We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place! LOVE the terrace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #116 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had a nice room with a private bathroom for our 3-day stay in Florence. What takes the hotel from "nice" to "awesome" are a few things: 1) The outdoor terrace - a wonderful place to start and end the day with coffee or wine, chat with other guests/travelers, and just RELAX after a long day of sight-seeing. It felt like an extended living room. 2) The in-room coffee maker and fridge. So convenient! 3) The friendliness and helpfulness of Carmel and Pino, the owners. They helped reserve museum tickets and gave great recommendations for restaurants. Only thing that would have made this room 5-star perfect would have been air conditioning (we did travel in July). There was a fan in the room, though, which helped. Hotel was easy to find and very close to the train. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudakadud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We found Hotel Il Bargellino in Rick Steves' Italy book and it was exactly as he described. We'd forgotten about his mention of the deck/patio until we arrived and Pino showed it to us. We enjoyed it very much - had breakfast there every morning before early tours or museums and wine every evening -- the full moon was a bonus! One can walk to any of the museums or other points of interest from this handy location and it's even OK to pull your luggage behind you from the train station! Our room was large with plenty of closet space - something rare for Europe we've found. Our only disappointment was that Carmen was not there while we were - but having 5 sisters myself, I totally understand why she'd choose to be with her sister! All in all, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Our room had en suite bathroom, some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Legola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! We love hearing that guests enjoy Il Bargellino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel is very clean. The owners are very friendly and helpfull. The location is close to the Santa Maria Novel train station and about 6 blocks from the Duomo. The patio provided an unexpected additional plus for a place to have a glass of wine and some cheese and regroup after a day of roaming around town and before dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom57097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. Pino and Carmel were extremely helpful with suggestions to see things we might have missed. The rooms opening out onto the terrace were really special. Highly recommended for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RozandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you want a place that is totally affordable, a short walk from the main train station, centrally located, simple, clean and quiet - this is the place! Carmel & Pino, the owners of Hotel il Bargellino are completely welcoming, down to earth, and very helpful. As an American traveler, having Carmel to speak to in English is a great help. Oh yes, and Leo their bird adds to the whole experience too! You can't beat the price and location in Florence!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joscordino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Our room was bright, large and comfortable with a large private bath. There was plenty of space to put suitcases and hang clothes. There is a beautiful terrace which is used by the family and the guests, but there is plenty of space for everyone including a beautiful bird and the neighbor's cat. Some of the rooms open out into the terrace and if I ever have the chance to go back to Florence, I would request one of these rooms. Carmel and her family made our 3 day stay fantastic - taking time to give directions, recommending restaurants, making museum reservations - even helping us tape one of our maps that got torn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onionriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We just enjoyed our second stay with Carmel and Pino (and Leopoldo) at il Bargellino. This time our room was just off the patio, which is lovely in the evenings. We so enjoyed meeting and visiting with the other guests over wine and cheese each night, and got some great tips on resturants and museums in the course of our conversations. The room was well appointed and very comfortable, and the hospitality exceptional. It is an easy walk from the train station, and in a relatively quiet part of the city. It is convenient to all the beautiful sights of Florence and such a nice place to come "home" to in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofsqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#123 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#184 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 410 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#68 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing