We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #28 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed in a superior room that was quite small but this was compensated for with a balcony overlooking the square. Polite and friendly staff offered recommendations of places to eat when asked, they can also book tickets for events (try Opera at the English Church), and prebook tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia( V. good idea to avoid queues). Breakfast was fine with a good selection to choose from.
We had no problem with noise from the square even though there was an Irish bar just down the street (good pint of Kilkenny), the rooms were well insulated. The square itself isn't noisy anyway.
Florence isn't a large city so you can walk everywhere from the Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Near train station and all sites, located on Piazza. Newly rennovated and beautiful. Good service and fabulous superior room. Huge bathroom with tub. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel is amazing, your won't regret staying there.
It is luxurious, clerks are very professional, rooms big and well furnished.
The biggest problem for us was that in this uber famous piazza they allow people, mostly immigrants, to gather, be laud and drinking, late at night. Not that I have something against immigrants, being myself one...
The piazza itself was, as most places in Firenze, was plenty of cars and trash containers of all type and colors (we counted at least 15 of them), what is very disturbing to view when you look out of the hotels windows.
I know most of this isn't the hotels fault, but a common problem of many artistic cities in Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katbuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I would rate this hotel as above average. Pro's: Good location, clean room, view of the Piazza Santa Maria, terrace, and, suprisingly, not noisy being on the 2nd level on the street/piazza side of the hotel. Con's: Internet service was spotty at best, repetitive/boring breakfast daily, hard matress, and hotel staff. Not that the staff was bad or rude, but, for the price we paid, I would expect more service. For example, no offer of help for local restaurants or attractions (had to always ask), or a simple "thank you for staying with us" when we checked out. Would I recommend this place to a friend??? Tough question...probably not. I would actually try a different place next time in Florence

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilliePhanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This hotel was well located near the train station. The hotel was very nicely decorated. The staff was very efficient and friendly. We had a junior suite. The room was very quite with a nice view of the square behind the church. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was definitely the nicest which we have stayed in Europe. The hotel staff recommended a very nice restaurant close by the hotel. Breakfast was included and was in a very nice room with many selections.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

A friend made the connection for us at this hotel when we planned our Italian vacation and Mediterranean cruise. As we traveled from Venice to Florence by train, it was especially convenient as it was just across the street from the Santa Maria Novella train station. Well, we walked in all directions before we looked beyond the Church of Santa Maria Novella, into Piazza Santa Maria Novella, to find a discrete brass plaque identifying our hotel.

Our room, overlooking the piazza, was beautifully appointed with opulent fabrics and antique reproduction furnishings. It also boasted a flat LCD television (not that we spent much time with it.) The bath was a near religious experience. Marble tiles on walls and floor, a huge tub with a rain-effect shower.

Breakfast was included with the room. The dining room was always formally set. No simple sampling of cold pastries and coffee, a full service buffet is provided. Eggs, hot and cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruits and a large selection of breads, cakes and pastries were laid before us every morning.

The front desk and concierge service was exemplary. We were checked in and shown to our rooms by pleasant, professional and efficient staff. On our second day, when getting dressed for dinner, I lost my wedding ring in the sink. Our friendly desk clerk called the maintenance man especially (Saturday night,) and when we returned from dinner, I was presented, with many smiles, with my ring, thanks to Giorgio, who had to dismantle the plumbing to retrieve it.

The hotel also affords internet service, a fitness center, and banquet/meeting facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomInNPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is in a great location, is very well decorated and very well kept.

The front staff was helpful and friendly, without being overzealous, which I appreciated. Our room for two nights (room 221: a junior suite with a wonderful view on Square & Church at 173 € /night B&B, definitely good value on Easter week and the tie breaker between very good and excellent) was spacious and clean, the huge bed very comfortable (albeit I prefer double beds with double mattresses instead of two single ones, but I recognise I can be picky sometimes...), the bathroom luxurious and the toiletries of very good quality (hair conditioner would be a welcome addition, though). Free WiFi is always very welcome.

Breakfast, rarely my home country hotel industry's forte, was quite OK.

So, a very pleasant experience, only very partially spoiled by a couple of niggling details affecting the quality of my sleep:
1) Contrary to what the porter told us when showing us to the room, we could not operate fan & air conditioning from there;
2) the card-key-operated main light switch had an annoying, occasionally flickering purple light which was visible from the bed.

When I woke up in the middle of the second night, the extremely dry air in the room, the noise of the fan and the purple light made it somewhat complicated for me to fall asleep again - but the very comfortable bed - and a sock over the purple light - helped a lot.

I would definitely recommed this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefanoBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#49 of 410 in Florence
1,317 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 410 in Florence
2,001 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,538 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £142 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing