We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #209 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Meina, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quite a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

the staff was courteous and helpful.
the rooms were spacious and very clean.
the restaurant food was fantastic.
breakfast was also very good.

I would definitely return

oh, and the hotel was located only a 10 minute walk directly to the duomo and the historic center.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the street. I had one looking directly at the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nappyrzrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    296
    112
    36
    23
See reviews for
121
331
26
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We came to florence after visiting rome. I had the most fun visiting this part of Italy! The restaurant attached to the hotel is also excellent. The staff are very friendly, and can communicate in English very well! The location is perfect, a little removed from the city havoc. Every attraction is within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were on a package deal and Florence was one of the stops. This was by far the only really 4 star hotel we stayed in during our ten day trip. Hotel staff was great, the resturant had quality food and a service was great also. Location was also convient to the attractions Florence has to offer. Was an easy walk from the train station and directions given by the hotel were easy to follow. Would stay at this hotel again if in Florence. All attractions are an easy walking distance from the hotel. Room was very clean and were of good size. Breakfast had a very good selection and the wait staff very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esmith1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Athenaeum Hotel for 5 nights this past September. I was excited because it was the longest part of our trip through Italy and I had read some pretty good reviews for this place. Unfortunetly I was very disappointed and wish I had picked another hotel. First off, our room was small and very basic (unlike all the photos posted on the websites). We spent one night in their basic room and woke up the next morning with back pain from the hard and flat bed and completely covered in bug bites. The room was supposed to be smoke-free but when we opened the window we found and ashtray on the ledge filled with cigarette butts and the curtains smelled like cigarette smoke and dusty. Our allergies acted up from the smoke and we both picked up colds and couldn't breathe or sleep for the rest of the trip. After our first night my boyfriend went down stairs to complain and see about being moved to a better room.. they didnt really apologize but they did allow him to pick another "upgraded room". The only difference in size was the dirty patio that was connected. It was however, cleaner and a little more comfortable. After the room switch we didn't have any more bug problems but we were pretty upset to have them in the first place. We have NO idea what bit us, but my boyfriends bites were itchy and red for the rest of the trip and several days after we came back home. Florence is where I chose to spend my birthday on the trip and we spent a little more on this hotel then we did the other two in Venice and Rome and we both felt like we did not get our money's worth at this place. I can honestly say it was the worst part of our trip and we wont be staying there next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelocean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Located close to the Accademia, we found the location acceptable, a good 15 minute walk from the Duomo. It's a small hotel with friendly staff. The only downside was the very poor buffet breakfast and weak coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Elliw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Location. The Athenaeum is located centrally and is within walking distance of many of Florence's attractions. Walk straight down the street in front of the hotel which is Via Camillo Cavour which turns into Via dei Martelli which then leads you straight into "Duomo Square" which is dominated by the church of Santa Maria di Fiore and the Duomo. If you continue on del Calzaiuoli you end up in the Piazza del Signoria which has the Palazzo Vecchio and the Uffizi museum next to it. All this is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Chanel and Ferragamo are near the Piazza del Signoria. Florence is home to Salvatore Ferragamo and the Ferragamo museum. You might consider visiting. After which a short stroll along the river will take you to the covered bridge of the Ponte Vecchio.

The Athenaeum is a nice business hotel with the usual amenities such as a kettle and a trouser press, although an iron and an ironing board might be niceer. These might seem like trivial things to comment on, but in most European hotels, it is not usual to expect to find a kettle or an iron in a room. Safes and mini-bars are fairly recent additions. Expect to pay about 15 Euros for an American style breakfast with eggs and bacon. The great thing about italy is that coffee is generally cheap with an espresso usually running about 1-1.5 Euros. You can add a pastry for another Euro or two to make it "continental". The fact of the matter is that Italians don't usually make a big deal about breakfast, it really is the least fancy meal of the day, consequently you should be prepared to pay "extra" for all the fuss that goes into making breakfast more fancy or more "American".

The water pressure is not great and the showers have a funky "half door" design (see my other review on the Surf and Sand Resort) which means that you'll have to be very careful showering in this tub-shower combo to keep the bathroom floor dry. It generally puzzles me when hotels adopt a tub-shower which in my mind is neither here nor there.

When the door closed on me and I was locked out of my room, it took the night desk clerk 15 minutes to come up and confirm what I'd just told her and then another 10 minutes for her to confirm that my door was locked from the inside and for her to get a master key to let me back in. I really can't imagine what might have been otherwise occupying her at 10pm on a week night, but I'll give her the benefit of the doubt, this being my first time at the Athenaeum and all.

Finally, I had a room in November which had no air conditioning. I was told that central AC was only turned on during the summer months. I opened the windows to alleviate the stuffiness in the room only to be greeted by hungry Florentine mosquitoes and the noise of street traffic all night.

So yes, it's a nice hotel, good location with adequate facilities. Just some more tweaking to get that additional star and raising service standards to clinch that final star.

Room Tip: 118 and 119 connect to form a very nice Junior Suite. Ask for the "Accademia"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Located on Via Carvour, the hotel is around 15 mins walk from the main 'centre', ie: the Dome, Bell Tower and perhaps around 20 mins to the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Museum. If you don't mind the walk it means you'll avoid paying the premium to stay in the centre, which will give you a little extra spending money (you'll need it, Florence isn't cheap!).

Staff are friendly and always tried to help/advise.

The rooms are small and although we'd booked a twin, the proximity of the two beds essentially made it a double. We had to rearrange the whole room in order for the beds not to be touching each other. Rather disappointing. We were told ALL of the twin rooms were set out this way.

The cleanliness of the room and hotel in general could not be faulted. Do be aware of mosquito's though and take a plug-in with you! We left with a number of very irritating bites. Not the hotel's fault.

The hotel has it's own restaurant, but it's pricey and has very little atmosphere, so again, book here if you're happy with a 15 min walk closer to the action where you're spoilt for choice and there's the option of eating out for those on a budget. Little David's Via de' Martelli 14/R is very good and inexpensive.

Breakfast is typical continental style - cold meats and cheeses, breads, cereals and juices. Freshly cooked omlettes are available at an extra charge.

There is a gym at the hotel, but it's limited to a bike, running machine, and cross trainer. At the time of our visit only the bike was working - rather frustrating.

Overall a pleasant hotel. At a juxtaposition with the rest of Florence in that it has no character, but it's clean and smart and less than it's centrally located competitors.

Room Tip: "Twin room" means two single beds pushed together. Be prepared to do some room rearranging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownSj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#218 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing