We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #31 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel ticked so many boxes for us for three key reasons, location / quality / staff.

Location - ideal for exploring this fascinating city. It is in Piazza Santa Maria Novella which is a great place to be based - separate to having Santa Maria Novella Church on your doorstep - because your walking distances to so many of the key places are minimal.

Quality - could honestly write a lot here because the hotel is of the highest quality. The minimalist external appearance of the property is very attractive, understated sophistication , and makes it feel like you have a home away from home. The quiet air conditioned receiption is welcoming both on first visit and when returning from trips out. We asked for a room not overlooking the square as we had heard it could be noisy sometimes, and it was very quiet indeed. The standard of the room was high with attractive decor. The bathroom was lovely with a very nice walk in shower that was very efficient and some very nice toileteries that come from the famous local perfumery. The breakfast room is a very restful area with some very nice artwork of the local sites on the wall. The choice of breakfast items is comprehensive but not over the top at the same time. There are other very nice rooms as well - didnt make the fitness area, but i am sure if it is anything like the rest of the hotel i am sure it will be of high quality.

Staff - from first contact to checking out, everything was taken care of with quiet efficiency and courtesy. Being unsure of where to eat in the area we asked the front desk for advice and they gave us the name of a place to go for each night of our 6 night stay, booked tables for us, and also sorted out a special dining experience for us for our anniversary ( this was at their sister hotel Villa Cora - private hotel shuttle took us there).

If we are fortunate enough to go back to Florence, this hotel will be number 1 on our list

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandlWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our favorite hotel when we were in Italy this May. My two sisters and my adult daughter stayed here on our trip. We had two rooms. The bed was a king/two twins pushed together. There wasn't enough room to make them seperate but we didn't mind. The bathroom was just beautiful. I took pictures of it. All white marble with a "huge" tub. You have to understand that when they make a hotel from an existing building that is very old, the room size is pretty much already decided. The furnishings were lovely. We had turn down service every evening, slippers and robes for our use. The breakfast that was included was the best we had in Italy. Fresh fruit, yogurt, different cheese and meats, bacon and scrambled eggs. Delightful staff that got your cappucino or espresso with a friendly smile and "Buon Giorno". No dinner service at this hotel but there are several restaurants in the area. There is also a great gelato shop right across the square. I would go back in a minute. Florence was my favorite city on our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal, on the santa maria novella piazza, a large attractive piazza with various hotels and cafes. It is in a good location, easy access to train station and also the main attractions of Florence in easy walking distance. The areas around the hotel is a pedestrian area, which eliminates any traffic noise etc. The hotel itself is of a very high quality, the finishing touches and decor are lovely, the staff very friendly and the breakfast choice extensive. I could not fault this hotel, very often in a European Hotel, the hotel does not justify the star rating, this is definetly not the case here, it more than justifies 4 stars. Only slight suggestion is that if they could develop the roof terrace area further, even to incorporate a swimming pool or similar, this would reallly put the icing on the cake. (There is a good Irish bar next door - ideal if you are looking for a quiet pint and not to get hassled at all the centre establishments)

Room Tip: If a view of the piazza is important to you then it may be worth paying the extra for this type of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a 4 star graded hotel in Piazza di Santa Maria Novella which is less than 5 minutes walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station in Florence. As you as you get out of the station, you can see the basilica over the road and the Piazza is just left of the walls and the hotel which is not well marked is just after the restaurants on the left side of the piazza before you get to the Irish pub.
Check in was excellent and quick and they even upgraded us to a room with the view of the piazza.
The room was large and comfortable. It had a safe, tv, nice shower and air conditioning as expected of a hotel of this grade.
Wifi was free but was extremely temperamental and kep going off on a regular basis which was frustrating but that is about the only monor point that I can tell you.
The rooms are set over a few buildings so they are like a maze but not really that confusing. or room was a corner room at one end of the 3rd floor.
Breakfast was ok with good choice of continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon along with the usual. Enough choice to keep most people happy.
The hotel's location meant that you can pretty much walk all of florence from there which is what we did. The Duomo is about 6 mins or so away and the ponte vecchio about 10-15.
Most tours, buses including the airport bus, taxis and trains depart from the station, so it was very handy.
An excellent place to stay in Florence despite the wifi gremlins:)

Room Tip: The piazza facing rooms have better view. Make sure you visit the terrace on top of the hotel for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was spoilt at the Santa Maria Novella - for once the markeing photos underestimated the quality of a room! I spent 3 nights in a fifth floor Junior Suite overlooking the Piazza and there is really nothing I can say to fault this hotel. All staff are highly professional and obviously work to a high standard of customer service. The bedroom was spacious, the bed very comfortable, the sitting room functional, and there were 4 large windows in the living area. It was exceptionally clean. The large marble bathroom had a full bath and was luxuriously appointed. For quite a large hotel it was very quiet. Delicious and huge breakfast choices to be found in a beautiful dining room decorated with paintings and mirror. My favourite space was a reading room that was also a smoking room, but fortunately I had it to myself for an hour or so each day with no smokers present. Located close to the station and to the shops and museums.

Room Tip: A room on the piazza will delight you with its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afalduto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Comfortable rooms with attentive staff. Walking distance from the Duomo and a few excellent restaurants serving good local food. The hotel assisted in booking us entrance to some of the attractions which saved the need to queue. Lovely bar at the sister hotel next door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at SMN and would stay here again. Our room was very large with a huge entry/lounge, a walk in wardrobe and beautiful bathroom. The bed was comfortable but our sleep was interrupted by a ticking noise coming from the electrical box ( not sure what it was). Staff were also helpful when we had to print off tickets at the last minute. The location is also great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,952 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 410 in Florence
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £116 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Blastness , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing