We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious staff, great value!”
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue House
Ranked #17 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The triple room we shared at this convenient hotel (5-min walk from train station) was very spacious and featured a great private bath with everything you could want. As promised, the nice young man, Alex, carried our luggage up the slate stairs (which had low risers and were actually quite easy to walk up) then provided us with maps, recommendations, even highlighters for our maps! A day after leaving, my daughter couldn't find her watch and we phoned the Bellevue Hotel family: they were SO concerned and were in touch with us 2-3 times to say they were looking for it, only to have my daughter find the watch later in her luggage. I give this hotel and its proprietors the highest recommendation.

Room Tip: The triple room is a GREAT way to go, even if there are only two of you.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The family that owns the Bellevue House were so friendly and helpful, it make our stay very enjoyable, I certainly would recommend this to anyone going to Florence, Italy. The location was in walking distance to many of the sites that we visited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divagrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I developed complications with legs swelling, Luciano gracious with recommendations & concern. I felt I was not just another tourist but family. Amazing service! Would highly recommend! Very impressed.

Room Tip: Luciano would recommend the room to suit your needs just ask him.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Highheelshighhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Bellevue House in early July, and felt very much at home. In fact, we have nothing but praise for the owners of this family-run hotel. They were always very pleasant and helpful, and nothing seemed too much trouble. We received all the help we needed to find our way around. The location was very good too – 10 minutes to the centre of town, and very close to the station. Even though our room faced the street, we had no problem with noise, and the shutters kept out the summer early morning light. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Vicki and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014, and can vouch 100% for the previous 5-star reviews. Ed O's in particular is spot on in highlighting the service provided by Alessandro, which was impeccable throughout our stay including excellent restaurant recommendations and helping us arrange a day trip to Siena on the 3rd day.

The location of Bellevue House, near Santa Maria Novella, is within very easy reach of both the train / coach stations and the historic centre of the city. The hotel itself is on the 3rd (top) floor and there is no lift, so, while assistance is available with luggage if required, it cannot be recommended for people with mobility difficulties. Aside from this caveat, I recommend Bellevue House unhesitatingly for anyone looking for B&B accommodation in Florence and would definitely stay here again if I return to the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IJGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed in Bellevue House four nights in mid of July. The location is excellent, just 5 mins from Firenze SMN train station & many restaurants near the hotel.

Well, Bellevue House is a family based business, they have couple of rooms in the same floor. Although there is no elevator in the building, Alex will be waiting for you in downstairs and help you carry luggage to 4th floor. He is very friendly and helpful, will give you all information about Florence as possible as he can. One important thing, must try the restaurant he suggests to you, particularly choice No.1.

For security issue, I felt safe and couldn't find any problem in the neighbourhood.

The room is very big with classic decoration. Daily house keeping and very clean. I appreciated so much for the free bottled water, it was a large one. You know, not many b&b in Italy will serve bottled water, possibly it's the culture in Europe. I was very surprise for their kindness because we were already very thirsty when check-in.

I'm not sure whether each room has no internal toilet or only mine, this is the only thing I don't get used to.

In overall, I would like to recommend you to staying in Bellevue House because it is very good and convenient to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Bellevue House is an exceptional value and a wonderful place to stay in Florence. Steps from the train and within easy walking distance of all major sites. Allesandro is a wealth of information about dining and cultural activities. And he could not be more helpful in such useful things as arranging a cab to the airport and securing museum reservations (and for God's sake, reserve place at the Uffici and the Academia or you'll spend your entire trip waiting in line). His hard-working parents are charming, gracious, and fun. I look forward to my next visit to Bellevue House. And Florence too of course.

Room Tip: Very small hotel. All seven rooms are certainly very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,984 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#74 of 411 in Florence
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 411 in Florence
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: Via della Scala 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £75 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet-Bargagli-Petrucci). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer in all rooms. First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. Each room has its own special quiet ambiance and name: "Fiorenza", "Ginevra", "Sofia", "Manila", "Victoria", "Carolina". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing