We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location and Super Value for Money”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #130 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My sister and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was quire wonderful. The best part about the hotel is the location. It is situated right behind the Medici Chapel and about 10 minutes away from Firenze Station - S.M.Novella. Everything and I mean EVERYTHING is within walking distance. The best way to explore Florence is on foot and there is no better place to stay than Lorena (The Duomo is about 5-10 minutes walking). The gentleman on the reception was most helpful with information regarding the sites and the ways to come and go with bus numbers etc. He even made sure that our train reservation to Pisa was intact and we had the correct time of the train. The hotel had a very warm feel about it and this was just right. The rooms were small and were extremely basic as were the bathrooms but if you are on a budget, this is the place to come! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drishi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location is perfect, right in the centre and close to the train station. The staff are very helpful, provided us with all the information about the city that we needed and were friendly and welcoming. There are good dining options just outside the hotel plus a few small supermarkets plus Mercato Centrale a couple of minutes away. Our window overlooked the entrance to the Medici Chapels, a lovely view. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Nice little place, big rooms, multiple beds in room, ideal for families and friends traveling together. Mini fridge in room but no kettle for a cuppa.

Note that entry is via a flight of stairs, no disabled access. The area is quite pricey, was pleased to find such an affordable clean hotel.


Genuine 5 minute walk from train station, I managed it easily with 2 wheelie suitcases. BTW I'm unfit and overweight.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed two nights at Hotel Lorena while we were in Florence. Overall, this is a get-what-you-pay-for kind of place. The man at the desk was nice, spoke broken English which could lead to some miscommunication, but overall we got the idea of what he was trying to communicate. When we got there he loaded our license plate information for our rental car into the city's online system so that we wouldn't be ticketed for driving into the city. He gave us a receipt for proof in case anything happened (you have three hrs to get registered in the city system after driving into the city without a permit). They asked us to keep our keys at the desk when we came and left so that they wouldn't be lost but they would leave them sitting on the counter for a while after we dropped them off. You are not able to get into or leave the hotel from 2 am to 6 am as there is no attendant at the desk to give you your keys. They did provide shampoo and soap in the bathroom. However, there was hair in shower when we got to our room and toothpaste rings and remnants in the reusable cups in the bathroom. The hair dryer provided is very old fashioned. The beds were hard and there was stray hair on our "clean" sheets. Otherwise the room was clean.

All that being said, if you are looking to save money and have a basic hotel that is a step above a hostel, this is the place for you. If you are looking for anything luxurious this is not it. It was a good location to see all the big sites and it was just fine for what we needed.

Room Tip: We had a room that slept three on the floor where the restaurant is, and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Really good locaton - can see duomo dom over the window.
Really nice staff - every staffs were ao kind. thanks for umbrella on rainy day.
Really good price and breakfast with nice woman staff in the kitchen.
Shared bathroom was also clean.
I would stay again if I go to firenze next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sh3507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Lorena December 2013. My stay eas extremely pleasant. This was my second stay here and I was even more satisfied by the service and attention accorded to me this time than last year. I would recommend this hotel to all travelers to Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is really a great find, when ones starts looking in this price range things can really get bad. This place was fantastic. The location is excellent, literally a minute from the centre of town and Dumo, room was clean and so was shared bathroom and check in very friendly. Rooms were fitted years ago but for the price everything exceeded our expectations. If you are on a budget and are looking for a safe bet this I your place. Parking in Florence is a nightmare, we parked at the train station and then walked in. Parking cost more than the hotel, if you can leave the car somewhere and train in go or it, train is just a short walk away, if you do take a car watch out for the limited driving zone areas, and get the hotel to register your plate number within two hours of entering.

Room Tip: Take a high floor overlooking the square if you can, we had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#181 of 410 in Florence
499 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#170 of 410 in Florence
331 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 410 in Florence
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#106 of 410 in Florence
927 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#185 of 410 in Florence
501 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#97 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £36 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing