We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the linens and bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #31 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
lake forest, il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the linens and bathrooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is conveniently located two blocks from the train station in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. When you find the entrance, you wonder why you didn't notice it immediately. The hotel owns a few hotels on the square but all with different names. They also have one up in the hills near the Pitti Palace but that one is a five star hotel with spa (really beautiful).

You will find this hotel to have complicated hallways to get to the rooms. Up and down stairs and the use of different elevators finally got us to the right place. "You can't get there from here" was often used. The rooms are beautifully appointed with great beds, good pillows (which is not the norm in Italy) and beautiful linens. The bathrooms are pristine with lovely towels, marble floors and tubs/showers and all the latest amenities including ear plugs which will be mentioned again in this review. The towel warming racks are great for drying hand washed items over night including jeans.

The disadvantage of this hotel is even though you may think the best rooms are the ones with the view of the piazza, there is one BIG drawback...the pub under our window stays open until 1:00 a.m. and you hear EVERYTHING through your window. Even after it closes, some stragglers will continue to sit in their outdoor seating area and just normal talk goes right in through the closed window. Our daughter had another room right next to ours and she had the same problem, only solved by the use of ear plugs by both of us.

The breakfast was limited but nice, fresh and hot. You could make it into a really good meal. The employees were outstanding, acting as not only hoteliers, but as tour guides and able to locate anything for you and call for reservations. We even used their free shuttle to their sister hotel, Grand Hotel Villacora for lunch, massage and a walk to the Pitti Palace located just below.

Room Tip: Even though the views are wonderful DO NOT get a room on the piazza unless you are willing to wear e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pimpam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    404
    62
    10
    13
See reviews for
302
905
57
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth United Kindom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed as a family of four for three days in April 2012. Our visit to Florence was a 50th Birthday celebration and we requested a "Room with a View". Our request was listened to and we were given two impressive interconnecting rooms overlooking the Piazza. Absolutely gorgeous. The rooms were clean with luxuriant marble bathrooms. The bed linen was crisp and white and towels spotless. Everything was beautifully presented. Breakfast was sumptuous with copious amounts of fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats, cereals, juices, etc all served in a mirrored dining room. We were not expecting hot food, but there was also scrambled eggs and hot bacon for those that preferred something a little more "English". Please look up at the ceiling as you enter the dining room. What a chandelier and the wooden beams give you an idea of the age of the hotel. We found the staff to be efficient and friendly, but without being intrusive. They had good local knowledge and were happy to give names of good local eateries etc. The situation of the hotel is excellent and only a 15-20 min walk (max) from all tourist sites. Please visit the roof top terrace. This is a space where anyone can visit. It is not an area with waiters or staff standing around plying you with drinks, but simply a space for relaxation. We were the only visitors up there at night. (light switch for exterior lights on wall by door). The view is a something really special across to the illuminated Duomo - our children 13 and 18 thought it was quite magical! It must be a really special place in the hotter months! Hopefully we will be back one day to experience this. Enjoy Santa Maria Novella. We did!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a View! I asked that my request via email was acknowledged and the hotel e mailed me st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayside88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Thanks Santa Maria... we had the honeymoon suite and it was a real treat, not one but two personal balconies. The only thing the hotel could not organise was the weather. In a sunny warm time of the year this would be bliss.

Many happy memories..breakfast first class, prices reflect the emphasis on quality and the location

well done

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A gem!
This hotel deserves more than a four star rating. Rooms and bathrooms are fancy and elegant. Staff wonderful. You can not beat the location!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a 4 star hotel, despite that, i can easily say that this is the worst 4-star hotel i've stayed in (we came from paris, mont st michell, nice, venice, milan then florence)

The not so good:
Food - average (we've seen better foods served in other 3 stars hotel before and this is definitely a let down)
Bathroom - alright (water on the showerhead is quite weak)
Reception - one of the worst (we stayed over a period of 11/4/2012 - 13/4/2012 and the male receptionist is definitely a racist towards asians. At one point i saw him smiled very nicely to a caucasian couple but as soon as it's my wife's turn, he didn't even bothered to smile and looked very grumpy and reluctant). The 2 ladies were very helpful.

Location is perfect as it is near the train station. Overall, i'd say this hotel is 3 stars at best. Still quite positive, but definitely doesnt deserve to be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wlim6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel Santa Maria Novella is a wonderful place to stay in Florence. The staff is super helpful. The location is central - and if you arrive by train, it's a short walk to the hotel. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable of great restaurants and activities in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Staying at this Hotel in Feb/March we were left with mixed feelings. The facilities & room were very good & up to the standard expected. However with the exception of the front desk the remaining hotel staff were largely unfriendly when carrying out their duties.
The lack of warmth would make me think twice about rebooking in the future although the location was magnificently convenient to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIRDIE2Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Responsabile reception at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Sir,

we would like to apologize for any inconvenience had during you stay at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella and we thanks also to inform us about it , your report is very important for us . We remain with our Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 422 in Florence
1,273 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 422 in Florence
1,905 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,465 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing