We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #130 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
SJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The location was good and no complaints about the management. Our A/C never had any issues and they did emphasize that they wanted the A/C off if we weren't in the room. Fair enough. The breakfast was ok. Nothing special, but it was convenient! Room was clean and had plenty of room for two adults and a child.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    229
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
210
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed here Dec 9-16 2012. I was impressed by the personal attention provided at this small family hotel. I felt safe and well taken care of. The morning breakfast was great. I will stay here again. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Seriously, I can't imagine a better location for our trip to Florence. It was close to the train station and the tasty eats at Mercato Centrale as well as grocery stores one block away. The Basilica of San Lorenzo with Medici Chapel and Michelangelo's Laurentian Library was under our window. This is a cheap place (we paid 50 euro per night for a double) with a tiny bathroom (don't even think about staying here if you're large), but there was plenty of hot water and a comfortable bed and the staff were friendly and helpful. They even have free wi-fi!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Really close to train station which was perfect, less than 5min walk. We had a really large room with a huge bathroom which made a nice change from the smaller places we'd been staying elsewhere in the same price range. Our room didn't have amazing views from our window just a view of a wall, so the room was a bit dark but we didn't spend much time in there during the day anyway! Fantastic light blocking shades kept the room pitch black in the morning perfect for a sleep in! Breakfast costs 5 euro, it was adequate with friendly service, but there are plenty of great restaurants and cafes easy walking distance and I'd advise going there instead. Best thing about Hotel Lorena was the location - you can walk to everything. I'd stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank my_advice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights, one night in room with shared bathroom, and 6 nights in a room with a great view on capella Medici and the piazza.
The staff is really friendly, the place is clean, and coffee for breakfast is delicious.
However, the market is right next to the hotel, so it can be quite noisy, but we did not mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coeurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were in Florence for one quick night and the price for location at Hotel Lorena is hard to beat. Keep in mind you get what you pay for - so don't expect anything too fancy. This is a basic no frills hotel which was totally what I expected so I was content. We booked a room with a shared bathroom and it was clean and quiet. Our room overlooked a quaint street with the top of the Duomo visable just a few blocks away. Since we were only there for 1 night we wanted a hotel within walking distance from the train station as well as the main attractions of Florence which is exactly what we got. If you have mobility problems you should know there is no lift from the ground level to the reception on level 2. We did not have any issues with this. I would stay here again - glad I found something affordable right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Alaskans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The staff was friendly. The location of this hotel was excellent. Breakfast was good.
While there was wireless Internet it was very annoying that you had to log on every time you wanted to connect.
Our bed was squeaky but comfortable. The room we had was spacious and comfortable with a good view over the Medici Chapel. The bathroom was spacious with a full tub and shower.
Overall this was good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardanddolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#112 of 411 in Florence
452 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#145 of 411 in Florence
473 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#178 of 411 in Florence
485 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 411 in Florence
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Property: HOTEL LORENA
Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing