We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

OK, so it's been a while since I visited this hotel and I have only just got around to posting my review but all I can say is this, it was the holiday of a life time. We were celebrating a special occasion and wanted tio stay somewhere special. We were upgraded to a superior room that had a marvellous view of the church and square. And it's well located for all the major attractions. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsjamesds271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Direttore at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir,

we are really glad to read that you chose the Hotel Santa Maria Novella for your special occasion and that the room and our staff satisfied your expectations .
We thank you again for your kind review and we remain with our Best Regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    405
    62
    10
    13
See reviews for
304
906
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I loved this hotel. The location could not have been more perfect and the rooftop terrace provided sweeping views of Florence and surrounding Tuscany. Our room was nice with a walk in closet and large bathroom. My only complaint about the room was that the shower pressure was so high that the tub could not drain quickly enough and by the time you were done with your shower you were standing ankle deep in soapy water, but this is a minor complaint. The piazza that the hotel is located in is right next to the main train station, perfect when getting off a train from Rome and wanting to check in quickly. There are a few restaurants and some gelatarias in the piazza as well as an English Pub. It is a quick five minute walk from the hotel to the Cathedral of Santa Marie dei Fiore. Florence was one of my favorite cities on this whirlwind European vacation and this hotel definitely contributed to that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haras212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Direttore at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir,

we thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel . We are sorry if the water drainage was not perfect in the shower and we are happy to hear that you had overall a comfortable and nice stay at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella and that we contribute to make great your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Boutique hotel on the Piazza. Get a room with windows on the Piazza and watch the world go by. Staff is wonderfully accomodating. Location is a block from the central train station and you can walk to all the sights easily...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chollis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Direttore at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir,

we would like to thank you for leaving your review and we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella enjoying the view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella .

Looking forward to welcoming you back we remainwith our Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in Florence, spending 4 nights at this hotel. Our room was classically and tastefully decorated with a king sized bed (important to us). The bathroom was all marble and a good size. Beyond the decor, the service was excellent. Our room was cleaned well each day, but then in the evening service staff would come back to straighten up for us and actually put linen mats on the floor on each side of the bed. The breakfast each morning was generous with a wide variety of offerings that should be able to meet most persons needs. Front desk staff were friendly, making dinner reservations for us as requested.

One cautionary point: We loved our room, which faced the square with an awesome balcony and amazing view of all that happened day and night. The trade off was that the room could also be noisy at times (sometimes late into the night). We knew that would be the case, and we were ok with the set up. If you cannot take the noise, I would ask for a room in a different location of the building.

Room Tip: Rooms with a killer view are probably the noisiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMNovella, Direttore at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for taking the time to write your nice review of your recent stay at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella and we are glad to hear that overall , even if unfortunatly you have been disturbed by some noise in the square , you onjoyed your hotel stay in particular the breakfast , the decoration of the room and the marble bathroom together with the staff and housekeeping service.

We thank you again for your review and hoping to see you again in the future at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella , we remain with our Best Regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This really should be a 5 star hotel. Our room (609) was large, with a huge bathroom, both overlooking the piazza and the church. Service was superb - if you used a towel and went out for a walk, there was normally a clean one when you got back. The choice at the buffet breakfast was excellent, including scrambled egg and bacon. Because of the layout of the hotel, to reach our room we had to take a lift to the second floor, walk along a corridor, down half a dozen stairs and then another lift to the sixth floor. Some guests were confused, but we got on OK! If we go back to Florence, we'll certainly stay here again. And it's only five minutes walk from the railway station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is a little piece of heaven in Florence! We were there in June 2013, and had such a wonderful visit that we're returning in July 2014. Santa Maria Novella Hotel has everything a traveler could desire: location, ambience, comfort, and a wonderful staff who go out of their way to create a memorable stay. From dining recommendations to information about local festivals, to creating a magical rooftop nightcap experience, the staff at Santa Maria Novella Hotel excel at providing thoughtful, personalized service.
We can't wait to see you again in July!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Ahtenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,750 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing