We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do a lot better”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #121 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can do a lot better”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The location is fantastic...walkable from Train station, and to all major sites. There are some cafes/bars on the street so even after shops, etc closed at night there were places to have a drink without having to walk through deserted streets. That is all the good I can say about this hotel...and for the same price I moved to a really nice one a block away (just book Hotel Globus...much better! and actually 5 euro cheaper since they didn't charge extra for breakfast)

So..the problems. The bathroom smelled. The cafe downstairs played loud, bass-heavy music that thumped the walls all day, at least until midnight. They give you one towel and change it every other day. (There is actually a sign in the room saying by law they don't need to change the towel...didn't see that in the same star rating hotel down the street.) The desk person went into a long description about using the key properly and how it costs them so much money if it gets broken- apparently some moron once upon a time managed to break they key in the lock and I guess every subsequent guest is now a suspected key-breaking hooligan. Then there is a long discussion about turning off the a/c when you leave the room, with accompanying signs on the wall as well.

The breakfast room is without windows, dingy and depressing. It consisted of cold cereal, and not so fresh breads. They do make you fresh coffee though.

I ended up there for a few days since I had some issues back home to deal with and had to be close to internet and phone, but when I did venture out to get another hotel I found Globus just down the street and for the same price I got a wonderful modern room, really nice breakfast, and felt like a welcome guest rather than a moocher hell-bent on wrecking the owner's bottom line with my outlandish demands for linens and things.

To sum it up, it was cheap and location is good, and it's tolerable. But once I looked around I found other hotels had the same rate (45 euro for a single) and were much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellecee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Proprietario at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Buonasera
Our policy is based on reception and information.
Inform customers is a sign of civilization that all clients have always appreciated. - See key information, air-conditioning and change of towels-
However the change of towels if necessary can be carried all the day, on request. In doing so we respect the regional law and remember that since we are a family run hotel we are not a multinational!
Please note that the hotel Globus, being a three star hotel, is obliged to do so by law. Our room is cozy and a 3 large windows. By law, the breakfast, as faculae, not included, as would be required. Our breakfast is more than plenty, bread and pastries are always fresh, ordering every day. Sorry what are hot cereal?!? Apart from everything, we were pleased to have as a guest.
Regards, Lavinia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    227
    43
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
208
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stumbled upon Lorena's review on trip advisor. By having faith & trust on the review, we booked 2nights stay. Not only the location is strategic, just a walking distance from the Duomo, the service from the hotel is awesome! Friendly & helpful staff. Though situated at the busy street but you basically can sleep tight at night. The price is so reasonable & the room is equipped with air-cond and free wifi! Such a great & lovely hotel. It deserves more than 2 star rating. To our surprise, we get 5% discount by paying cash when we checked out. Thumbs-up to Lorena. If I ever visit Florence again, Lorena will be the choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soursally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel is a wonderful find. The location is perfect, right near the Duomo and many nice restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and, most importantly, come with air-conditioning for the hot Italian summers.

The staff is extremely helpful, helping with luggage, room issues, giving directions to destinations, and even helping us call museums to make reservations. We had a perfect stay in Florence thanks to the Lorena Hotel. It was so sad to have to leave. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Perfect location, perfect price, noisy in the nights and the air conditioner is bad.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josepr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_lorena_firenze, Proprietario at HOTEL LORENA, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Hello !

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it !

However in May, in general, the air conditioning is not accessed. Your room was on the third floor, but if you sleep with the windows open it is logical that there is confusion!! For the direct experience of our customers with the windows shut, the silence is more than ideal!
Ciao Lavinia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We had booked a double bed room in this hotel for 3 nights. We reached Firenze SNM (Florence Santa Maria Novella) by train from Roma Termini at 1 p.m. on 25th June 2010. It is only a walkable distance from the station, but after spending sometime in cold climate of England, Scotland and France, we found the weather quite hot here. When one reaches Via Faenza from station, one has to walk the whole street because Hotel Lorena is situated at the other end of the road.

When we saw the small entrance to the hotel, our hearts sank. When we found that there was no lift, we were really depressed as to how to carry the entire luggage up as the staircase was narrow. I left the luggage and my wife at street level and went to the reception in first floor. Wow! There is a small cubicle lift from first floor to other floors only to carry luggage. The young man at the reception was kind enough to go down and bring the luggage and also to carry by lift to our room in 3rd floor. Youngsters can have an experience how elevators were looking a few decades back.

We had booked the room thru’ Venere.com. The booking condition was given ‘though your credit card details are taken for guarantee, payment will be required to be paid while checking out. However, cancellation/modification will be allowed till 17th May 2010 after which only charges for one night will be debited for cancellation’. However, when we checked in on 25th, we were informed charges of one night has already been debited on 17th May itself. As we did not cancel or modify our booking, this must not have been done – but we didn’t mind.

The room is very basic, but we liked it because it gave a feeling of living in an Italian house of earlier days. Though the hotel is in a centre place with hectic activities, we didn’t hear any noise – probably because we were in 3rd floor. Bathroom with WC was too small, though not very inconvenient. Same way, the room was very spacious but the furniture was not sufficient/convenient.

This hotel is situated at the centre of the town and very near to Railway station – Firenze SNM. Also amidst plenty of shops and restaurants. English speaking staff (Owners) is a real plus point.

If you are looking for a place to rest comfortably but not any luxury, this hotel will do. Still I feel 75 Euros per night is definitely high for this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaKannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We only stayed in this hotel for 1 night and wish we had stayed longer. Roberto was the nicest staff member we had met in all of Italy; he took time to show us our room, how the A/C worked, TV, etc. The room itself was nice and clean. The beds were very hard but there were extra pillows and blankets for comfort. Negative was that you have to climb a lot of stairs and breakfast was not included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissaandkurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loving san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My partner was in for buisness and I was in for leisure and this was a perfect place. Close to all the tourist attractions for me and close to his conference. For the price of the hotel and it's close proximity to everything, including the train station, nothing came close. The hotel staff was wonderful and help us with all our needs. There were also some great restuarants nearby as well as some great wine bars.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8tter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#88 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#128 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#140 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#99 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Property: HOTEL LORENA
Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing