We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great staff”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #134 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and loved it! It's in a good location and we felt safe walking around at night. Note there is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs. (Just 1 flight). The staff was wonderful and very helpful with us as it was our first time in Firenze. It can get pretty loud if you sleep early because everyone is out at night and there's a restaurant next door to the hotel where they sit people outside. The place is clean and we had no issues whatsoever. We will definitely stay here on our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chego121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    232
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
90
211
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is very well located half way in between the SMN train station and the Duomo. We were able to walk comfortably from the station carrying our bags. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was simple but clean. The air conditioning was modern and effective. The room looked out on a lively square and is in a great location. I was concerned it would be noisy in the room but it had the most effective sound proofing double glazing I have ever come across. The breakfast is simple but you get excellent individually prepared drinks. My cappucino was one of the best I have had and my son's hot chocolate was excellent. The furniture in the rooms is fairly spartan but the beds are comfortable enough and everything is clean. I would recomend for anyone looking for a budget hotel in a great location athough not suitable if you have difficulties with stairs. The reception is a flight up from the street and, although there is a lift, it may not always be available. Free wifi was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlovingtrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Responsabile reception at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Hello :)

Grazie mille for your rewies. We loved it !!

Hope to see you soon

Lavinia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

It is a basic hotel but for the price it is good value. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Location is good - I could see the Duomo if I poked my head out the window. The rooms aren't sound insulated - you can hear people in the hallways and in the stairs, and the lift woke me up in the morning. But it wasn't that bad. The shared bathroom is kept clean. Good value for solo travellers (and I got a double bed rather than single - bonus).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts and stairs (end in 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bridge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Direttore generale at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Google Translation
Thank you for your reviews, we need this to improve our service !

Grazie ciao Lavinia :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Location: It is located 8min(w/o lugging a luggage) walk away from the train station, 8-10min stroll from the Duomo, 15-20 walk from Ponte Vecchio, 5min walk from Mercato Centrale. Its located right on top of a EXPENSIVE TOURISTY CAFE, hence it can get quite noisy at night(loud partying tourists) even with the double glass windows. There are a few supermarkets nearby as well.
Room: I stayed in room 23. It has a well furnished private bathroom with a working hot shower. They even provide you with plushy towels. The room is big, has 2 windows(1 facing the square below, the other facing Via Faenza), and it tastefully decorated. It is very clean and comfortable. There is free Wi-fi in the room.
You are very likely to meet Lorenzo and Lavinia who manage the hotel. They are very helpful and speak fluent English. Do not hesitate to ask them for non-touristy food recommendations or how to get to certain places. Do say hi to the night watchman as well. We did not get his name but he is the MOST polite Italian we have ever met in italy.
We enjoyed our stay here in Lorena.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph_Choy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Responsabile reception at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
HI !!!!

I remeber you for sure, you and you girlfriend!
Thank you for your good words, they make us proud :))

Hello also from andrea, the night watchman and grazie :)

Ciao Lavinia/Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

great central location to all sights. few minutes from train station.
very simple rooms. nothing pretty but excellent value. clean.
no special service. family owned I think.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_w0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We were thrilled with this budget hotel.

The location couldn't be better: a 5-minute walk from the train station and the historic district as its doorstep. The Duomo was 5 minutes in another direction. Hotel is at the edge of a funky authentic hotel area, which had a different more pragmatic feel to it than the ultra-luxury lodgings nearer the river. We found this place suited us better than a more up-scale place.

Inexpensive eateries could be found just outside the door, and don't miss the Mercato Centrale 1 block away. The cheapest meals are those that did not require sitting at a table so we did a lot of picnicing in the historic squares around town.

Room was basic but very comfortable and clean. Bed lovely. Walls are a bit thin; my daughter & I heard noisy love-making through the walls but we just had a great chortle over it.

Big bonus was the quite ample breakfast that came with the room charge. Breakfast on the street can easily run 5 euros ($7) each so this was a gift that we came to appreciate. Offerings included capuccinos, hard-boiled eggs, fresh tarts, cereals, juices, milk, toast. Nothing fancy but it was pleasing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Proprietario at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Hello

we are happy that you loved our city and your stay here, really !!
I am glad to her that you have a good memories of us !
Hope to see you next time :)

Lavinia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We needed a place to stay in Florence for a night, and decided to stay at Hotel Lorena on recommendation of friends. We were glad we did. We (my wife, son, daughter, and I) were looking for a simple place near various sites (i.e. shopping, major attractions, train station), and Hotel Lorena was perfect. The Duomo is only five minutes walk, shopping is basically right outside the door, and other locations were easily accessible. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. There was wifi access in the room, and we had a king bed and double bed that easily accommodated four people. The hotel was very safe and secure, and very quiet considering how close it was to major attractions. We had a minor issue with noise from an adjacent room, and the hotel is not a new, bright, Americanized high-brow hotel. However, it was perfect for what we needed: a place to stay that was pleasant, accommodating, and within reach of the places we wanted to go. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk person. Ask for room tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billmilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 412 in Florence
454 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#142 of 412 in Florence
658 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#164 of 412 in Florence
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 412 in Florence
487 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 412 in Florence
477 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#91 of 412 in Florence
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Property: HOTEL LORENA
Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing