We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great location...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Overall, I loved this hotel. The room was lovely, the view was outstanding (pay extra for the view - it's worth it), the staff was exceptionally kind and patient! There were a few hiccups (mentioned below) but overall it was a good experience. I would stay there again.

Pros:
- excellent location - right on Santa Maria Novella square, walking distances of pretty much anywhere you'd want to go in Florence, near the train station, and near tons of great restaurants.
- beautiful view (see photo)
- beautiful room with comfortable bed (see photos)- also large lovely bathroom with nice towels (it's the little things!) (also in photo)
- the staff was very friendly and patient - their english was generally outstanding (with the exception of the room service operator as mentioned below)

Cons:

- It was surprisingly hard to get room service! My second evening there, I left the tag on my door for breakfast the next day. I put the tag out at midnight and the instructions said it needed to be on the door by 5am. The tag was never taken and breakfast never came. When I tried to call down to room service the line was busy. After three tries, I called reception and they successful transferred me. The woman spoke very broken english (would have been much easier if they'd taken the tag) but once I actually got the order in, it came promptly.

- I could not connect with reception on the phone after four tries in 30 minutes on the morning I checked out. I kept trying to call down to have someone get my suitcase (very heavy and there were stairs between my room and the elevator). The line was consistently busy! Finally, I lugged the bag down myself.

- although they had free wi-fi (yay) - it was somewhat slow and often dropped. It was a major inconvenience!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the room with a view - you will not regret it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    405
    62
    10
    13
See reviews for
304
906
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

During our stay in Italy this ending up being our favorite hotel. Located on beautiful Piazza Santa Maria, the location offers access to everything walking. We had a room that looked down on the piazza. We loved opening up the windows for the great view and sounds of the city below. This isn't one of the piazzas overrun with tourists so it is very pleasant. The hotel itself is just gorgeous. Small enough too feel special and big enough to provide everything you need. I can't say enough about the front desk staff and their friendliness. Simone was a standout and just an exceptional employee. I loved the elegant breakfast buffet offered in the restaurant....very grand and delicious. The SMN train station is close walking distance and makes it easy. I travel extensively for work and stay in many high end properties. This is one I'll always remember.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view to the piazza. It'll be worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location from the train station. The hotel itself is small and can be a little confusing to navigate on the inside, however the size of the room is amazing. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the square and the view is beautiful.

The breakfast offered lots of options and the staff was very friendly. Lots of restaurant options in short walking distance to the hotel for lunch and dinner.

If you are a bargain shopper, the outdoor market is about a10 mine walk with tons of leather items, scarf, ties and general souvenirs. Love it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived by train and walked to the hotel calling in at the Tourist information office on the way. We arrived prior to check in time and the very pleasant receptionist booked us in and we were taken up to our room which would have been a little difficult on our own as you do go down and around the very nicely decorated hallways. When we entered the room there was a funny smell that I assumed must have been from previous guests. The room was very spacious and the decor interesting, the marble bathroom was lovely. The room looked out across the Piazza very lovely view. The breakfast which was included in the rate was very good with plenty of choice both hot and cold food the breakfast room was really gorgeous with white table cloths and the staff were very helpful and promptly served you with tea or coffee on arrival, excellent.
However each time you entered the room you could smell this strange smell we contacted reception on the second day and they sent someone up but really all they seemed to be able to do
Was provide a spray. This most definitely did not put me off the hotel in any way. I would stay here again if we ever visit Florence again the location is so close to all of the sites and museums it is fantastic. We called into the bar one evening for a drink and the lady in the bar was very friendly
And the service was excellent there is a lovely pleasant feel about this hotel and the building is fascinating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg10Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was like an oasis. amidst the tourists and crowds of florence, this hotel provided me, my husband and twin 16 year old daughters with a place to truly unwind and relax. It was unbelievably spacious (especially for europe!) we got connecting rooms and it felt like a gigantic suite! Everyone at the hotel was helpful and the breakfast was great. It was well located and felt luxurious without being stuffy at all. I recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: I loved having windows that opened onto the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great quiet hotel in a busy spot. The hotel is a straight shot from the SMN Train Station. You can easily awl to it from the station. You'll pass the church on the right and find the hotel on the left side corner of the plaza. It has no flags or even a banner at the entrance; just a door mat with its name. The hotel is made up of several narrow buildings hence up & down steps between rooms. Breakfast is really nice-taste their coffee yogurt. They also always have a chilled bottle of the "bubbly" (it does have alcohol).
To the right of the hotel within 10 min is the Duomo & Uffizi.

Room Tip: we had a room with a lovely view of the SMN church-they have different prices depending view/size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubuli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A very good hotel in a perfect location a few blocks from the train station and a few blocks from the Dome. We stayed in beautiful penthouse with tasteful modern design. Great service and very good value. We will stay at Santa Maria Novella Hotel next time we are coming to Florence.

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse with excellent view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing