We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #131 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
oregon WI
1 review
“great home base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Hotel Il Bargellino was just a few minutes walk from train/bus station. Carmel and Pino were wonderful hosts, very helpful with all kinds of information from places to eat, buses to catch and which internet cafe was the brightest and cleanest! This was a 30 year delayed trip for my husband and myself. Our plan was to stay at a home base for 6 nights in a row and soak up Florence at our leisure. After 6 days we took 3 days to travel to nearby areas and then back for 1 last night at Il Bargellino . Everything about it was accomadating. The third floor terrace area just down the hall from our room was a great place to gather and meet others, share travel stories and drink wine! Very good eateries just up and down the street and only a 10 minute walk to the Duomo and musuems. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    73
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
52
200
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I was recommended to Il Bargellino from a friend of mine. I cannot say enough about the owners, Carmel and Pino, who are now very close friends of mine. I ate with them in their kitchen and on the patio many nights long after I left the hotel after finding an apartment near Santa Croce. The rooms are extremly clean and comfortable. The prices are beyond reasonable. You literally feel like you are staying in someones house. All the guests hang out on the patio at night and have a great time having wine and making new friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skantown13152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Near the rail and bus stations in an interesting area by the market. Rooms are a good size, but when it's hot they suffer from absence of air conditioning and some outside noise. The big pluses of the hotel are the excellent service and friendly attitude from Carmel and the fabulous roof terrace where you can meet other guests and the resident parrot.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

I had a lovely stay at Hotel Il Bargellino. Carmel and Pino were friendly and welcoming and it occasionally felt more like staying at a friend's home than staying in a hotel. I loved sitting out on the terrace and meeting fellow travellers. Even though it's a little farther from the center of town than other hotels, I (a solo female traveller) never felt unsafe when walking home late. All major tourist sites are no more than a 5-15 minute walk and the walk was a fun way to see different parts of town. The hotel is only minutes from the Mercato Centrale and the San Lorenzo Market, where I did much of my shopping, and it was convenient to be able to drop off my purchases instead of dragging them around with me all day.
It was also incredibly nice to have Carmel there, as most of the other hoteliers I dealt with in Italy weren't fluent in English. It was great to have all my questions fully understood and answered.
One piece of advice: if you're travelling in July/August make sure to request a room with air conditioning, as not all of them have it. For only slightly more money, it's totally worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djstagemanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

What can I say that hasn't been said? This place has a great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, friendly service and a bunch of bonuses, like advance museum ticket bookings, daily room cleaning, a mini-fridge and access to the terrace. I particularily liked that the shower in the bathroom was the kind where you can take it off the hook and wash properly. I booked in February for June, and Carmel kept in wonderful contact and responded promptly to each and every inquiry.

The terrace was amazing and undoubtedly one of the best perks of this hotel. We kept salad fixings, fruit, and orange juice from the supermarket, and the meets, cheeses and wine we bought in Chianti, in the little fridge and had wonderful spreads for two meals a day. We enjoyed the company of tons of other guests, watched the birds fly above us at sunset, heard church bells in the distance and sometimes just took a time-out with a book and a glass of wine. It was a great sanctuary and a great way to begin and end each day.

We never felt we were too far from anything, and we walked everywhere. It was simple to get to the train and bus station for day trips, and the hotel was even close enough that when we forgot our reservation number for the Academia, my husband was able to run back and get it, and get back to the museum in less than 15 minutes!

Two words of caution: first, we tried take-out from a couple of the restaurants nearby (a pizza place, a pasta place and a chinese place) and found it all to be mediocre. I'd go beyond the immediate street for food. Second, take some bug spray. We had no problems with mosquitos in our room (we were given a plug in tablet to make sure of that), but the first night sitting out on the terrace I got a bunch of bites.

We stayed six nights and our stay was absolutly wonderful. I am someone who likes good value for my dollar, and this place most definatly had a lot of value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleNSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Pros: Great value, super clean room, kind and helpful staff, and amazing location. It's not in the middle of Florence's historic sights, but it's only 5 minutes from them or the train station. We used it as a base to explore Florence, take a train to Venice, and do a bus tour of Tuscany. Florence is easily walkable and safe (even late at night), and this hotel was perfect for our needs. The terrace is very nice, but we found ourselves so busy that we never used it.

Cons: I really can't think of any. We stayed for 5 days and felt quite at home there. We'll be sure to return in the future. Highly recommended.

PS - Try the Focaccia bread from Panificio on the same street....sooo good!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrews510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at il Bargellino. It was a wonderful relaxing place to stay. Our room opened to the beautiful terrace where we enjoyed bringing wine and light meals from the deli. Our two girls in their mid 20's thought it was wonderful as well. Loved Leo, their bird, as well as all the beautiful plants. Carmel and Pino are friendly helped us with any questions we had and made us feel as if we were at home. The rooms were clean, attractive, and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pati822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Property: Hotel Il Bargellino
Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing