We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
grays
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A brilliant hotel in an excellent location. A few minutes walk from the station, this hotel is situated in Santa Maria Novella Piazza. From our room we had an excellent view of the square and the beautiful church. The staff were very obliging and friendly and treated all their guests like royalty!! All the beautiful sights of Florence were in easy walking distance and if I ever return to Florence I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljpdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    402
    60
    8
    13
See reviews for
294
888
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed at SMN for two nights this week with my partner. We were pleasantly surprised but the presentation of the hotel (expecting old european, though was in beautiful condition). The staff were unbelievably helpful and the buffet breakfast was divine. If I go back to Florence I will defiantly be staying at this hotel again. This was our first hotel stop in Italy after staying with family and it was a great start to our Italian getaway. I highly recommend this hotel! It is close to the duomo and moments to the train station. We had an early flight this morning to Rome and we got a "boxed breakfast" upon checkout. TICK!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla110490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

A really nice hotel in a good location which was made so much better by the street market in the square outside.

Florence is a lovely city and this a great hotel to explore from as it is right near the bus station (ideal for Ryanair flights into Pisa) and only a 5 minute walk to the river.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mooxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our family group spent 3 lovely nights at this hotel in July and thoroughly enjoyed it. All 3 rooms were spacious, clean and had great views. They certainly exceeded our expectations. The front desk staff were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to accommodate us. We arrived very early in the day and they got us into 1 room right away and called us as soon as the next rooms were available. It's a lovely hotel and we loved the convenience of being close to then train station and yet central to everything else. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We loved having a view but don't think it is imperative to enjoying your stay at this hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I loved this hotel, it is in a perfect location, the rooms are large, well stocked with supplies and the staff very friendly. I would like to make a special mention to the young female receptionist with the dark hair and nose piercing who personally walked us to our room and provided us with all the information we needed, I found the service wonderful and of a higher standard than other more expensive hotels I have stayed at.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Central location - about five minutes walk from the Florence train station. Our rooms were beautifully appointed, clean, spacious and luxurious. We did not have views of the piazza but we were ok with that. Breakfast was very good - decent variety and quality in a lovely place containing several small rooms with a central buffet area. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly when we needed information. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afh-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,762 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Went with my son and we had a beautiful room with great service. We had a corner room with beautiful views of the Santa Maria Novella Church and Duomo. We have since purchased a home in Italy that is close by but will recommend if your going to stay in Florence, this hotel is perfectly situated near train station and the Piazza.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
1,254 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
1,853 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing