We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ruspoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Ruspoli
Ranked #92 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a classic building and located close to the duomo and 15 min walk to the main train station, and close to everything else too. The room was big, and although the shower was a bit small, but it was acceptable though. The breakfast was a bit disappointing though with limited selection of food. The customer service was great, and the lady at the reception was kindly enough to show us where to get sightseeing bus tickets and other touristy things. Overal it was a good experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    159
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
62
180
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great location, the best part of the Palazzo Ruspoli! To start, the bedroom is very large which is nice but the bathroom/shower is awful. We had a problem with the bed as the mattress was caving in but they were helpful and changed the frame for us which we appreciated. Being a Canadian, we found the staff to be very cold! Reading the reviews, it sounds like the rooms on the 4th floor are better. Room 301 is where we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Palazzo Ruspoli with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We do apologize if our mattress (Premium Quality by Simmons) did not meet your expectations; this could be very personal. We are happy to learn that you found our staff to be proactively helpful to find a way to meet your expectations.

I am also sorry that you didn’t like the bathroom/shower; from the picture you posted may be you thought that the shower was broken? That the shower cabin is not broken is simply suitable for disabled people.

I know that your have been offered to move to another rooms and that you did not accept it.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Palazzo Ruspoli
Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our journey through Italy. At first we struggled to find the hotel as it is only accessible through a large wooden door which is locked when reception is closed. The hotel was small and clean. Our room was very large and had large windows that looked right out at the Duomo (main attraction in Florence). The hotel is on a busy central street but the noise never seemed to be an issue. We never needed to take a taxi as everything was on our doorstep. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. My only complaint would be the lack of atmosphere in the dining room. Tables are close together and as the hotel is small it was very quiet eating breakfast. Some music would have be beneficial. All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

In hindsight I guess we should have known something was not right when we arrived in our room and all the windows were open with the a/c on in the middle of summer! The room is big by European standards and the location could not be better. Unfortunately the Sewer gas smell coming from the bathroom ruined this stay. The staff from the "sister" hotel tried to remidy the problem but only managed to mask the stench for a little while. It built up so bad that we had to open all the windows and close the bathroom door. At check out we let the hostess know about our problem and her only response was "ok, I will let someone know about it". Stay away unless you like the stench of sewer gas.

Room Tip: Stay at a location that has full time staff onsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frijoleros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our B&B Palazzo Ruspoli.
We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience of the sewer gas smell. We proceeded to communicate to the technical department the problem and to solve it, unfortunately after Your departure. We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the bad attitude that the hostess showed at Your check out .
We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service. Please feel free to refer to this review if you are travelling to Florence again. Once again please do accept our apologies and we do hope that the remainder of your trip to Florence was almost enjoyable.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I've stayed here twice and have not been disappointed. First visit was with my eleven year old niece and we really loved everything about the hotel. As all of the other reviewers mentioned, the location is ideal. One can literally open the window and see the Duomo across the street. You can almost reach out and touch it. The rooms are very clean, the bathroom immaculate, and breakfast more than adequate.

My second visit was with a friend and we were staying one night in town as I had rented a villa near Arezzo and wanted to do a few things in Florence before heading out to the countryside.

If you are looking for a hotel with a concierge, a place where there is someone at your beck and call at all hours, this isn't the place for you. This is a Hotel/B & B/Inn for the self-sufficient traveler who knows that with a huge staff, one pays a huge price. Yes, getting upstairs is a bit odd, as you are going to the upper floors of an office building, but this IS Europe. Not every hotel is going to be built upon acres of land with huge parking lots, sprawling driveways and nightclubs. This isn't Cancun my friends, don't expect it to be. If you want American amenities, stay in America.

Some reviewers mentioned that the location is noisy, however, I didn't find this to be so. The windows are double glazed and this isn't a rocking part of the city after 9:00 pm. One reviewer even mentioned that she heard the front desk phone calls at all hours, and in the same review mentioned that no one manned the front desk except for a few hours each day. TV in Italian? Hey, you are in Italy! Again, you want TV in English, go to England. What are you doing watching television in Florence? Get our of your room and do something. Even if it is pouring rain, there is always something to do. You want new? Florence isn't the place for you. Florence is the birth of the renaissance, the buildings are OLD. You don't like old, visit Disney.

Really, this is a gem of a property and it is my first choice when staying in Florence. You can stay a bit cheaper, a lot fancier but this is truly a fabulous location, value and property in an amazing city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tamara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have never stayed in a place with such an amazing location. I felt like the entire city of Florence was literally out my window. The Duomo was just steps away. The 15th century feel of the room details while still having a modern bathroom was also a huge plus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Palazzo Ruspoli was the perfect place to stay in Florence, only a few metres from the Duomo we couldn't have found a better location. Our room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with views of the Duomo from our window, we just loved it. The continental buffet breakfast was a bit basic compared to other places we stayed in Italy, but it was sufficient. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Florence, the location just adds that wow factor to this property.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#238 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#184 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#13 of 295 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#33 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ruspoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ruspoli

Property: Palazzo Ruspoli
Address: Via De' Martelli 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ruspoli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palazzo Ruspoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ruspoli Florence
Palazzo Ruspoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing