We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Womderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff went above and beyond. We had luggage lost by airlines. Gave the hotel info so they would know to expect the arrival of luggage. When luggage was not delivered as expected, the hotel on their own started trying to contact airline to locate luggage. We can honestly say we have never had any hotel take the initiative this hotel did. The breakfast at hotel was superb. The rooms are very nice and beautifully furnished, as well as spotlessly clean. The entire staff should be commended on a job well done. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txaggiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

An excellent hotel situated on a corner of the delightful Piazza Santa Maria about a quarter mile from the railway station. It Is within walking distance of the main sights and surrounded by lovely old streets in which to just wander and perhaps choose a restaurant or window shop. The hotel is opposite the beautiful Santa Maria church on the other side of the piazza. All bedrooms seem to be different as the hotel has been put together piecemeal.
The service was good throughout our stay and the breakfast in a very elegant breakfast room was also very good - varied and fresh.
The only drawback is that there isn't a restaurant. This normally isn't a problem as there are dozens of local restaurants but when a tropical storm strikes and it isn't possible to get out starvation beckons.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I left Venice and travelled by train to Florence. The Santa Maria Novella is a short walk from the train station and we were happy to discover that! The lobby of the hotel is very new and modern. Our room wasnt ready so we went to grab a quick bite in the piazza. We booked a superior room and ended up in 101. The room is very large with the 2 doubles put together to make one (which doesnt really encourage cuddling) and a very large bathroom. Very nice and clean as you would expect for a hotel of this caliber, but the lighting is not very good due to the smaller window out to the street. The breakfast is good, lots of selection and very friendly waitstaff. And the location was great for exploring Florence, a city we both feel in love with!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Perfect location in Florence. Hotel is what you dream about when booking an Italian boutique hotel. Great amenities including small fitness center, wifi, Wonderful breakfast, and rooftop tables and chairs for view with a cocktail! The entire staff have great attitudes and were most helpful for any needs one might have!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Santa Maria Novella Hotel for 3 nights in August 2013. It is very convenient to the train station, although, we walked the one block to the piazza and had a hard time finding the hotel. The name is not prominently shown. The best I can say is to go to the left when you walk out of the train station. Walk one block (or so) to the piazza. Stand with your back to the church and the hotel will be on the near left straight in front of the street that you just walked on. There is a plant in a pot on each side of the front door. Once inside, it is a charming old-world hotel. The hallways and elevators are a little confusing, but all of the employees were incredibly friendly. The bed linens are crisp and laundered each day. The breakfast room is very nice with starched tablecloths and the assortment of food offered is very generous. Our room (202) had a full-length window that opened up and looked out over a wine bar across the street. It was quiet except for some noise that we thought sounded like an elevator. We couldn't figure out the noise, though, because there was no elevator around the room. However, it wasn't enough to really bother us. We went up to the roof and sat at the tables up there in the evening. The view was wonderful of the Duomo and of the piazza below.

Room Tip: One oddity at this hotel is that you must leave your key at the reception desk when you leave the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4giz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel was pretty, convenient, clean and had a really good breakfast buffet, but what really made it stand out for us was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, especially Barbara. Our room was beautiful and large and had a big bathroom, but after a couple hours we realized there was something wrong with the A/C. They tried to fix it but couldn't so they moved us to another room, which was pretty but not as large, though it didn't matter, you're not in the room that much! We felt like the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, and gave great recommendations on restaurants. The rooftop patio was a great spot to take a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The only negative is that it isn't very easy to find but we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 338JennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel within a short walk from the train station. We were treated wonderfully from the moment we entered the hotel. Upon checking in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite. Our suite was wonderful and very large in size for a hotel in Italy. We inquired of the staff about tours that could be taken And they were more than willing to arrange for our tour. The Piazza that the hotel is adjacent to does get very
loud but we did not find this to be distracting once the windows were closed. The hotel is quite close to the major attractions in Florence. And all attractions are easily within walking distance. Excellent breakfast is provided to start your day in Florence. Our next trip to Florence will include
staying at the hotel Santa Maria Novella.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Direttore at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

we would like to thank you for your nice and kind review . we are really glad that you had a nice and comfortable stay at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
2,048 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,347 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £113 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing