We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but don't bring a car!”
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #324 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This very old, very small downtown Hotel is extremely hard to find. It is basically in an alley right next to Gucci row, so it is in an excellant location, right in the middle of things. But although it says parking garage, what it means is that you pay 28 Euro a night to park because it is not their parking. The rooms are very old, but clean and a little depressing as it is just very utilitarian and old downtown. The manager is very nice and the breakfast was fine. Definety budget looking. There were cans of raid on every floor in the hall.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor romm with the balcomy is what we choose. Too bad the plants in the pots were all dead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just arrived here yesterday, and it is such a cute place! Rooms are simple, beds and bathroom are clean, carpet is not too clean and has cigarette holes throughout. The best things about this room is the windows with shutters (very Firenze), and the glass doors leading to a 3 meter squared patio, complete with table, chairs, and window boxes with flowers...we squealed with delight when the owner opened the doors to the patio!

Not all rooms have this feature, so may be best to call and ask in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel Esperanza, situated on the corner of Via dell'Inferno and Via del Purgatorio (romantic, eh?) deep in the heart of the old town is not easily accessible. Better don't try it by car (we did), not sure, if it's any better by taxi. Later on, however, all the sights are only a short walk away. The hotel is very modestly signposted, so don't look for large banners.

Our room (up on the third floor, won't suit unfit people) seemed like it was refurbished decades ago, well before I was born, but very clean and spatious. It definitely added to our Florence experience. :) An internet connection was available, just ask the owner for the key. Breakfast consisted of instant cappucino prepared by the man running the hotel, and a biscuit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJakobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

When arriving in Florence on our honeymoon our original hotel (Hotel Medici) had electrical problems and redirected us to Hotel Esperanza. The man that greeted us was very nice, but I was not impressed with the hotel. It was down a creepy alleyway, and located above a mechanic and garage. It was very noisy in the morning. The carpet in the room was disgusting, as was the bedding. In the hallway to our room I spotted a big an of Raid bug spray and should have decided to run right then and there. Instead I woke up to bug bites all over my legs and arms. I also saw several bugs in the sheets in the morning. Suffice to say, I would not recommend this hotel. The breakfast was also very stale and bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bottaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We expected basic rooms for the price in Florence, and that is exactly what we got for about $60/night for a double. The owner was sweet and helpful and the location was excellent. Breakfast was packaged and simple, beds semi-comfortable and some ceiling and walls cracked.
There was a lot of noise from the car garage immediately below - with only a few quiet hours from 2-6am. This was the biggest downside. We were also there during a heat wave and the rooms were baking hot - although the fan helped a little. Ironically, it is located at the corner of the streets Inferno and Pergatorio.
In hindsight, I would have paid more at a different place for less noise and AC. But for the price, it is a fair deal during July in this popular city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanRoss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was looking for somewhere simple at the last minute and hostels were all full. The charming old guy at reception was friendly and helpful. Wifi was excellent. The room was basic and the bed wasn't great but I had no troubles sleeping. Some mosquitos at night because I left the window open. Woke up a bit early due to noise and no heavy curtains. No fridge in the room. Light Italian breakfast was all out of packets, partially saved by real coffee.

Room Tip: same floor as reception is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

This hotel was recommended by a local bartender, and it was well worth the price of a beer! As the previous reviewer has noted, the rooms are small and pretty basic, but are imacculately clean and airy (nice high ceilings); mine even had a huge terrace overlooking the terracotta roofs of Florence. It's a family-run place, and the owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty basic, but enough to kick-start you for the day. If you're hung up on minibars and TVs this may not be for you - but I don't know why anybody would come to Flroence to watch TV. The only real downside is that the beds aren't great - if you have a bad back you may find them too soft. Also, there's no airconditioning so it may get pretty hot in high summer.
The best things? The location, which could scarcely be better, tucked behind some of the city's nicest streets, near to the river. And the price, which is astonishingly low.
I've given it four stars rather than five but if you're on a budget, this is hugely nicer than those tacky backpacker hostels for not that much more money

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BritishDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#220 of 410 in Florence
110 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#225 of 410 in Florence
750 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#349 of 410 in Florence
214 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#165 of 410 in Florence
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: Via Dell'Inferno 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £47 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Esperanza 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing