We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"an oasis of calm" in a busy city”
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellevue House
Ranked #16 of 650 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"an oasis of calm" in a busy city”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I think Rick Steeves said something like that in his notes on Bellevue House. My husband and I found just that during our stay at Bellevue from September 27th- October 1st, 2013. The family/owners are so welcoming, warm and helpful...and with one of them always on the premises we felt very secure. It was a pleasure to come back to our large comfy room after a busy day sightseeing- Luciano gave us lots of advice in this respect along with maps and directions when we arrived. They gave us helpful tips on where to eat, shop and Allesandro was up bright and early to carry our bags down to the taxi which he called for us at 5 am the day of our departure.The only room available for our first 2 nights was the one with the private bathroom across the hall- and that was fine- but when another large suite with ensuite became available we were moved to that. It was just super, lots of room and nice updated bathroom, good bed. The room faced the street but the double glazed windows and shutters made it nice and quiet at night. Susy was a wonderful hardworking hostess as well. Rooms were always nicely made up and included soap, shampoo, hairdryer and an electric kettle with selections of teas and coffees so we had something hot to start the day with. A little fridge for our wine and beer as well.
We would definitely recommend this B&B for it's location as well. No super views, but close to the train and bus station which was ideal for older backpackers like us who used the local transportation system.It is also handy to all the special museums and historic sights.
If we return to Florence this is where we will stay. The family made it a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    119
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
125
288
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rice Point
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bellevue on the 28th of September last month. The room we had was excellent, and the new owners were really wonderful with advice on visiting historic sites which are all reasonable walking distance from the Bellevue. We will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We had the room that fronts via Della Scala, it has a name which I have forgotten for the moment, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay at the Bellevue House was perfect in so many ways and largely due to the welcoming and caring approach from Luciano, Suzy and Allessandro. We had excellent communication via email ahead of time, and Luciano arranged some museum tours for us and very kindly rescheduled them when our flight was delayed for a day. Allesandro met us when we arrived and helped carry our bags up the stairs, such a big help when you arrive jetlagged and tired. He provided some great recommendations for meals which were all very reasonably priced and excellent and obviously catered to the locals. The central location for us was ideal as we were back and forth to the train station at least three times throughout our visit (bike trip, hiking trip, visit to Rome), and we were able to pop into Bellevue to drop off/pick up pieces of our luggage in between each of these mini vacations. Being able to walk to the train station was so handy, and Luciano and Allesandro were amazing at helping us with all of our dropoffs and logistics. The room was very comfortable, very quiet and very clean. A big thanks to Luciano and his family for making our trip to Italy so memorable.

Room Tip: Our room facing the back was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTraveller074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a good honest family guest house. We were met by Alessandro when we first arrived and he was so welcoming of us. After we got settled he went through everything that we should see through to where the locals eat. The next day we met Susie and Luciano and they were wonderful people and most welcoming. We were told on a food tour to got to a particular restaurant for the Florentine Steak and Luciano made us a reservation (I'm sure because he was local we got in on a Saturday night).

The rooms are clean and well presented. The bed was large and comfortable and the room we had down the back (Victoria room) was very quiet. The shower was a bit on the small size for me as I'm tall, so I give it a 5/10 shower rating. There are 3 flights of steps, so you can work off your dinner on the way home.

It's location was 5 minute walk from the train station and 15 minutes to the main plaza and 5 minutes from some of Alessandro favour trattoria's and cafés. This is just a nice place to stay and great value for money.

We will stay here again! Thank you Alessandro, Susie, Luciano.

PS some hotels I've stayed in around the world could look at this family for customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Luciano and his wonderful family brings love and care to this hotel and it shows. Despite it being several flights of stairs up, we felt so welcomed to this hotel and by extension, Florence.

3 things that made this hotel stand out for us:

1. Communication: Alessandro (the son) lived in Scotland for college, Luciano speaks good english as well. it was very easy to email the family with questions before we arrived.
2. Location: 2 minute walk from Firenze SMN train station and 6 minute walk to Palazzo Vecchio
3. Quality: the windows, though facing a busy street is DOUBLE PANED. Very Very quiet even during the busiest times. We are light sleepers slept wonderfully well during our stay.

Bottom line: This is THE best hotel in Florence for the combination of hospitality, location, quality and price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiew616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

New ownership of Bellevue House suits it well. Luciano, his wife Suzy and son Allesandro team up to make the place welcoming, clean and comfortable. Don't hesitate to ring the bell on the ground floor level for help with carrying luggage up to the hotel. We tend to be emailers, made a lot of connections ahead of time with Luciiano who gave lots of info to us despite knowing we'd stayed a full week years ago. Great value and location cannot be beat. These folks are putting money back into the hotel and it shows: new showers among other renovations. Ask to see their newly remodeled (private) kitchen as the owners are proud of it. These folks are well connected for restaurants, and sights and will provide all info you might need. They were very kind to email us re: a forgotten item which we will gladly visit them to reclaim. Morning cappucinos in the next door Bar not spectacular. Otherwise, all was great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hall, far from the street and office if you need to sleep in (office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked Bellevue House based upon the excellent views it has all over the internet, which its 100% deserves. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The air conditioner unit worked like a charm. The owners are endlessly helpful and kind, and the location is unbeatable. Having stayed at many hotels in Florence throughout the years, I can confidently say that for the price, there is nothing that can match Bellevue House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassicsGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,651 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 412 in Florence
1,955 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 412 in Florence
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 412 in Florence
498 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Property: Bellevue House
Address: Via della Scala 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet-Bargagli-Petrucci). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer in all rooms. First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. Each room has its own special quiet ambiance and name: "Fiorenza", "Ginevra", "Sofia", "Manila", "Victoria", "Carolina". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing