We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The street noise ruins everything”
Review of Hotel Benivieni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Benivieni
Ranked #201 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The street noise ruins everything”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We are a couple at mid 30s that stayed for 3 nights during August. We had a room at the 1st floor (there are only two). We spent little time at the hotel and we basically chose it for the location and the good rate.

PLUS
- Excellent location in the heart of Florence at walking distance from all the main sites and points of interest.
- Big, comfortable and spotlessly clean room.
- Minimal and updated decor for Italy standards.
- Very good rate in a fairly expensive city .
- Free wi-fi and computer at lobby but with a charge.

NEUTRAL
- Reception was professional and efficient but very distant and cold.
- Breakfast is basic but the breakfast room is nice.

MINUS
- NOISE, NOISE, NOISE. Almost all day long, with highlights such as dumpster trucks in the mornings or drunk pedestrians shouting at nights. The hotel is in serious need of soundproof windows and they should change the door locks which buzz loudly when you open your door.
- No view. Hotel facade overlooks a tiny pedestrian street.
- Shower cabin is very small.
- Air conditioning can't be adjusted exactly to your needs, so we ended up closing it during sleeping time because the room was very cold.
- The hotel has a very strict policy on the breakfast room closing time which they tell you at your arrival in a very strict manner like you are a potential rule breaker. Moreover, during the last half hour of breakfast time, the staff is picking up tables doing a lot of noise and generally behaving like customers shouldn't be there at all.
- No mini-bar.

TIP
Don't miss the next door restaurant Coquinarious and especially the heavenly zucchini carbonara pasta.

To sum up. This hotel is a good choice for Italy standards and a very good value.
However, if you are not a heavy sleeper, do not try this because you will have a sleepless stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petraleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    167
    49
    17
    26
See reviews for
136
289
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I used tripadvisor for all our hotels when planning our trip to Italy and this was our favourite. It had character, was very clean, comfortable and staff (made up of family members) gave it a warm stay. The location is perfect - 1 block (or closer) to the Duomo and walking distance to everywhere else including Ponte Vecchio Bridge and even the Pizza Michelangelo (which is an absolute must - the BEST view of Florence). We were a family of 4 and although the room was a little cramped we did not mind given how much we loved this hotel - we opened our curtains and saw the top of the Duomo Tower and the bathroom was brand new. The breakfast was lovely and the choices made it appetizing to our family. Also there is a grocery store just around the corner for all your needs, however we found a less expensive one about 2 blocks from hotel and bought all our sandwich items and made sandwiches for our lunches by putting in our backpacks for the day. If you are looking for a good location, clean room and friendly atmosphere then this hotel is for you!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My customers continue to rave about this hotel! I include it on my list of suggested stays in Florence for wedding guests and every single time I get fabulous feedback.
I chose this hotel to include on my recommendation list after I visited them on a very hot July afternoon. Their friendly welcome immediately told me I was in for a good relationship and it's been just that. Comfortable rooms tastefully decorated, decent breakfast and located right across the alley from the best angloamerican bookshop in town, the Paperback Exchange, where my guests get all their guidebooks and used paperbacks to read on vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The main asset of this hotel is certainly its amazing location, just next to the Duomo. On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, checking in was fast and simple. The lobby had a central patio where it was very nice to rest and enjoy a drink. Our room, located on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, was bright and quiet, and charmingly decorated. Breakfast was good for a three-star hotel, with a special mention to the cappuccino that was really delicious! Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in Florence and will definitely be back in this amazing city. On a side note, the shower cubicle was very small - but it is really the only thing that could be improved.

Room Tip: Our room located at the rear of the hotel was very quiet but still bright. The main street seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillaume-and-sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Benivieni! The owners went out of their way before & during our stay to well accommodate our needs. The location is ideal for walking tours of Florence and the decor is very old world. We especially enjoyed our delicious variety of breakfast buffet items which always began with a friendly , "Signori, would you like a cappuccino?" We have already recommended Hotel Benivieni to a friend & would return there ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi5073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is in a great location, in between the Duomo and the river. Florence is really good to navigate around and you can find your way around easily after a few days. The hotel staff were really friendly and great to talk to. The breakfast was also good and it filled you up for a day of sightseeing. The room was good but because we had a 4 bed room it was a bit cramped because it was meant for a spacious two bed room. A tip for anyone travelling and sightseeing in Florence, make sure you go on the sightseeing bus in Florence. It takes you around all the sights that you probably wouldn't reach and opposite the main city across the river. Here you can stop and look out over Florence and see the beatiful views if the whole landscape. The tour bus also takes you up into the hills to a little beautiful town which has incredible views and is a great place to hop off for lunch and then hop on in an hour. For 15 euros each it really was worth it! Make sure your prepared with clothes to cover your shoulders and knees with also because we were not expecting it to be as vigilant as the Vatican and then they make you pay to buy a cover.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz2006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just returned from an 8 night stay at the Benivieni. We were traveling with family (12 people in all) and this was the perfect place for our family. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and beautifully maintained. We stayed in 4 rooms (2 family rooms with 4 bed and 2 double rooms). The room rates are affordable and even the rooms for 4 had enough room for our luggage. The proprietors of this family-run hotel made us feel very welcome and they were willing and eager to help us with whatever we needed. The location (one block from the Duomo) was ideal! It is well-air conditioned (temps were near 100 degrees F on a number of days) and the rooms were very quiet at night. This hotel was a great find!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#195 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#208 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#187 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#249 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#161 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#189 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benivieni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benivieni

Property: Hotel Benivieni
Address: Villa delle Oche, 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Florence
#138 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benivieni 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Benivieni palace itself has been built early XVth century by the Girolamo Benivieni’s family that was one of the most important poets of the Reinassance and he had a great influence to the other writers during the Renaissance and afterward. The Benivieni palace hosted there the Synagogue from 1882 until 1964. The palace, now restored and remodeled, is a family owned and run three stars hotel and still retains much of its historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Benivieni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benivieni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing