We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Benivieni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Benivieni
Ranked #200 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Princeton Junction, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Perfectly located, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Room was cozy and had enough room to get by. I've been in smaller rooms in NYC. Shower was about 2x2 so large people might have a tough time showering. Hot water was never a problem, pressure was good and the handheld shower made it easier to wash in small space. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Would return in a heartbeat and recommend it whole heartedly. Only drawback to being so close to the Duomo is the bells woke us every morning at 7 and continued throughout the day.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    165
    48
    15
    25
See reviews for
134
285
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, about 2 blocks from the Duomo, walking distance to everything. I appreciated the warm welcome, and the helpfulness and friendliness of the outstanding hotel staff. A delicious breakfast is included, and each morning it was a lovely start to the day. I especially loved the capuccino, made exactly to my taste. The room was small, but big enough for the two of us, and immaculate. There was a computer available, and I never had to wait to use it. It was like staying at a quaint Bed and Breakfast, with all the advantages of being in an urban setting. I would love to come back someday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We have stayed here three times and it's always such a pleasure to come back.

The family that owns and runs the hotel are very nice and helpful. When asked where to shop or eat, they always know of the best places. We were there for Christmas and had a wonderful dinner at Acqua Al 2.

The location is very central and just a short walk around the corner from the Duomo and a neat grocery store is nearby and very convenient. The neighborhood is quiet.

The rooms have wood floors and are clean, roomy, and contemporary. The bathrooms are a little small - the showers especially. The sink counter is small - can't fit the tissue box. The showers size biggest problem but other than that, the rooms are perfect.

They have a modest but typical continental breakfast (for Italian hotels)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

Apart from the location, room convenience, the charm of staying in a 600 year old building with completely updated rooms and bathroom, what I like best about Hotel Benivieni is the warmth of the management and staff. It was like staying with family. I also liked the bookshelf in the reception / lobby where I could borrow books for the night. What I would wish to see would be more fruit or vegetarian choices in breakfast - but that's just me. I will definitely visit Florence again - as 3 days was barely enough to scratch the surface of this amazing city. I would also gladly stay at Hotel Benivieni.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anti-Suburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

Have only just round to writing my review for this hotel, but better late than never! The hotel is in an excellent location and as an added bonus is next to the best restaurant in Florence!

The rooms here were spotless and comfortable. I did not think the bathroom was small at all! Americans must have some huge bathrooms at home! Breakfast at the hotel was basic but very nice with a selection of fruit, pastries, bread, meat, cheese, cereal, juice and yoghurts.

Just be careful of the vases in the reception area, my boyfriend almost destroyed one with his suitcase! Whoops!

The lady on reception speaks good English and was helpful and friendly. Her husband was also friendly and looked after us at breakfast time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alameda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Firstly, the hotel is located so perfectly- right by the Duomo and the Accedemia- railway station is a short taxi ride away-lots of reataurants around; shopping galore-

Rooms were large and very nicely decorated. B'fast was very adequate.
Staff, extremely courteous and helpful.
Reccomend it whole heartedly.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ready2travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Hotel Benivieni. We were in Florence to visit our daughter who is studying in Florence. We discovered the Hotel is centrally located with easy walking to Duomo, Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, San Lorenzo, shopping and great food. The staff were an absolute delight -- warm and friendly and able to help us when needed. I highly recommend Hotel Benivieni and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHHNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#260 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#185 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#152 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benivieni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benivieni

Property: Hotel Benivieni
Address: Villa delle Oche, 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Florence
#138 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benivieni 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Benivieni palace itself has been built early XVth century by the Girolamo Benivieni’s family that was one of the most important poets of the Reinassance and he had a great influence to the other writers during the Renaissance and afterward. The Benivieni palace hosted there the Synagogue from 1882 until 1964. The palace, now restored and remodeled, is a family owned and run three stars hotel and still retains much of its historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Benivieni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benivieni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing