We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room”
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellevue House
Ranked #15 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, for our last night in Italy before heading back home to the USA. We picked this hotel because it is very close to the bus station, in order to get to the airport. If you are looking for a place with a view of the bridge, this is not it, but it was not what we were looking for....It was easily within walking distance to all the major sites, and Luciano provided us with a map and highlighted the route we should take to get everywhere. He also made us reservations at the Uffizi and Academia before we arrived, which I HIGHLY recommend you have him do. It was nice to be able to get right in, and not waste time standing in line when you could be seeing other sites. The room had its own bathroom, which was great. And air conditioning, which was also fabulous. Another great thing, a discount for paying cash! Luciano was very helpful, and the room was relaxing and quiet after spending the day exploring. Only downside, no breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was in a great location to walk to all the sites in Florence. The owners were very helpful. Showed me where all the attractions were and best ways to see them. They even came to the train station to give me my credit card when I left it at check out. The room had all the necessary amenities (AC, fridge, etc) and a very strong wifi signal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylan41245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Easy to find, very close to train station and to all major sites with lovely clean rooms, very comfy bed and quality, well thought through, range of bathroom etc products.

Best of all tho was fantastic service - super friendly but still v professional.
Great tips on evening walks, local eateries and things to do to make best use of my brief time in the city. Even better was finding a fab shiatsu practitioner who fixed my poorly back with an early morning session!

Thoroughly recommended :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bessyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This guest house was really quaint and lovely, and we would definitely recommend it to others. It was in a nice location, close to the train station and the Uffizi Gallery (short walk), and the room was quiet and safe. The managers were friendly and are right there if you need anything. A complimentary large bottle of water was in the room, and the tea/kettle was convenient for an evening beverage. There's a small fridge in the room, although it doesn't really get that cold. The A/C worked very well, and the wifi had a strong signal. The mattress was very firm, but probably too firm for my taste. There is a laundromat right across the street that will wash/dry a small load for you for 8.50 euros (8 euros for self service), and that was definitely convenient after being on the road for 2 weeks. We weren't really fans of the recommended restaurant, but oh well. This was an excellent value stay, and we would love to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FZZtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Bellevue House was a wonderful place to stay. Situated near the Firenze SMN train station and not to far from Santa Maire Novella Piazza/church. We were greeted warmly by Luciano, his wife and their son, Alessandro. Not only are they great hosts but tour guides too! They spent time with us researching the map and telling us about a special place to buy tickets to the Uffizi and Accademia. We did not have reservations to those places but we found the ticket window (which the average person would have not found) and got tickets to the Uffizi Gallery that afternoon and the Accademia the next morning. No standing in long lines!! They also pointed out a couple of great restaurants which we ate at and not disappointed!! The room was very clean, A/C, and updated bathroom. This family took over the Bellevue House a year ago and is working extremely hard to make it a nice place to stay in a very busy city. They only negative thing is the 4 flights of stairs. My husband and I didn't mind it but if you have a hard time climbing this would not work for you. They also don't have breakfast but Alessandro pointed and took us out to the nearest coffee/bakery shop down the street! Their English is very good too! Thanks Alessandro for making our experience in Florence a delight! We will come back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Situated 8 mins from train station, 5 mins from bus station (to get to the mall), Bellevue House Hotel is too good to be true. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and given an introduction to sight-seeing locations in Florence by the owner. As we made a request to borrow an adapter, he headed to bring us a box of it to let us choose a few that suited our needs. Wifi signal was super strong. Though no breakfast was included, tea, coffee and hot kettle as well as complimentary drinking water was provided in the room. Snack bars and restaurants were easily accessible along the streets. Room was presented spick and span. Towels were changed daily. After a tolling trip in Venice, our stay in florence was enhanced by the hotel's warm reception. Will definitely come back to this hotel if I come back to florence. Not recommended for those who have difficulties climbing stairs as there is no elevator and hotel is on level 3 (top floor).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yakydodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Easy place to find if you are coming off the train station, nice family run hotel , Alexandro was really helpful at pointing out good and cheap places to pick up lunch and some local bars and nice restaurants. Always helpful when u are in a new city. The room was nice and clean and everything u could want even down to a giant bottle of complimentary water and bbc news on tv which is rare in Italian hotels. The aircon was the coldest ive ever had in a room which is great for a Scotsman ;-) i would stay again and recommend friends to do the same . All round excellent

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 661 in Florence
952 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 661 in Florence
359 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#11 of 661 in Florence
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#19 of 661 in Florence
698 reviews
San Marco
3B Bed & Breakfast
3B Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 661 in Florence
207 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#10 of 661 in Florence
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: Via della Scala 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £53 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet-Bargagli-Petrucci). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer in all rooms. First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. Each room has its own special quiet ambiance and name: "Fiorenza", "Ginevra", "Sofia", "Manila", "Victoria", "Carolina". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing