We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I would call this a "boutique" hotel. Not large or high end, but a lovely, elegant, comfortable choice. Very friendly, helpful staff. We flew into Rome and one suitcase did not make it. Hotel staff made the numerous phone calls necessary to get it delivered to us in Florence. They provided recommendations requested on restaurants, a department store and a nail salon (where they called to make an appointment) and every place they recommended was up to par. We opted for the superior room with a view which was spacious and beautifully furnished. The floors were hardwood. The marble bathroom was large with a huge, inviting tub and appeared recently renovated. The marble work on the floor and tub surround were just beautiful. Everything was immaculate. The breakfast was superb and the breakfast rooms elegant with coffee, cappuccino or tea offered by serving personnel and an extensive buffet of cheeses, hot and cold meats, eggs, fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, juices, bottled water, yogurts, etc. The location is on a charming "piazza" (plaza) named for the church that fronts it where there was often a street musician playing in the evening. Florence is small and most sites of interest are close and can be walked to. We became members of the Friends of the Uffizi before our trip at a cost of 100 Euros for a couple. It is a bargain because the membership cards provided free entrance to every state-owned museum in Florence (which is just about all of them) with no waiting on line any place and no reservation needed for the Uffizi which is otherwise ALWAYS required. If you shop, don't buy in the first place you see something. A same hand-tooled leather purse was 160 Euros at the first place, 145 at the second and 128 at the third and was actually bought for 112. The leather goods in Florence deserve their reputation for being the best. If you want to buy something from a street vendor, say no at first and the price will likely come down.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredFloridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    404
    61
    9
    13
See reviews for
300
899
57
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Just returned from Florence and found the Santa Maria Novella Hotel to be first class in every respect - staff, food, accomodation, location and comfort. We really enjoyed our stay there, every need was catered for and the general ambience was luxurious. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Like many of the reviews have mentioned, the hotel has a great location which means you walk to almost everything in the city center , as well as being close to the train station yet not near enough to notice the noise or crowds you normally have near a train station. Our room was very large for a 4-star European hotel, although walking in the hallway i noticed other rooms ( cleaning lady was at work) seemed smaller then ours, so I'm not sure if it was cuz only our room was larger due to the layout of the floor plan . The decor in the lobby and in the room itself is very nice with a large all marble bathroom.
Breakfast area is large and very nicely done, helps you prepare yourself for the beauty of the city it self every morning.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and good at their job, even the best looking hotels are nothing without good staff, and this hotel has them.
The only downfall to the hotel,which i also saw in past reviews before booking is that indeed..the WiFi in the room is almost never there. So don't plan on doing any surfing online while your there.
I also did some looking around while i was there, trying to notice which other hotels seemed nice and had great locations...but to be honest, with the combination of its price,location,staff and decor...i don't think I'll change my mind if i return again.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbwardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed in a superior room that was quite small but this was compensated for with a balcony overlooking the square. Polite and friendly staff offered recommendations of places to eat when asked, they can also book tickets for events (try Opera at the English Church), and prebook tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia( V. good idea to avoid queues). Breakfast was fine with a good selection to choose from.
We had no problem with noise from the square even though there was an Irish bar just down the street (good pint of Kilkenny), the rooms were well insulated. The square itself isn't noisy anyway.
Florence isn't a large city so you can walk everywhere from the Hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Near train station and all sites, located on Piazza. Newly rennovated and beautiful. Good service and fabulous superior room. Huge bathroom with tub. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel is amazing, your won't regret staying there.
It is luxurious, clerks are very professional, rooms big and well furnished.
The biggest problem for us was that in this uber famous piazza they allow people, mostly immigrants, to gather, be laud and drinking, late at night. Not that I have something against immigrants, being myself one...
The piazza itself was, as most places in Firenze, was plenty of cars and trash containers of all type and colors (we counted at least 15 of them), what is very disturbing to view when you look out of the hotels windows.
I know most of this isn't the hotels fault, but a common problem of many artistic cities in Italy.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I would rate this hotel as above average. Pro's: Good location, clean room, view of the Piazza Santa Maria, terrace, and, suprisingly, not noisy being on the 2nd level on the street/piazza side of the hotel. Con's: Internet service was spotty at best, repetitive/boring breakfast daily, hard matress, and hotel staff. Not that the staff was bad or rude, but, for the price we paid, I would expect more service. For example, no offer of help for local restaurants or attractions (had to always ask), or a simple "thank you for staying with us" when we checked out. Would I recommend this place to a friend??? Tough question...probably not. I would actually try a different place next time in Florence

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilliePhanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing