We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, central location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, central location, good value”
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Room was spacious with windows that opened to a great view of the square outside. The included breakfast was also very good. Good location for sightseeing, restaurants and an easy walk to the train station.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    405
    62
    10
    13
See reviews for
304
906
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Don't look any further for a hotel in Florence. This one is absolutely gorgeous. Staff is fantastic and the accomodations are stellar. Nothing we didn't love about it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Absolutely loved this gem of a hotel right on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. It's an easy walk from the train station, as we zipped right up from Rome on the Eurostar. A discreet brass plaque marks the hotel, with its elegant lobby and sitting rooms, wonderful staff and beautifully decorated rooms (spacious bathrooms, too). There is no doorman, but a bellman brought our bags up to the room and could not have been more helpful. The hotel is a conglomeration of a couple of buildings so some of the hallways are long, with short steps to different levels but that added to the charm. There is a computer on the lower level in a sort of grotto for guest email checking. The breakfast room is beautiful and the buffet is lovely. It is an expanded continental-type breakfast and the other guests were multi-national, which made it fun. Our room was lovely, with red and white toile decor, cararra marble bath which was large by Italian standards. We walked absolutely everywhere and can't wait to return to Florence. The hotel is not inexpensive (nothing is with the current Euro value) but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writegirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was everything as promised...The location is great if you arrive/leave via train, as the station is only a short walk from the hotel...Room 323 was huge, elevated bedroom (double bed) with a private balcony, which dropped down to a foyer/double closet area and large bathroom...Staff was very courteous and accommodating...Bus stop is just across the street from the plaza, but if you walk everywhere as we did, its easy to get to all the sights of Florence...Also, many of the tour buses depart from the train station, so you can have breakfast at the hotel in the morning and still be on time for the tour bus because it is so close...The breakfast was great, coffee, tea, juices...scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries and assortment of breads...Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed at the hotel for four nights (17-21 Oct 09) and we had an almost excellent experience. The room was large and greatly decorated, everything looked and felt of high quality and the staff were very helpful and tried to accommodate every request. The hotel's location is excellent, especially if you come to Florence by train or coach as it is less than 10' walk from the station. You can literally walk all over Florence and see the main sights on foot.
You must not forget that this hotel is a four-star hotel and it does have one or two things requiring improvement if one wants to be a bit critical. First, the breakfast, although of good quality, it isn't great and there isn't much variety, especially if you stay for longer than two nights. Second, there is no restaurant in the hotel so you always need to lunch and/or dine out. Third, no swimming pool and the gym is tiny. Lastly, for those from the UK, there was only CNN on the TV.
The above criticisms are not worthy of putting you off an otherwise great hotel. I just wanted to explain that if you are looking for more amenities for your stay, you need to take these points into consideration. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for quality, service, location and overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Very central in a quiet piazza.
Hotel very clean, rooms excellent - is worth paying the extra for room with a view, service great, superb breakfast, what more can I say!
360 degree view from roof terrace, very central for all the sights, would go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We selected this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Lovely, quiet hotel in a great location, we walked everywhere, to tourist locations, restaurants, museums and the train. Our room was small but beautiful looking out on the side street. It was very clean and comfortable with a desk, mini-bar, hair dryer, and make-up mirror. So well insulated were the windows that when closed we did not hear the construction going on in the building right next door. I had read about issues with the air conditioning but when we asked for a cooler room it was adjusted immediately. Breakfast was very good and plentiful in the charming breakfast room. Friendly and professional staff throughout, front desk recommended Osteria del Porcellino restaurant, so good we went twice.

We would also recommend:
Cafe O near the Ponte Vecchio, modern bar with tasty bar food, restaurant connected
Pane e Vino, fabulous restaurant

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,750 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing