotels are simply the same all over the world. Palazzo Niccolini instead is different and therefore unique. The difference is in the history. We have been for three days totally immersed in the history of this beautiful old Italian Palazzo, in the history of art (from the windows you feel you could touch the Cathedral!), of literature (every evening a new poem in the room!), of music (you have breakfast surrounded by classic music). Elegance and kindness as way of living. Simply Italy at its best! Thank you!
Giovanni and Ginevra

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful palace in a great location right by the Duomo (and yet quiet).
Very welcoming staff, who upgraded us to a larger room.
Charming room with incredible volumes and very nice deco.
Only the breakfast could be improved (but is good enough already).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Perfection! We stayed 8 wonderful nights in the Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo in late December 2013 & early January 2014. Because we booked almost last-minute, we had an opportunity to stay in different rooms - each more beautiful than the last. The Blue Suite was superb, but the Empire Suite took our breath away. 25 ft ceilings with original frescoes, trompe l'oeil wall panels, antique furniture & immense tall windows that face the great Duomo Cathedral - so close you feel you could reach out & touch the very Renaissance itself.
Big spotless marble bathrooms, separate showers, vast deep bathtubs, excellent toiletries, gleaming towel warmers, big thirsty bathrobes, terrycloth slippers - all so welcome after long walks & pleasant art-filled days.
Crowds thronged the cobble-stone streets outside the walls, but inside was quiet serene beauty.
The multilingual staff were friendly, tremendously helpful & professional. At our request, Maura arranged for a personal professional art guide to take us through the Uffizi Museum.
And every evening, a fresh classic poem on our pillow. So thoughtful....
We are a well-travelled older couple, but this was our first time in Florence. We are already beginning to talk about a return trip.
And we shall of course stay in the beautiful, historic Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo.
LaVerne B

Room Tip: The Blue Suite is like a small private apartment; it has 2 spacious rooms & an enormous marble b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVerne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stunning location! Duomo literally on the doorstep! The palace was like visiting an art museum in itself, beautiful ceilings and walls covered in renaissance art. Beautiful room with exceptionally nice bathroom. Staff solved every problem, you couldn't do better than to plan a trip to Florence using Paulo's advice, also a great help to those who can only speak English. Delicious breakfast in beautiful room, stunning antique furniture. We loved our stay and would love to come back to Florence!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a fantastic discovery for me. First, imagine stepping out the door of your boutique hotel and onto a cobblestone street, staring right up at Santa Maria del Fiore, the towering Renaissance cathedral that is the defining feature of this magnificent city of Florence. Second, imagine a beautiful, quiet, clean, stylish, classy boutique hotel that caters to you individually. The Palazzo Niccolini has become one of my all-time favorite places to stay. This hotel is more like a bed and breakfast, but with the classiness of a Ritz! Absolutely sparkling clean, quiet (thanks to double windows), and well run. Every night expect to find a lovely poem on your pillow; every morning there is a healthy and delicious, fresh breakfast to start your day of touring. Centrally located so most attractions are a 5 minute walk away. I cannot say enough great things about this place! I cannt wait to return! I won't stay anywhere else in Florence. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I travel often to Florence from New York and Hollywood for both work and pleasure. The Palazzo Niccolini is utterly fantastic, charming, original, historic, lovely. The staff is fabulous and friendly. If you want an authentic, intimate Florentine stay in town, you can't do better than the Palazzo Niccolini and the location is superb. Stay here if you can, it is superb. And the beds are heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-Goldstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Property: Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing