We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a private villa with 5 star service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JK Place Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JK Place Firenze
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a private villa with 5 star service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

From the unassuming exterior, you would not expect to find such a delightful hotel that feels more like a private villa than a hotel. While there is no formal restaurant, there is a full kitchen with a fabulous menu - the food here was as good or better than anywhere else we ate in Tuscany! The living room is comfortable, surrounded by books and artwork and there is also a lounge with a large TV. The staff is attentive and always friendly. Our room was spacious with a view of the Piazza. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Florence - I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misheshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    65
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
78
327
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

In 2008, my wife retired from teaching. To mark her retirement we went on a four week odyssey that started with a week biking in the Loire Valley, followed by stops in Paris, Avignon, Geneva, Rome and then four nights in Florence before we ended our trip with a week in Tuscany, on a walking/cooking tour. The SMN train station in Florence was the starting and ending point for our Tuscan tour and JK Place, being just a few minutes walk to the train station, was our base for the four nights in Florence. We enjoyed our stay at JK Place and Florence itself so much in 2008 that we said we would have to come back to Florence and if we came back, the only place to stay was JK Place. It is now 2010, and, again we are on an odyssey that includes a week in Cornwall, a week in London, nine days in Italy (Milan, Venice and Florence), Paris and then a week in New York. And, Yes, we went back to JK Place.

This time we opted for the package 'A Day at the Market', had a great time exploring the San Lorenzo Market with the Chef, followed by a private cooking lesson at the Florence private chef school where we had had a group lesson back in 2008. It was an absolutely wonderful day, that ended with a walk in the early evening where we ended up at the Accademia and had the unique opportunity to experience Michelangelo's David with no crowds (Accademia open late Tuesday ngihts).

When we return to Florence (and we will), we will come back to JK Place - the staff and their quality of service, the comfort of the rooms, the lounge, the terrace, the location - all the factors that make your stay so enjoyable, are the reasons we keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErskineLane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed 3 nights in JK place and loved everything about it. The concierge was friendly and knowledgable, the location was very convenient, and the whole place is very welcoming. We loved the tastefully decorated library and lounge and the warm ambience. The room is not huge but very comfortable. The mattress was firm and the water pressure strong. It really felt like coming home every night. This will be the hotel we go to when visiting Florence from now on.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynnC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We just finished a stay in the JK Florence. We were surprised to arrive and find construction directly in front of the hotel. When we asked about it at check in, the staff was dismissive and said there was no noise on weekends or before 10am. Each morning we woke up to the sound of jackhammering much earlier than 10 (7, 8 am) which lasted throughout the day. It is unclear what is going on in front of the hotel but there is major construction equipment. We overheard another traveler say this has been going on for some time.

After visiting the JK Capri twice, which we ADORE, we were surprised and disappointed by this especially since we had called the hotel to ask about the rooms prior to arrival and asked detailed questions and no one ever mentioned the construction.

Book a room facing the back NOT the Santa Maria Novella square if noise bothers you and be prepared for noise throughout the day with a pause for a long lunch break for the workers. Also, ask hotel when you book if the project is done, as hopefully it will wrap soon. The Penthouse room faces the back and was quieter.

I hope this is helpful, I hate to say anything bad about JK as the Capri hotel is one of my favorites in the world, and Florence is lovely too, aside from the noise which is obviously a city project and not under managements control but nonetheless could affect you.

Also note that there is no gym or spa, whereas the JK Capri has both. We were surprised there was no gym.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallerinainNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel is accredited by "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" . It is centrally located from the center of Florence just 2 bridges down from Ponte de Vechio and on a special piazza of its own. The bed was "yummy" comfortable, the furnishings divine, and the care by the staff was stellar. They could not do enough to make you happy. Free refrigerator drinks and chocolates in your room, food in the dining room to enjoy, wonderful greeting when you arrive in a comfortable lounge. It really felt like home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhippetsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip through Italy. We spent our time in Rome, Tuscany, Positano, Capri and Florence. Tuscany and Florence at the top of our list of favorites. We spent three fabulous nights at JK Place, which was one of the highlights of the trip. First of all the hotel is beautiful, great art work and ton's of attention to detail, which we love (Hotel was published in A.D.) ! Staff is 5 star+ & great location. The concierge staff in particular was fabulous, great suggestions and extreamly helpful. The whole vibe of this hotel is very personal, warm and Uber stylish (a great combination, but not easily achievable). We also stayed at the Westin Excelsior one night which was much more expensive and didn't hold a candle to JK Place. Just a great experience all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoLTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at JK Place Florence for 4 days, and this was the best hotel in our honeymoon. I agree with the other travellers when they say its a home away from home.. small things like being able to read in the library or lounge comfortably with free internet and snacks, make it so wonderful at the end of a tiring day (or night) out. And the staff is just an icing on the cake.. always always ready to give suggestions (and practical ones), or just generally engage in a conversation. I felt like we were living in a private apartment with my personal staff!

Great location - Piazza republic is a 5 min walk, and the main shopping street is located right behind it. We walked to the hotel from the train station as well, just 7 mins away.

A thing about the rooms - while they are beautifully appointed, the double superior room we stayed at was small. that was the only thing I didnt quite like, the size of the room, but the junior suite(which I considered) was perfect, and I'd recommend that (or the bigger ones) to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JK Place Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JK Place Firenze

Property: JK Place Firenze
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#14 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — JK Place Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, sophistication, style and value right in the heart of Florence. J.K Place has carved out an exceptionally pleasant niche for itself, a niche that’s just seconds from the door of the stunning church of Santa Maria Novella. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms: Just twenty of them, snazzy, characterful, no two are alike, and all with signature soft furnishings in creams, granges and neutrals offset with contrasting piping in an effortlessly chic Anouska meets Ralph love-in. The glass covered courtyard and roof terrace beckon on warmer days whilst winter afternoons are best spent huddled by the fireplace in the J.K Lounge with a thick slice of cake and a steaming hot cioccolata con panna. Add very friendly, discreet service plus probably the city’s best Concierge and you are just asking for a good time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your JK Place Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Firenze Florence
Jk Place Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing