We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for trip to Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for trip to Florence”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a short, direct walk from the train station; staff is very efficient and the rooms were very nice; breakfast was included, and was MORE than adequate, with breads, meats, fruit, cheese, and for Americans, very good scrambled eggs! We loved the view of the city from the rooftop patio; our bartender was more than gracious in getting us drinks down at the bar and then getting us up to the rooftop, where we enjoyed a nighttime view of the Duomo. I enjoyed opening the windows of our room and looking out over Piazza Santa Maria Novella, both in early morning and in the evening.

A very classy place; I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    403
    61
    9
    13
See reviews for
299
898
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in July a couple of years ago for 6 days. I put July 2013 as they do not have earlier dates. The Hotel situation was brilliant. Easy walk with suitcases from the station to the Hotel, quiet position with a roof top pool and bar, heavenly in the heat after sightseeing. All the sights are in walking distance. The staff were very attentive and everywhere was clean and bright. I look forward to my next visit. The only thing against it was that people not resident in the Hotel would come over and spend the day by the pool, even leaving towels on the few sunbeds when they popped back to their own Hotels - with maybe just having a water or one drink for the whole day! Otherwise great, I would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel Minerva. Tip - if you can, book your entrance to the Museums at home before you leave if visiting in a busy time. Much easier to get in and less waiting time in queues.

Room Tip: Higher up overlooking the square is very interesting, or at the back overlooking rooftops. Depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We walked to the hotel, with our suitcase on wheels. It was a comfortable 15 minutes walk via a connecting underpass from the station, followed by a pavement filled with shops.
The check in was done efficiently.
The room was cozy and pretty. It was located as the same level as the breakfast place. Breakfast was good but the area was small - so visited early to enjoy a peaceful breakfast.
The location of the hotel was excellent, very convenient to walk around Florence. We enjoyed the three days there, using the hotel as our base to rest and drop off our shopping too. A variety of food places too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent two days in Florence, planning to fill them with walking tours and as many art sites as we could fit into that challenged timeframe. The Concierge at the Santa Maria Novella hotel was gracious and tried to get us in, on short notice, to the Academy of Art to see Michelangelo's David, but wasn't able. We consulted the Rick Steve's Guide to see what he recommended and found "Walking Tours of Florence". SUCCESS! The hotel is well-situated for access to train station as well as all parts of old Florence. What a beautiful city! We dined elsewhere, and used the hotel only for our crash pad. Nice enough, but probably would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Piazza view, although there's hardly a "bad view" of Florence from this loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dispatch006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived by train and had short easy walk to hotel (with suitcases). Hotel entrance is right on Piazza but signage is very small, so easily overlooked (be sure to ID location before going). Hotel staff were pleasant enough. Our room was not facing the Piazza but we had no complaints (clean and quiet). I understand the lower rooms facing the Piazza had some noise issues. The hotel is a short walk to all the sites in the city center and we found the city streets to be very clean and safe (we walked back late at night after dinner). Breakfast is included and was excellent. The décor in the hotel is fabulous. The hotel also has a spacious terrace on the roof which has an excellent view of Piazza Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo a short distance away. We would definitely stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff went above and beyond. We had luggage lost by airlines. Gave the hotel info so they would know to expect the arrival of luggage. When luggage was not delivered as expected, the hotel on their own started trying to contact airline to locate luggage. We can honestly say we have never had any hotel take the initiative this hotel did. The breakfast at hotel was superb. The rooms are very nice and beautifully furnished, as well as spotlessly clean. The entire staff should be commended on a job well done. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txaggiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

An excellent hotel situated on a corner of the delightful Piazza Santa Maria about a quarter mile from the railway station. It Is within walking distance of the main sights and surrounded by lovely old streets in which to just wander and perhaps choose a restaurant or window shop. The hotel is opposite the beautiful Santa Maria church on the other side of the piazza. All bedrooms seem to be different as the hotel has been put together piecemeal.
The service was good throughout our stay and the breakfast in a very elegant breakfast room was also very good - varied and fresh.
The only drawback is that there isn't a restaurant. This normally isn't a problem as there are dozens of local restaurants but when a tropical storm strikes and it isn't possible to get out starvation beckons.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing