We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I was concerned booking this hotel about how close it was to the station but it is actually in a quiet area and lovely piazza (Santa Maria Novella). Would absolutely book it again. Walking distance to everything, view of Duomo from room window and views from rooftop terrace excellent.
Very impressed with quality of rooms, gorgeous old world character to building and decor but still clean and roomy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

We have stayed before and love this hotel. Large comfortable rooms, friendly service and great help with extras such as airport transfers and booking museums and restaurants. (If you want to visit the Ufizzi get the concierge to book in advance and you bypass those queues!)

You can have great views over the Piazza SM Novella. But watch out for two things. Prices can double for a Saturday night. And there can be noise - especially if you shun the aircon and have windows open. Avoid lower rooms at the far end from the church and you should be fine. If not , you could be over The Irish Pub. We were - directly - and though there was no noise at all from inside the place itself, we were woken up at 3am on Sunday morning by a very enthusiastic party leaving the joint - even through the very good double glazing which cuts out most noise. Our other two nights were fine.

We would still return but be smarter about room choice and ask for something higher up and away from that end. Or go for the cheaper rooms overlooking a back street which should be quieter.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malvernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We were pretty knocked out by this place. First, let me say that this was the most expensive hotel of our entire trip. But not by that much. So, I was expecting "nice" but not "too nice". Santa Maria Novella really exceeded my expectations. First of all, they had fresh flowers; beautiful arrangements of roses everywhere. Second, the staff really took care of us. (I don't normally need or expect someone to take care of my bags, open doors for me, turn down my bed or fuss over me in any way. But if you desire that then this place would make you very happy.) Third, and the most important to me, was the room. It was so beautiful (much better than the pictures), the bed was so comfy and it was as quiet as if we stayed in the country. Another thing that sets this hotel apart is the location. It is right on the Piazza de Santa Maria Novella. I loved strolling around at night after dinner and ending the passeggiata by sitting in the piazza. Truly lovely experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I would call this a "boutique" hotel. Not large or high end, but a lovely, elegant, comfortable choice. Very friendly, helpful staff. We flew into Rome and one suitcase did not make it. Hotel staff made the numerous phone calls necessary to get it delivered to us in Florence. They provided recommendations requested on restaurants, a department store and a nail salon (where they called to make an appointment) and every place they recommended was up to par. We opted for the superior room with a view which was spacious and beautifully furnished. The floors were hardwood. The marble bathroom was large with a huge, inviting tub and appeared recently renovated. The marble work on the floor and tub surround were just beautiful. Everything was immaculate. The breakfast was superb and the breakfast rooms elegant with coffee, cappuccino or tea offered by serving personnel and an extensive buffet of cheeses, hot and cold meats, eggs, fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, juices, bottled water, yogurts, etc. The location is on a charming "piazza" (plaza) named for the church that fronts it where there was often a street musician playing in the evening. Florence is small and most sites of interest are close and can be walked to. We became members of the Friends of the Uffizi before our trip at a cost of 100 Euros for a couple. It is a bargain because the membership cards provided free entrance to every state-owned museum in Florence (which is just about all of them) with no waiting on line any place and no reservation needed for the Uffizi which is otherwise ALWAYS required. If you shop, don't buy in the first place you see something. A same hand-tooled leather purse was 160 Euros at the first place, 145 at the second and 128 at the third and was actually bought for 112. The leather goods in Florence deserve their reputation for being the best. If you want to buy something from a street vendor, say no at first and the price will likely come down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredFloridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Just returned from Florence and found the Santa Maria Novella Hotel to be first class in every respect - staff, food, accomodation, location and comfort. We really enjoyed our stay there, every need was catered for and the general ambience was luxurious. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Like many of the reviews have mentioned, the hotel has a great location which means you walk to almost everything in the city center , as well as being close to the train station yet not near enough to notice the noise or crowds you normally have near a train station. Our room was very large for a 4-star European hotel, although walking in the hallway i noticed other rooms ( cleaning lady was at work) seemed smaller then ours, so I'm not sure if it was cuz only our room was larger due to the layout of the floor plan . The decor in the lobby and in the room itself is very nice with a large all marble bathroom.
Breakfast area is large and very nicely done, helps you prepare yourself for the beauty of the city it self every morning.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and good at their job, even the best looking hotels are nothing without good staff, and this hotel has them.
The only downfall to the hotel,which i also saw in past reviews before booking is that indeed..the WiFi in the room is almost never there. So don't plan on doing any surfing online while your there.
I also did some looking around while i was there, trying to notice which other hotels seemed nice and had great locations...but to be honest, with the combination of its price,location,staff and decor...i don't think I'll change my mind if i return again.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbwardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed in a superior room that was quite small but this was compensated for with a balcony overlooking the square. Polite and friendly staff offered recommendations of places to eat when asked, they can also book tickets for events (try Opera at the English Church), and prebook tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia( V. good idea to avoid queues). Breakfast was fine with a good selection to choose from.
We had no problem with noise from the square even though there was an Irish bar just down the street (good pint of Kilkenny), the rooms were well insulated. The square itself isn't noisy anyway.
Florence isn't a large city so you can walk everywhere from the Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,892 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 410 in Florence
2,028 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,455 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,565 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £123 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing