We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all you would want to see...”
Review of Hotel Nizza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nizza
Ranked #165 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to all you would want to see...”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here in November. Great location, only 5 minutes walk from the bus and train station which was useful as we arrived from Pisa by bus. The centre is only about 10 minutes walk. There are restaurants nearby which are of reasonable price. The hotel staff are helpful and Roberto, the owner, was cheerful and hospitable. Breakfast is good with a choice of different coffees, juice, pastries, cheese and meats. The rooms are basic but comfortable and the bathroom was clean. You can buy drinks from reception at a reasonable price and there is free WiFi. We really enjoyed our stay here and when we come back to Florence we definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al_tanman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    214
    76
    21
    6
See reviews for
87
193
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

old building in florence, full of character of the family that runs the hotel. location is very good, down a quiet street but near to SMN and other sites of interest in florence. breakfast included was adequate, and wifi worked well. the elevator was extremely slow, but nevertheless am thankful the old building had an elevator to begin with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bflatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transylvania,Romania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I am rather used to big,new hotels due to my work,so please consider that,while reading my review.The Nizza is a small hotel on a narrow alley in downtown Florence within 2 minutes walk from Piazza Duomo and 5 minutes walk from Central Station(Santa Maria Novella).THIS is the plus of this hotel.The room was small and basic,but clean and ok.Rumorous,though,from the main street and from other guests walking in/out of the hotel.Extremely basic breakfast.I do not know the rates of other hotels,but I think one cand find better for that price.Another plus:staff very helpful!
I have noticed a 1967 Chianti bottle exposed in the breakfast room.Wow.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Horatiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
1,115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've always been enchanted with the time spent in Italy. From the beginning, when my feet
touched the ground of Apennines Peninsula, I had felt myself highly spirited, since I was fully aware that here is the spot, where a history itself, had developed to the ultimate limit, with so many happenings, movements,that affected the rest of the world in such a beautiful manner.
When I was only 10 years old, I was in Rome. And I remember, I was breathless.
Now after so many years, I'm here in Florence, the centre of so great movements of that time,called golden age of Firenza, between the middle of XIV and the end of XV century.
I stayed in very nice hotel Nizza in Via del Guglio 5 , near the Via Panzani, that is very important connection to the let's say Duomo or train station Santa Maria Novella, and is also in the very heart of Florence, in my opinion.
The room I booked with my wife, was very nice, with ineresting view at the nearby house and its court with all these plants in the pots, cages with the birds, even some small trees, and all this arranged with such taste,that comes only with Italian people.
The breakfast was excellent, with different kinds of strong coffee and tea.
In addition to the previous, I ought to say, that all principal museums are not at all, so far from this hotel. Very quiet place,with hospitable staff.
On the very first day of our stay in Florence, We only explored our vicinity,and what was our thrill
to see suddenly a great edifice of San Lorenzo di Medici on the big square, and with the monument to Lorenzo Medici himself.
If You like the bookstores, I warmly recommend You, one that is in the proximity of Piazza del Signoria,named after William Shakespeare with his silhouette on the sign, that hangs in front of the door, and contains only genuine english books.It is located in one of plenty streets that like rays are going out of the Piazza.I've only forgotten the name of street,but I'll find it and gonna tell You in my next review.

Room Tip: doesn't matter at all, all are good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location was great, the staff was helpful and the room was of good size. We were close to all the highlights and also the train station. We were given recommendations for restaurants and they were standouts. The breakfast was very good and they had A automatic coffee maker that made different kinds very quickly. We had early flight and the morning desk clerk opened the breakfast room early for us. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy38_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location, helpful staff, good value for money. Within walking distance to all the important sites. Although very central, no noise enter the rooms. Free Wi-Fi. Luggage is kept both for early arrivals and also for late departures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiki66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentine, TX
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel has the perfect location. It is about a 5 minute walk from the train station, about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo, and about 15 minutes or so to the museums and the other plazas. The location would be really hard to beat. Our room was very tiny, but it was clean and nice. There is AC and a complimentary breakfast. There is not a whole lot to choose from for breakfast, but it gets the job done. The employees at the front desk were also friendly, they gave us maps and helped us plan some of our time. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S618VTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#120 of 411 in Florence
602 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#125 of 411 in Florence
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Lombardia
Hotel Lombardia
#155 of 411 in Florence
287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#223 of 411 in Florence
366 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#205 of 411 in Florence
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nizza

Property: Hotel Nizza
Address: Via del Giglio 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nizza 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing