We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Florence hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #121 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Our stay for 2 nights in Florence could not have been better at Hotel Il Bargellino. Carmel (originally from Boston) and her husband have a great location, HUGE rooms, and outstanding service. We parked on the street directly in front of the hotel each day without problems, and walked to the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. This was the best hotel during our 3 week trip of Europe.

Room Tip: Choose room 6 upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daversSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

The location is great: 10 minutes from the train station. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and quiet: a nice homey feeling. The rooftop terrace is fantastic. Most of all, Carmel, Pino, and Leopoldo (the parrot) make it a home away from home...The in-room espresso machine is a nice touch, too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at Il Bargellino for five nights with our teenage daughter. It is a great base for touring Florence and the surrounding region. The hotel provides an intimate settling, and while not fancy, its is clean and the rooms have real charm. The hotel is a friendly oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city. The owners Carmel and Pino make a big investment in seeing that guests feel welcome and that their needs are met. The open air patio provides a nice public space where guests can mingle and unwind after a long day on the tourist trail. The area around the hotel has lots of restaurants and there is plenty of shopping in close proximity. A great travel experience and a very friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewspp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Il Bargellino is not a long walk to the major sights of Florence, and it's located in a generally residential area along with a few other hotels. This was a great place to stay, convenient to the train station, with a huge room and (relatively) comfortable bed. WiFi is free, and although they don't offer breakfast, Bar Fibbi just down the street serves heavenly pastries as well as a generous American breakfast of bacon and omelette, if you're interested in that.

Owners Carmel and Pino were wonderful! My husband had developed a terrible cold or allergies on this trip, and they took a genuine interest in his condition and helping us get a decongestant from the nearby pharmacy. Our stay was honestly like being a guest in their home, rather than a customer. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Il Bargellino and we look forward to staying there on our next trip to Florence.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want a private or shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2McDoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Owners and married couple Carmel and Pino make you feel at home at ll Bargellino. They are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is very secure and comfortable, and even has citrus trees on the beautiful balcony. The location is close to everything including a short walking distance to the Firenze train station and the Duomo. Carmel also booked our bus tour to Siena, San Gimignano, and Chianti for us. They have all the information for these tours at the hotel. Easy and not hassle. Carmel is originally from the states, you if you are an American traveler with no Italian language background like myself, this may make you feel a bit more comfortable also. Pino is hilarious and a real jokester and a carefree kinda guy.

Recommendation: Bring bug spray and even-though it is beautiful, sleep with the windows and balcony door closed, because the mosquitos are amazing. I got 13 bites while sleep over the 4 days I was there. Not a huge deal, but something to pay attention to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoDickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2011

Thank you so much for your glowing review!!
Pino and I only wish you had let us know that mosquitoes were a problem in the room! We do have little electronic machines that would have allowed you to sleep with the door or window open all night long with out being bothered by them.
Carmel and Pino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Great location, homey and immaculate rooms, lovely rooftop terrace, and critters to visit with (cat and parrot) for the animal-lovers among us. You're in good hands with Carmel and Pino -- they know everything about everything, are generous with recommendations, and are extraordinarily accommodating, kind, and funny. Location close to the Mercato Centrale and walkable to everything -- without putting you in a super-busy part of the city. We will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbtrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Il Bargellino is owned and run by Carmel (a Bostonian with the accent to prove it) and Pino, her Italian husband. Oh, and Leopoldo the parrot has a say in things, too. This happy couple are excellent and hospitable innkeepers. When my wife sprained her ankle in a pothole, Carmel brought her an icepack and fed her lunch while my son and I continued our explorations of that wonderful city.
This is just our kind of place - small, quiet, very comfortable and conveniently located near the train station. There is no breakfast. but each room has a fantastic espresso machine (by Lavazza), which gets you that shot of ambition to get going, and there are several places to get breakfast a short distance away. Some of the rooms open onto a pleasant patio where one can take a coffee. This didn't help us much in the dead of winter, but it will the next time because this is where we will stay when we go back to Florence.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citizen_Jack47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#124 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#184 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#68 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing