We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #114 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

What can I say that hasn't been said? This place has a great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, friendly service and a bunch of bonuses, like advance museum ticket bookings, daily room cleaning, a mini-fridge and access to the terrace. I particularily liked that the shower in the bathroom was the kind where you can take it off the hook and wash properly. I booked in February for June, and Carmel kept in wonderful contact and responded promptly to each and every inquiry.

The terrace was amazing and undoubtedly one of the best perks of this hotel. We kept salad fixings, fruit, and orange juice from the supermarket, and the meets, cheeses and wine we bought in Chianti, in the little fridge and had wonderful spreads for two meals a day. We enjoyed the company of tons of other guests, watched the birds fly above us at sunset, heard church bells in the distance and sometimes just took a time-out with a book and a glass of wine. It was a great sanctuary and a great way to begin and end each day.

We never felt we were too far from anything, and we walked everywhere. It was simple to get to the train and bus station for day trips, and the hotel was even close enough that when we forgot our reservation number for the Academia, my husband was able to run back and get it, and get back to the museum in less than 15 minutes!

Two words of caution: first, we tried take-out from a couple of the restaurants nearby (a pizza place, a pasta place and a chinese place) and found it all to be mediocre. I'd go beyond the immediate street for food. Second, take some bug spray. We had no problems with mosquitos in our room (we were given a plug in tablet to make sure of that), but the first night sitting out on the terrace I got a bunch of bites.

We stayed six nights and our stay was absolutly wonderful. I am someone who likes good value for my dollar, and this place most definatly had a lot of value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleNSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Pros: Great value, super clean room, kind and helpful staff, and amazing location. It's not in the middle of Florence's historic sights, but it's only 5 minutes from them or the train station. We used it as a base to explore Florence, take a train to Venice, and do a bus tour of Tuscany. Florence is easily walkable and safe (even late at night), and this hotel was perfect for our needs. The terrace is very nice, but we found ourselves so busy that we never used it.

Cons: I really can't think of any. We stayed for 5 days and felt quite at home there. We'll be sure to return in the future. Highly recommended.

PS - Try the Focaccia bread from Panificio on the same street....sooo good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrews510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at il Bargellino. It was a wonderful relaxing place to stay. Our room opened to the beautiful terrace where we enjoyed bringing wine and light meals from the deli. Our two girls in their mid 20's thought it was wonderful as well. Loved Leo, their bird, as well as all the beautiful plants. Carmel and Pino are friendly helped us with any questions we had and made us feel as if we were at home. The rooms were clean, attractive, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pati822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed in early March while visiting our daughter during her semester abroad. The hotel was centrally located, easy walking distance to most everything, affordable and Carmel and Pino were extremely hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyvtmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The location of the hotel is 5 minutes from the train station(santa maria novella) and 10 minutes(walking) from most turists sites such as the David, IL Duomo, the Uffizzi Gallery, etc. it is located on a relatively quiet street, via Guelfa. The rooms are immaculate, espescially the bathrooms, and there is a beautiful terrace which gets the sun all day. Even in feb, believe it or not, i actually can tan on the terrace, i swear it's true. there were sevaral days last feb when it was above 80 degrees onthe terrace. The owners are great and very often guests are invited to share a glass of wine or have lunch or supper with them. It's a very friendly family atmosphere and when in Florence i wouldn't of staying anywhere else. F. denici

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdenici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We loved this hotel! We traveled to Florence after 3 wonderful but exhausting days in Rome. Carmel had provided exact, perfect directions from the train station to the hotel, and we found it in minutes without a problem at all. Carmel and Pino were in the states visiting family, but had arranged all of out museum visits before we arrived. Niece Roslita and Claudine were wonderful hosts in their absence, and made us feel immediately welcome. The large room was lovely, and the bathroom, though small (it was only a sink and shower) was extremely clean and functional. Do bring your own wash cloth though (this seems to be common in Italy).

The terrace really made the experience magical and unforgettable. We enjoyed a great bottle of wine each night on the terrace with fellow guests. It really made us feel like we were living the Florence lifestyle. Visiting with other guests really made us feel part of a community as well. The rooms were extremely quiet, and we could never hear our fellow guests, even though the shared bathroom was right next door to us.

The location was perfect and short walk to all attractions and neighborhoods. We felt extremely safe at all times, even walking home late at night. We will definitely stay here everytime we return to Flroence!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stloutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

It means so much to us to know that our neice Rosita and our collaborator Claudine do such a great job when we're away for a few day!! Thank you so much for taking the time to post.
Carmel Coppola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights and considered staying longer. From the moment we walked in we loved it. Carmel gives great directions and it was easy to find from the train station. Pino greeted us at the door and we stayed in a room right off the terrace. The terrace, as others have said, is a great place to pour a glass of wine and meet other guests. It was great to be able to talk to others and get advice about touring the same areas. We often looked forward to evenings to be able to visit with these new friends. Carmel was so helpful in asking questions about Florence, or giving recommendation about the area. It was as if we were staying with family. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#126 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#173 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing