We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #112 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, south Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Florence”
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Il Bargellino in early May 2007 after a reading a good review in "EyeWitness Travel- Italy". Coming from Australia we were not sure what to expect but we were delighted with our choice. The small, family run hotel was located close to the train station and was within walking distance of all the museums, art
galleries etc. We loved the European ambience of our spacious room with the shuttered window overlooking the cobbled steet. Carmel,
the hostess, was very helpful with local information and also assisted us with bookings for our next destination. We found it very useful that she was bi-lingual as we were not! Hotel Il Bargellino is
excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Location, helpful owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nellieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    76
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
209
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

We just returned from a whirlwind tour of Italy with stops in Venice, Florence and Rome. By far, our favorite hotel was the Hotel Il Bargellino in Florence.

With its close proximity to the train station, Il Bargellino is easy to find and close to many of the best sights in Florence.

Carmel and Pino are wonderfully warm and friendly with great recommendations for restaurants and sights not to be missed.

The rooms are nicely sized with wonderful furnishings and spotlessly clean. The garden patio is a wonderful respite after a long day of sightseeing and a wonderful place to meet other guests as well as interact with Carmel and Pino.

The cost per night is very reasonable and well worth every penny!

  • Liked — The friendliness of Carmel and Pino
  • Disliked — No breakfast on site but available very close by and keeps the cost down
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

Hotel Il Bargellino is close to everything, the hosts and owners Carmel and Pino are friendly and down to earth, and the lovely patio terrace is a refuge and short respite from on-the-go touring. Everything is within walking distance - great restaurants, great art and architecture, and great shopping. We enjoyed quiet nights and great sleep, a lovely room with a bathroom and shower that worked well, and quiet evenings with some snacks, a glass of wine, and good conversation on the terrace patio. We would love to return!

  • Liked — patio terrace, proximity to museums and cultural sites
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcuQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

Hotel Il Bargelino was the perfect place for me to stay while in Florence! It certainly made my experience and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The owners, Carmel and Pino, are very welcoming and are willing to do anything to make their guests comfortable. Do remember their kindness in making museum reservations and the invitations to join them on the terrace! The terrace is a great place to get to know them, meet other guests, talk about different traveling finds, and simply to take part in this beautiful part of Italian culture. I recommend it to all - the kind management, quiant and comfortable rooms, the clean bathrooms, beautiful art and sculpture hallways, and inviting terrace - give it a try!

  • Liked — the kindness of the staff and the atmosphere of the hotel
  • Disliked — little noise in first part of night hours, but it is common in the area and is drowned out with closed windows
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtrvl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at Il Bargellino in Firenze. It is located within walking distance of all the sights in the city. I was in the single room, which was comfortable, and not far from the bathroom. The open air terrace was a wonderful place to relax after a day of museums and shopping, perfect for a glass of wine before going out for a delicious meal in the evening. I would have loved to have had coffee available in the morning, but there was a cafe a few blocks away for my morning pick-me-up. Carmel assisted with museum reservations, and with tips on how to get around in the city and the countryside. I will definitely return to Il Bargellino on my next visit to Firenze.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happychef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2007

Our stay at Hotel il Bargellino In Florence Italy was great. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a great restaurant and helped us locate many items we needed. The hotel was clean and quiet with a lovely terrace. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Liked — Location and Hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2007

We stayed three nights in late March 2007 at the Il Bargellino. The location was handy to everything we wanted to see and we were able to walk to all the interesting sights. (The walk to Michelangelo Plaza is the longest hike we took and I recommend it for early inthe day when you are fresh). The hosts were helpful and friendly and the informal family atmosphere seemed to rub off on the other guests who were open and shared experiences and information.
In spite of its central location we were not bothered by street noise and in addition to sleeping well at night we could relax comfortably on the second floor patio. A great place for a glass of wine in the afternoon after sight-seeing.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank WIdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 411 in Florence
747 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#148 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#178 of 411 in Florence
484 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#134 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#145 of 411 in Florence
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Property: Hotel Il Bargellino
Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing