We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in an old abbey...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Santo Nome di Gesu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Ranked #232 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A night in an old abbey...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very good location, as the hotel is in the old town, close to the tourist attractions. It is also great to have a parking lot for a relatively small fee. Breakfast is rather average and a room has an austere interior, but on the other hand, it's a unique possibility to spend a night in an old abbey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almante71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASA S NOME R, Direttore at Casa Santo Nome di Gesu, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that, notwithstanding the simplicity of our offerings, you were able to appreciate the distinctive atmosphere of the Casa. We are very open to changes and try not to be too austere with our services but at the same time we do not want to lose the sense of serenity that is synonymous with religious life. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    90
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
81
45
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Casa Santo Nome di Gesu is well located in the Piazza Del Carmine on the other side of the Arno river opposite the crowds and most sights. It is a 20 minute but easy walk from the bus or train station. Nearby piazza Santo Spiritu has a good selection of restaurants with very good menu choices and a relaxed atmosphere. The Piti palace and Ponte Vecchio are an easy walk from here. We enjoyed relaxing in the gardens or in the lovely common areas overlooking the garden after a day of sightseeing. The rooms are simple but very clean and some have ensuite bathrooms. The beautiful common lounges made up for the small bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent and well rounded, fruit, yoghurt, juices, cheeses, bread, buns, croissants, meat slices and wonderful coffee. There was someone at the desk until late in the evening and a good security system at the front door. Pricing made this an excellent value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rkmaretzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASA S NOME R, Direttore at Casa Santo Nome di Gesu, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review! You clearly were “at one” with the house as your description matches exactly how we feel about the Casa and the services offered – a chance to relax and assimilate the experiences of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It was a 30 minute walk from the train station with luggage in tow and walking distance from the city center. We walked every day.

The staff were friendly and room is simple. We got the room with a bathroom. I just did not like leaving the room key every time we had to leave. Breakfast includes cereal, bread, cheese, ham, fruits, coffee, juices, milk, yogurt and croissant. No locker to leave your essentials and no air conditioning. The beds were old. The electric fan was enough for us. We used the elevator to get to our room. We enjoyed our stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnoliablossms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASA S NOME R, Direttore at Casa Santo Nome di Gesu, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
We are so pleased you intend to visit again, we will certainly be very happy to welcome you. Our key system is indeed a little antique…as are the key fobs…but, like the Casa being locked to anyone who is not a guest, we find it works well having the security of the keys never leaving the building and have never yet had nasty incidents! We are slowly working at getting everything a little more up to date whilst maintaining the general character so hopefully next time you will have an even better time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is no place for party animals, but for 4 painters who wanted to spend a short time if Florence, it fit the bill. Our rooms were very plain, no TV or hair dryers, the bathrooms were private but down the hall, and the so-called wifi was not really a player. There's a chapel where the few sisters gather to pray, a beautiful very large garden outside the back door, a large parlor and a reception area, but the location is great: it's across the river from the Duomo. Next door is the Brancaci chapel, large and wonderful with Masaccio's paintings, seen in every art history book. Nearby is the Ponte Vecchio, the only bridge not blasted in WWII. You can walk to many restaurants, shops, and galleries. It's a safe area. We had no car (hooray!) but rented one on our way out of town, avoiding airport fees. Bring your own wine for cocktails in the room, or better yet, head out and find some good bars. The desk messed up our reservation and was very helpful in person, but caused some distress before we arrived. We used Booking.com. When they tried to "pre authorize" be sure your reservation is ok, since there are a zillion tourists in Florence all needing rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileenthepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wateringen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location is wonderful, the parking is very good and the staff (and nuns) are very friendly. But the beds are very small (i'm 1,92 and could hardly fit) and the beds are old and to soft. Also the bathroom is located outside of the bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Inside a Nonnery , the staff was awesome so nice friendly , accomodating , its in the heart of Firenze and walking distance of everything , great breakfast ,huge rooms , brand new bathrooms .Beautiful garden . Awesome place we'll be back .
Grazie mille a tutti que lavoranno in La casa Santo Nome di Gesu.

Room Tip: we had a room that was overlooking a street with a great view of the hills , I don't know i thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I spent 2 weeks in Florence, Italy with 2 friends. My friend and I had one bedroom en suite, and our male friend had a large room with separate bathroom. Our room was not too large, but the view out the window was beautiful We were overlooking the garden...and each day, the garden grew more colorful. The San Frediano Church was a large part of our view. It has a small dome i.e. Duomo, but smaller scale. The room is spotless, I had to find something under the bed, placed my pillow down, and when I picked it up, not even a dust bunny. Linen changed each day, Small bottles of shampoo, body wash. Best to bring your own. The staff is just so helpful and friendly. Location is perfect, easy walk across the Arno River each day to center of Florence. Each afternoon, sat for a while in the garden, relaxing or reading,and had local wine and cheese to snack, after a busy day exploring. For dinner, there was a trattoria in the piazzo, and many small local restaruants in the area, Plenty to choose from a little fancy to small osterias (family owned) . What was funny, many places, the people didn't speak english, or limited, which made for interesting ordering. We never starved. Met many locals this way, and had a great time with them.
The breakfast is included. It is typical european fare. Dry cereals, fruit,meat/cheese,breads. Large urns of coffe, hot water and hot milk (which i enjoyed in my coffee). It was a relaxing way to begin a busy day. No one rushes you out of the room.
I could go on in how much we enjoyed the stay at the Convent/hotel. It is 16th century, has elevator, and ask for garden view. It is simple, beautfully kept.

Room Tip: ask for room with view of garden. You have choice of en suite or not. Bring your own toiletries, wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#153 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#186 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#119 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#135 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santo Nome di Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Nome di Gesu

Property: Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Address: Piazza del Carmine, 21, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13th-century former monestary is now a guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Santo Nome di Gesu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Nome Di Gesu Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing